We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Belton Chalet is a mistake”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Belton Chalet is a mistake”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Belton Chalet has its charm, some architectural interest, and an interesting place in history, but I would think long and hard before staying there. During our three-day stay, management seemed decidedly motorcycle un-friendly, asking us to park our BMW in the woods so that fewer guests would have to park their cars in the over-flow lot down a steep hill; the restaurant’s offering was gloriously pretentious (but not particularly appetizing) and the service was abysmal; and we woke one day to find the entire place was without running water as a result of a storm the previous evening. The active railroad line located about 500 feet from the Chalet, together with the very busy Highway 2, made for some incredibly noisy nights. I called the numerous shortcomings to the attention of the owner, but he wasn’t fazed (I think he’d heard it all many time before) and acted as if we should feel privileged to stay in his establishment. There are many cheaper and far better places to stay in the area, so make sure to check them out before making the same mistake I did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnabeltier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    110
    35
    24
    13
See reviews for
72
174
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Belton. This was a great location and a fun historic experience and included a great restaurant. We stayed for three nights and were never sorry. The location is terrific right in West Glacier.

Our experience was very positive. The staff were friendly and went above and beyond for us. One receptionist even let me use her mobile when I could not get phone service! The same receptionist put coffee on an hour early so we could leave at 5am to do the going to the sun road early to see the sun rise and beat the crowds. Another staff person moved her car so we could have her parking space!

However, this hotel might not be for everyone. The rooms are historic meaning that you get an idea of what it was like to stay at the park 100 years ago (this was the original park office). It is not particularly quiet. For example, the floors are wooden and squeeky but also very beautiful. The trains run all night, so either bring ear plugs or get some from the front desk (complimentary). The decor is spartan but wonderful and rich with history. That is why we stayed....we wanted that experience. It reminded us of a number of places we stayed in Germany and Austria. We loved sitting on the balcony and looking at the mountains but we could also hear the noise from the restaurant.

The restaurant was excellent and a local favorite. One tour guide we worke with told everyone that it was her favorite place to eat in West Glacier. They have MANY gluten free options that are listed right on the menu! The cherry martinis are our of this world. I would higly recommend eatting at the Belton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisachristine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

What a old outdated uncomfortable place to stay: first the rooms: they are hot (average temperature 80: no AC but even with the cool Glacier temps the rooms never cooled). The rooms are small, poorly furnished, no hair dryer (ask at the front desk), the shower heads have limited pressure (that is if you have water:when we stayed the pump broke and there was no running water). In all fairness, management gave us a one free appetizer or desert: I rather have had running water. The location is nice outside of the West Glacier: but the Chalet is by the Amtrak railroad tracks that run all night and on US highway 2 with constant traffic. Parking is miserable: only 10 slots for over 30 guest rooms. The rooms are so poorly insulated (yes I know that place is old) but I heard every door slam, every conversation and even the sex in the room above ours. We had a back room facing the parking lot: so at night every car head light came into the room because there was just burlap covering the windows. If you like old buildings this is for you as long as you don't care about getting any sleep. What a miserable place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My son and i stayed this place for 4 nights and while convenient to the outdoor activities we pre-reserved, I'm likely to search for another lodging nearby if i decide to visit this area again. Over the phone, the staff was friendly and accommodating, but when we got there, the hospitality was sadly lacking. It seemed that they're most pre-occupied with getting the rooms filled than providing the tenants with courteous and helpful service. Their coffee was horrible and served in paper cups. The rooms were small and lacked privacy. The first room we stayed at was next to the exit stairway near our bedroom windows so that anyone leaving can easily look inside w/o intending to. The second room where we moved into had a common balcony right next to our bedroom window. Again, anyone using that balcony has easy view of our bedroom. An idylllic place but lacking the ambience. Lastly, on the last day i received a call from the lobby indicating that they hadn't seen our packed bags and was concerned that we wouldn't be ready to leave. All this unbeknownst to them that we would leave by 10am. An hour before the official check-out time. How rude!

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank hanumtasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I would not recommend the Belton. Although the hotel is historic and interesting, it was not in the least comfortable. Our room was super small and although we had a deluxe room with balcony, no one told us that the train station is right across the street and runs all night long. We're talking big tanker trains. Also the hotel is very noisy and if you happen to have a first floor room like we did, you can hear people moving about overhead at all hours. Our room did not have a closet or any place to hang our clothes, so we lived out of a suitcase. The bathroom is super small and the sink is located in the room. The restaurant and Tap Room were good if not very overpriced. We thought breakfast was included, but wasn't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickiew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Friendly staff, clean rooms, turn of the century accomodations (small room and bath). The associated restaurant, the Tap Room was excellent! Nice deck for enjoying the twilight and morning paper. Barebones coffee and tea in the morning with baked goods for sale. Despite the fact that its at the front door of west glacier the views are only average. Good location for visiting the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband wanted to plan a very special 40th anniversary trip to Glacier Park, and he chose the Belton Chalet based on their literature and some phone calls. As we pulled in to check in, we were immediately stopped by an unfriendly employee who was blocking the driveway with a long pole. She stated that a wedding was taking place on the front porch and we'd have to wait until the ceremony was over. We sat with the car idling for ten minutes or so and then she moved the pole but told us there would be no spaces available to park, so we parked across the highway at the Amtrak lot. When we finally were allowed to check in, another unfriendly employee told us we'd have to move to a different room the second day. We hadn't been informed of that when making the reservation, and told him so, but he stated that they move people all the time and we'd have to move as the first night's room was already rented to someone else. We like nice old hotels, but this one was so bare bones, austere, that we'd never return. There was not even a writing pen in the room and when we asked for one at the front desk, the clerk indicated that we'd be charged if we didn't return it when finished with it. There were no apologies, but rather a haughtiness that left us feeling ripped off and cheated out of what should have been a special weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiree97071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
354 reviews
22.6 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
564 reviews
17.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing