We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabin/facilities Good with some issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Campground
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cabin/facilities Good with some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

First the cabin we had was nice and plenty of room for my husband and I. We reserved a cabin for 3 nights left for 3 nights to stay at the KOA on the East side and then back for 1 night before heading out. Good location and very close to the bathrooms/laundry both of which were very nice and clean. We always had hot showers. Also great location on the West side. First night was fine second night....not so good. We were in a section where 5 cabins are in a little cove all together. All of the other cabins next to ours were rented out by the same family. About 11:30pm they came back to camp and were drinking. All of them (at least 15-20) were very loud, yelling, singing, generally just acting stupid drunk and obnoxious. We could not find the number to call the owners and because we were seriously outnumbered and had no idea how a large group of severely intoxicated people would react to us confronting them we just dealt with it...we were up from 11:30 until 3:00am. Then about 5:30 am one of them tried to break into our cabin. He was so drunk, he didn't know which cabin was his. Thankfully he was so drunk my husband just pushed him back off our porch and told him he had the wrong cabin. Needless to say, it was unsettling. It was just frustrating that people knew we were in the cabin and were so inconsiderate. We hiked all that day, were up most of the night and HAD planned for an all day hike the next day. We did go to the office the next day and the lady running it gave us that nights fee back which was good. The family left the next day and the next night was fine. Fast forward to later in the week when we returned for 1 night. A different lady checked us in she told us the amount due and I let her know that we paid for everything when we checked in earlier in the week. She said it wasn't marked and she would check with the other lady running it (I do not remember the name). We get to our cabin and a few minutes later the lady comes to the cabin telling that no she never charged us. I let her know that she absolutely DID charge us. We went back and forth and she was very insistent that she didn't because she didn't mark it on her paper. As we were going back and forth a young guy comes up on an ATV with a signed receipt in his hand showing that she DID charge us. She just said, oh I guess I did charge you and got in her car and drove away, no apology, no saying my mistake etc. it would have been nice for her to at least say she was sorry. Not sure if we would return, that last incident just left a bad taste in our mouth. Facilities were fine, and I am sure our issues were the exception and most never had a problem there. Just make sure you hold on to your receipt!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Finally found a private campground that is run like the provincial parks in Canada. Every one of their 180 sites is spaced out and provides just enough privacy to relax and enjoy the great outdoors. Amazingly, water and 30 amp service are available, something you would only expect at the crammed in KOA's or RV parks. Showers were hot and clean. The sites can be tight to back into, if you aren't comfortable maneuvering your rig, you might want to go elsewhere.

The noise from trains and helicopters is a part of the area; if you want silence you will need to ditch the RV and head into the backcountry with your tent.

We spent two nights in September and will return next year to do a little more exploring of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JM-HM-CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Reserved three sites 5 months before our trip and glad we did. Three motorhomes traveling together and everyone loved the wooded campground. Lynn in office gave us our daily "do not miss" list for the area we were seeing. Friendly staff, hot showers and the outdoor restaurant was also a hit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojaidenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this campground for one night during our 3 day trip to Glacier National Park. Everyone in the office was friendly. The sites were as nice as advertised, heavily wooded so being close to your neighbors wasn't an issue. There did seem to be a few people living there, and there was an obnoxious drunk guy screaming in the middle of the night, but not the campgrounds fault, it happens. Best advice I can give here - GO TO THE CAFE! We had the chorizo biscuits and gravy and it was amazing, best biscuits and gravy we've ever had. I wish we could have stayed longer just to have a few more meals there. Overall, I would definitely stay here again, and you cant beat the price, with a AAA discount we paid under $19 for a tent site!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil and Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We reserved a site about 5 weeks before our visit in August 2013. Our drive from MN went faster than expected so we called enroute and asked if they had space if we arrived a day early. It looked like we would have to move after the first night but when we pulled in they said they were able to put us in a site that wouldn't require a move! Perfect!

The site was absolutely ideal. This is one of the few wooded campgrounds in the area which attracted us--why cut down the forest and put campers side-by-side in a field like so many other campgrounds in the area? This was the National park experience we were looking for. Perfect!!

Well, we liked it so much we also decided to add a day at the end of our originally reserved stay...and we didn't have to move to another site. Also Perfect!!

The staff were friendly, helpful, gave us good recommendations for where to hike/etc. AND, especially helpful helping me get the camper into the site. After 10 years of dragging this thing around I found myself with the camper wedged up against an overhanging pine...had to remove part of the awning and let air out of the tires on the other side to get out of trouble. The staff helped with tools, guiding my turns, and even sawed a small branch off the tree!!!

The reviews that talk about the owners being rude just don't make sense. Everyone was great. The small Cafe is wonderful, be sure to check it out. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What a little slice of heaven! Great sites, great showers, great staff!! Wifi close to office and park, so still in contact with the rest of the world. Everyone we encountered was super friendly, the best part? Amazingly hot and clean showers :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzville, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Called this campground the week before our scheduled vacation because a rental reservation got cancelled Gus and his family stepped up and helped save our vacation. This beautiful campground balances roughing it with a few comfortable and clean modern conveniences. My only disappointment the entire week was that the tent spot we had was about 3 ft too narrow for our tent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
1.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
11.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Campground

Property: Glacier Campground
Address: 12070 U.S. 2, P.O. Box 447, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Glacier Campground Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Campground West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing