We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belton Chalet
Nearby Hotels
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glacier Outdoor Center(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$347
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Northern Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mini Golden Inns Motel(Hungry Horse)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Travel Inn(Columbia Falls)
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadow Lake Resort(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Forty Resort(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge at Whitefish Lake(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$199
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
147
114
38
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
114
38
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteladobe housemeatloaftrain noiseglacier national parkroom facingrooms are smallshower and toiletstep back in timefirst floortrain linecorner roomthere is no air conditioningceiling fanbed was comfortablegas stationstayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 336 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed there for the Autumn Amore weekend the last weekend of September. It was an unbelievable deal and a great way to spend our anniversary weekend. The fOod in the restaurant was excellent. We went to the tap room prior to dinner both nights and the two bartenders were very friendly. The wait staff both nights were also friendly and professional. The room was great in an old time atmosphere ... No phones and no tvs!! All of the hotel staff were amazingly friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in bed was fun. We had such an amazing weekend, we booked for next year already!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ThomasJandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

By far, the most authentic accommodation we stayed in and reminiscent of a bygone age. In fact, if you dine on the patio of the restaurant, you'll see the staff race out to form a line and wave at the train as it pulls into the railway station opposite!

Our room was on the first floor and the railway station/roadside aspect of the hotel with a private balcony. It had an ensuite shower-room. We felt like we had stepped back one hundred years as the bedstead, authentic bedding, lamps and even the light-switches were appropriate to era of the hotel. The room was clean, cosy and attractively furnished. (We live next to the main railway line in Calgary, so anticipated the need for ear plugs!) If you are a light sleeper, you will hear the trains going by, throughout the night. Also, you will hear noise in the corridor and doors closing as its an old building without modern sound-proofing or door-closing mechanisms.

We stayed for two nights in this hotel and enjoyed the experience. Yes, it is a noisy location and its an old creaky, historic building with uneven floors and room doors that can bang closed without careful attention (which guests are reminded about on checking-in) The restaurant is fantastic and we ate till we burst. Its a short drive to the entrance to the park and there is a well stocked supermarket nearby and a gas station a 30 second drive away.

We sipped wine on our balcony , late into the evening and enjoyed watching birds roosting in the trees opposite and a bat swooping past

We stayed at another property very nearby that was new and modern and had tvs, so if that what you are looking for, go there. If you want charm and nostalgia and to imagine how our wealthy ancestors lived, then stay at the Belton Chalet (but bring ear plugs! )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Belton Chalet is a comfortable, vintage hotel built by the Great Northern Railway before there were roads in this part of Montana. That's why it's across from the train station. Those who complain about the train noise should just get out and hike in Glacier, they won't hear a thing, they'll be sleeping so well! I found the train sounds comforting and nostalgic. The floors creak, the showers are hot and strong, there's an old upright piano in the lobby that guests can play. The bed is comfortable, the breeze is great. Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Loved room 42: Windows on 2 walls.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed three nights. Excellent location for seeing west side of Glacier National Park. Lodge is hidden in trees on hill above the Belton Chalet Restaurant. Quaint comfortable lobby. Nice ambiance, lovingly restored building We made our reservations late (in April for July), so we had basic rooms on the second floor. NOTE: this is a historic hotel, so there are no elevators or phones & TV's in the rooms and no air conditioning. However, our room was quiet and comfortable. Is across the street from AMTRAK station so you could come here by train.There are nicer rooms with balconies on first floor and two beautiful cottages on the grounds. The Red Bus Tours (highly recommended) picks up at Lodge. Lodge has Wi-Fi but it a little quirky. Our Verizon cell phones worked fine but our relatives had trouble with their AT& T service. NOTE: Lodging in general in and around the park are old and somewhat basic. It is like stepping back in time. If you want modern luxury places to stay, go to Whitefish or stay in Kalispell.

Room Tip: Book early and stay on first floor rooms or rent a cottage.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This review is for their restaurant only. I do have to say the hostess was helpful in getting us a table for nine people despite not having reservations. I asked if our "park tourist attire" was okay and she assured me it was. But after we were seated I got the feeling we were looked down on a bit. Just an uneasy feeling. But our money was as green as any of the other patrons. I started with the soup of the day and it was very good. On the recommendation of our waitress, I opted for the filet, medium rare. It was good, but it was far from the best steak I'd ever had. Service was okay. The waitress started out "snooty", but before we finished warmed up nicely to us! Glad we stopped there. Had driven past a number of times. Not sure if I would ever go back, though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rcgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews