We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From check-in to check-out two days later, the service and the staff at the Belton Chalet were unfriendly and unapologet”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband wanted to plan a very special 40th anniversary trip to Glacier Park, and he chose the Belton Chalet based on their literature and some phone calls. As we pulled in to check in, we were immediately stopped by an unfriendly employee who was blocking the driveway with a long pole. She stated that a wedding was taking place on the front porch and we'd have to wait until the ceremony was over. We sat with the car idling for ten minutes or so and then she moved the pole but told us there would be no spaces available to park, so we parked across the highway at the Amtrak lot. When we finally were allowed to check in, another unfriendly employee told us we'd have to move to a different room the second day. We hadn't been informed of that when making the reservation, and told him so, but he stated that they move people all the time and we'd have to move as the first night's room was already rented to someone else. We like nice old hotels, but this one was so bare bones, austere, that we'd never return. There was not even a writing pen in the room and when we asked for one at the front desk, the clerk indicated that we'd be charged if we didn't return it when finished with it. There were no apologies, but rather a haughtiness that left us feeling ripped off and cheated out of what should have been a special weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiree97071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

Don't stay here for the rooms or the view.. But the gardens, and the Tap Room food is a treat. The spinach salad with bacon brittle was a recipe I've repeated at home. Try the Buffalo and gorgonzola stuffed portabellas.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Belton Chalet is about 100 years old and had the railroad that built it located it on the north side of the tracks, it would have been incorporated into the national park. The current owners have restored the building, as opposed to renovating it into a 21st century property. One chooses the Belton because it is across the street from Glacier Park, oozes charm and authenticity, is spotlessly clean and because its rooms are far nicer than the rooms of the park's lodges. If one compares everything to a newly built Marriott, it falls short.

Rooms are small by today's standard with enough space for a Queen bed, sink, wood chair and adequate room to move around- square footage must be about 60% of an average, contemporary hotel. A toilet and stall shower are located in a small annex. Beds are comfortable, sheets are clean and pressed and everything is clean and spotless. The decor is appropriate to the building. We were charmed; felt like we had traveled back in time and fully admit we were applying special standards to a unique property.

Compared to a newly built hotel room, the rooms and bathrooms are much smaller, phones and televisions are non-existent and circa 1900 construction didn't do a great job of sound-proofing. However, the context is different here. The Belton oozes charm and the reason to stay here is it permits the guest to visit a lovely inn from a different time. If you can't get into the context, you won't like it.

We have stayed at lots of national park lodges and LOVE the genre. The sad aspect of the lodges is underinvestment and the resultant fact that the standard of accommodation is often too basic. The Belton is a lodge in private ownership that has been the beneficiary of both investment and love. It is lovely.

The restaurant doesn't have the view of the park's lodges, but the food is far, far better. I recommend the meat loaf. Our friends did not recommend the dinner salads.

Fair warning: the front of the hotel is perhaps 200 feet from the railroad tracks. A half dozen trains passed during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Belton Chalet isn't prepared (although they say they are) to serve a large group. As a tour director for 11 years, I have never experienced such INhospitality or lack of value. They zapped us every time they could: dining room charge, set-up charge, etc. Who ever charged $250 for setting the tables before a dinner?

When the food came, it was obvious they have one spice in the kitchen: Black Pepper. It was on everything. Several people had to remove it with their napkins. Also, many of the dinners came out cold. There are such wonderful dinner places in/around Glacier, do some research before wasting your money.

By the disrepair and attitude of the staff, it appears this business is going under.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank volkssporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed one night at the Belton Chalet and ate at there too. Excellent blending of old and new in this historic restoration. Excellent service and amenities. Dinner at restaurant was absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

It's very apparent once you're at the Chalet that Kristi and her staff strive to make your stay as enjoyable as can be. We were 3 couples who spent 2 nights in the 3 bedroom cottage (there are 2 cottages on the property) - the cottages were homey, immaculate and spacious. We then returned as one couple and stayed in the Inn portion of the Chalet where we had a corner room which was very warm, inviting, light and airy. I am an avid traveler and was quite impressed with the chalet and it's employees who were all warm, friendly and helpful.

Also NOT to be missed is the restaurant on premises. The food is absolutely delicious and freshly made - the mac and cheese is like none you've ever had before with it's porticini mushrooms, spinach and delicious cheeses -- as was the duck, lamb and veal dishes.

If you are planning a trip in the West Glacier area, I highly recommend BOTH this chalet and the restaurant. You will be very pleased with the quality of service, accommodations, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyD11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The food at the Tap Room is the best, but the Belton Chalet Hotel itself is really overrated, and overpriced. (Be aware, also, that there is only entertainment in the Tap Room on Saturday nights, and even this ends for the summer in mid-June. Also, the Tap Room is very small, maybe five tables, max.)

A 100-year-old hotel is great, but please do something to keep it up to date, such as: make sure the hot water and cold water works properly, do something to soundproof the rooms, etc.

Because there is little to do at the hotel (they don't even have television in the lobby) or in West Glacier, everyone goes to bed by 9 pm. We were watching a dvd on our laptop in our room, which was located on the top floor, in the corner of the hotel. We aimed the laptop towards the corner of the hotel, i.e., away from all the other rooms. STILL someone had to knock on our door, before 10 pm, to tell us to turn it down.

Wow. Remember, this was a laptop we're talking about, not a 7-speaker sound system. My wife and I could barely hear the sound coming out of the laptop ourselves!

I'd recommend staying at the Lake McDonald Lodge, if you want to stay on the west side of the park, otherwise at the East Glacier Hotel. This place was really overrated, and overpriced.

No high speed internet (even in the lobby) caused us to miss our flight, as we did not receive an email telling us the time of the flight had changed!

Parking is limited; many had to park across the street, down a rather steep hill, at the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishJim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
17.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#4 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: $165 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing