We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaintness in an awesome location”
Review of Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaintness in an awesome location”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Vista Motel is very conveniently located near the western entrance to Glacier National Park. It is very easy to find (just off Hwy 2). The rooms are older, but we were lucky to stay in one of the units just refitted with a new organic mattress pad. The bed was VERY comfortable. The manager, Lori, is great. She is a wealth of information and help. There is a rock house at the front of the motel that you can go into and watch a movie (the rooms do not have a TV), sit by the fire, or sit outside in the cool. Overall, this motel is worth staying in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lschley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
75
97
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2009

My brother and I (ages 21 and 20) went to West Glacier, MT to take care of some final wishes for a relative. I wasn't sure where I should make reservations to stay initially, but after reading the amazing reviews online about the manager, Lori, I came to my decision. I couldn't be happier that I picked the Vista. The main thing I have to say is that Southern Hospitality is overated because I've never met anyone as nice or as hospitable as Lori. She picked my brother and I up from the train station at 4:30 in the morning when our train was about 8 hours late (and also took us back when we had to leave), took us grocery shopping the next day (to a town about 10 miles away), shared dinner with us where she lives (she's an amazing cook), and even went out of her way to make huckleberry waffles with whipped cream for us the morning that we left. She has an immense amount of knowledge about the area and is very easy to talk to. The motel itself was extremely cozy and clean. There were several feet of snow on the ground when we went, but the motel room could be kept plenty warm with the heater there (which Lori had already turned on before we arrived). Lori is more than happy to show you around the beautiful park (our tour was limited because of the snow), and tell you about what activities are available. Before we left (to go all the way back to NC) Lori found an extra cooler which she packed with fresh fruit, apple juice, water, crackers, and cookies for us. You won't meet a nicer person and the motel was very satisfactory. Stay there.

  • Liked — The Manager
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittanyfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Our Vista motel stay was in response to an emergency. After wandering two hours up and down Rte. 2 in pitch dark trying to find the B+B where we had reservations, we stopped at the Vista to ask for directions. Although nobody else could give us any help, Lori at the Vista went out of her way - she actually drove ahead of us to the B+B back in Hungry Horse. When it turned out to be closed and dark as well, with no keys left for us, Lori recommended other lodging in the area. Naturally we went back to the Vista Motel with Lori..

The Vista has basic amenities. It is extremely clean and the sleeping arrangements are comfortable. The small shower and carpet appeared to be brand new. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Although breakfast was not included in the price, Lori went out of her way to make huckleberry muffins, eggs, and fresh coffee fand hot chocolate for all three of us. She generously took her time to answer our questions about the park, etc. She is a delightful manager and I feel as though I've made a new friend!

If you don't need luxury, then I recommend the Vista motel highly.

Milada Gessman

  • Liked — the wonderful welcome and cleanliness
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mladabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Our stay was five stars from the reservation phone call to the check out! Older, classic motel with modern amenities and an outdoor pool to delight the children. Lori and Janelle went out of their way to accommodate us with everything from picking us up from the train station to sharing home cooked yummy dinner with us! The cottage we stayed in was clean and comfortable complete with a kitchen so we were able to prepare our own meals. Lori and Janelle were both very familiar with the area and Glacier Park and assisted us with car rental and sight seeing destinations. We were grateful for the suggestions from the manager that made our trip memorable. I would not stay anywhere else on our return trip to West Glacier, and look forward to the "family feel" of the Vista!!!! We loved the "Rock room" the family room where there are books, puzzles, air hockey, television and games. I look forward to coming back next fall, and hope that the Road to the sun is open!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Great hotel with great service. The lady at the office is just great, helpful, very informative about everything you need. You will get free coffee, tea or hot chocolate in the morning, fruit, or cereal bars...
She is just great, rooms were clean, cheap, and you can use the heated pool even if it is after 10 pm..
The location is also perfect, not in the Glacier, but two minutes from west entrance, which not makes any difference.

  • Liked — lady at the front desk
  • Disliked — that I couldn´t stay longer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lenocka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Laurie (and Sherry) went far above the call to make sure our kids were well taken care of. From picking them up at the train station to helping them sort out cooking dinner on the BBQ, Laurie was a most gratious host and left a lifelong impression. THANK YOU, Laurie!!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bkorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I appreciated this motel because I loved its friendly atmosphere and its emphasis on enjoying the beauty of Glacier National Park.The manager of this simple motel is extremely knowledgable of her beloved Glacier National Park and habitually goes the extra mile to see to it that her guests enjoy Glacier National Park to its fullest.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Property: Vista Motel
Address: 12340 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of some of the country's most inspiring mountain scenery, our West Glacier hotel is about 1 mile from Glacier National Park. After a day in the park, relax by the fireplace in our rock room, or kick back and enjoy the sunset in our hammocks. Make our hotel in Glacier your destination for an unforgettable family vacation. At our Glacier hotel you will find everything you need to make your stay comfortable, try one of our cozy cabins, or relax in one of our hotel rooms. Bring your family and enjoy Glacier's natural beauty right from the front door of your hotel room or cabin. Our Glacier hotel is open from May 15th to September 30th every year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel West Glacier
Vista Motel West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing