We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belton Chalet
Nearby Hotels
Mini Golden Inns Motel(Hungry Horse)(Great Value!)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Travel Inn(Columbia Falls)
$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center(Columbia Falls)(Great Value!)
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Motel(West Glacier)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Village Inn At Apgar(West Glacier)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Glacier Guides Lodge(West Glacier)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
147
114
38
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
114
38
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteladobe housemeatloaftrain noiseglacier national parkroom facingrooms are smallshower and toiletstep back in timefirst floortrain linecorner roomthere is no air conditioningceiling fanbed was comfortablegas stationstayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 336 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Belton, and we still love it. The staff is beyond helpful and pleasant, the site is beautiful, and, except for the occasional train, it is tranquil.
90 degrees, and still cool and comfortable, with no distractions from TV or phones. A true "getaway". The location makes it easy to do everything you come to Glacier to do.

Room Tip: A front room with balcony has the beautiful sunrise/sunset views- and trainspotting. The back side rooms are a little darker, and perhaps even quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Belton Chalet June 29th. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and on a multi state motorcycle trip. The Belton is tucked in the mountain town of West Glacier. It's an historic hotel which we love. The lobby and grounds were nice and well kept. We had a room with a nice large balcony. The rooms are on the small side but that is the case for most historic hotels. The Chalet has been nicely restored but yet is full of original materials and historic artifacts to look at. We found it a but expensive but it is located in a very busy tourist area. We took the Going to the Sun Road to get there, what an experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Belton Chalet is in a great location, just at the entrance to Glacier Park. It is an old building with an air of a by-gone era. The building and the rooms reflect this atmosphere. It was a disappointment, then, when we discovered that the rooms were not air conditioned. Granted, usually this helpful innovation is not essential in Glacier Park. However, when we stayed there, we had to go through an uncomfortable due to a very warm night, which the small ventilator could not cope with.
There are all kind of things that were appreciated during our stay, be it the friendly stuff or the possibility to play numerous games at the lower level of the hotel.

Breakfast is not included in the (rather high) price of this hotel. This is a pity, as it would have fit the high positioning of the Belton Chalet.

Last but not least, the restaurant, which is part of the hotel, was a very good surprise. The food was great and the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here expecting to get a great meal. The prices for entrees begin at around $21 and end close to $40...around $36. We paid $31 for our filet and it was overdone. It took forever to get our meal. The waitress finally came back to ask how things were...the steak etc and at this point I had like 2 bites left. We told her the steaks were overdone. She offered to give us dessert and That took another 20 to 30 minutes. We paid $115 for our meal which included a bottle of wine. I felt very taken advantage of in regards to the meal and free dessert did nothing to make it better. A huge disappointment. However, I do recommend the wine. I just wish we would have had that and went back to our campsite and had a hotdog. We would have saved like about $70. I don't mind paying a high price for exceptional food but This was far from it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ccc9958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really liked our stay at the Belton Chalet. It's a beautiful old place that has been expertly restored. We were aware that the hotel is right across the highway from the railroad tracks, and were curious how loud that would be. It turned out to be very loud, but we thought is was great. It was kind of funny to be awakened by a huge train chugging by in the middle of the night. Definitely not your usual motel experience.

Our room was clean and comfortable, although as other reviewers have mentioned, not large or modern.

Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEKomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews