We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy at the Belton!”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia MO
1 review
“Happy at the Belton!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 5 nights in the cabin at the Belton. Charming setting and can appreciate the renovation. Three bedrooms fit our families needs- two adult daughters. We had dinner at the restaurant right next door and enjoyed it very much. The train noise did not bother us at all, we expected as much being across the road from the depot. Also great to have a micro and mini fridge to make the mornings an easy start, complete with coffee pot. Very clean too! My only recommendation would be some additional comfort seating. Would have been nice to have more than a couch and two straight kitchen chairs. Loved the privacy. All worked and the location to West Glacier is great , nice staff.

Room Tip: Felt like your were close to everything but private and nice porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justforfun-como
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    101
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
65
166
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Given that it's quite hard to book a room in one of the historic lodges of Glacier National Park on short notice, we were overjoyed that we were able to stay at the Belton Chalet. We had a deluxe room for a night during our recent 2-week trip to the park. I was advised about the railroad noise by the helpful staff. We did not find that to be a problem, given that we're used to railroads and the hotel thoughtfully leaves earplugs in the room.

As other reviewers have noted, what makes the experience so memorable is the ambiance of the property. Anyone who loves Mission style architecture will love the Belton Chalet & tavern. The gardens surrounding the lodge are fabulously fragrant and well-manicured. It was truly a refreshing step back in time.

And can I also rave about the food at the restaurant..... it was fabulous. The best in the Glacier National Park area. The Glacier Park area restaurants are generally expensive, but at the Belton we found a very creative chef and reasonably priced meals. I nearly revised our vacation itinerary to come back to West Glacier and eat there again, just to keep trying other options on the menu. The hummus plate was to die for :)

If you really think the sound of the rails will bother you, my advice is to take a lot of hikes during the day, eat a fine meal at the Belton, and you will sleep so soundly the trains won't bother you at all. Then you will enjoy a one-of-a-kind stay at a national historic treasure, the Belton Chalet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoraclespeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in the Adobe House near the Belton Chalet the first week of August. What a charming house! I would highly recommend it to families. The house was beautiful! There are two bedrooms and a set of bunks in the oversized hallway. Bathroom upstairs only has a bath but it worked out fine. Great location for those who want a little more privacy than a typical hotel or chalet. Free WiFi was nice too and the gas fireplace. Included a outdoor grill and firepit for campfires. I recommend eating at the dinner next to the gas station at the bottom of the hill. Thanks Belton for providing such a cool house for our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Last week we stayed one night in beautiful Glacier Park during our 6 week trip to the Mid-West and North-West of the USA. Our remembrance to the Park is hardly to describe: splendid alpine nature, bears, mountain goats, walking in the snow, etc. However mentioning the name Belton Chalet remembers us to only one thing: noise, much and frequent noise. We had booked already in October 2011 a (balcony) room, because we were told that lodging in National Parks should be booked in time. What we paid for appeared to be for a small, adequately but simply furnished room, with a balcony, shared with all other rooms. However, only a very few guests were using the balcony and after a minute or so we understood why: the terrible and constant noise of traffic on the main road right before the hotel and long trains. Also in the room the noise was spoiling our (expensive) stay. During the night we woke up regularly because of the trains.
We told the receptionassistant the next morning about our feelings and she was surprised that apparently Belton had not informed us when we made our reservation, about possible inconvenience caused by traffic and trains because complaints are made frequently by guests. She confirmed that this is always done in order to let guests know what to expect. By the way: earplugs are a standard attribute in the room which proves the seriousness of the problem. We told her that, if we had known, we would not have booked in this hotel or at least we would have asked for a (cheaper) room at the backside of the building.
The tariff we had to pay, $ 170 plus tax for such a (small) room with a real noiseproblem, is ridiculous! In fact you should get a discount when booking a frontroom.
About the restaurant: we were told that as hotelguests, no reservation was needed, being with 2 persons only. When we entered the restaurant is looked like a beehive. A group had just arrived and no tables were available. We only could sit in the bar where waiters rushed along your table in order to serve the crowded restaurant. It is said that the quality of the restaurant is good but this is no place for an intimate dinner-for-two. We took a small salad and left.

Be warned!!

Dick and Maaike Gorter
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Do not take a (balcony)frontroom. You will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tureluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The story of the re-hab of the Belton Chalet is long and not what this review is for - but rest assured, we owe the owners a huge thanks for saving this great building and then making it availble for food and boarding. And the food - so well done. It seems lately the gourmet-local-healthy food bandwagon has gotten a few folks on board that overdo the ingredients with an outcome that's often a mash of flavors and things that don't quite work together. Not so here - i was apprehensive as indeed the menu is full of uncommon ingredients in uncommon blends, but oooohhh did they get it right. We had 3 different meals and all were just scrumptious. And not too expensive. Be sure and check the hours they are open before you go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairie_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Belton Chalet for five nights and loved it for three of them, but found it nearly impossible to sleep for two because of the temperatures - 90s during the day meant the room stayed over 80 degrees at night. It is a charming place, very nice staff, good location and excellent restaurant, but the lack of air conditioning means I cannot recommend it for a mid-summer stay. The other problems we had were mosquitos and noise, we had a first floor room on the parking lot and people came and went at all hours (some because of Amtrak's erratic schedule) and the noise from the room above (sounded like shoes and suitcases being dropped) bothered us all five nights. Larger carpets (than the present 3' x 5') are needed on the second floor. But for May-June and fall, the lesser problems could be overlooked and hopefully it would be cool enough at night to be able to sleep. Be aware of some false advertising - especially "live music" ( the staff could not remember when this occurred), and "books and games available" (a few ancient books and four children's games) - take your own books and Scrabble for the evenings.

Room Tip: Try on the front - the trains and traffic noise may still be less than the parking lot noise - and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I sayed at the Beltan Chalet for two nights while visiting glacier nat'l park. Very clean and not too noisy with the trains going by during the night. Had a room on the opposite side of the tracks. Only downside, no balcony which would have been nice. When it is hot, as it was in July (above 90) it takes a long time for the rooms to cool down. Even with the fan in the room it was difficult sleeping. The staff was most helpful and very courteous. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
22.6 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
538 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
196 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing