We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Inn At Apgar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed our first and last nights in Glacier at this motel. The first night's room had 2 twin beds and was small, but adequate. The last night we reserved a kitchenette, only because this was the only room type available. This room had both a front and back entrance, fully equipped kitchen and 2 double beds. Both rooms were on the first floor (highly recommend) and about 10 feet from the water. All rooms had adirondack chairs sited outside the door and were very close to the water. We loved this accomodation. We enjoyed going to the ranger programs and had a choice of 3-one within walking distance, another 2 miles away, and the third 10 miles away at Lake McDonald Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    112
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
94
136
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

I just wanted to clarify that, unless they've mysteriously moved it, Village INn at Apgar is in WEST Glacier, NOT EAST Glacier.

That said, we had a wonderful experience there. We arrived at the park on a day when the air was quite smoky from forest fires. I was quite depressed, because I had booked our room specifically for the view of Lake McDonald and the mountains beyond, all of which were cloaked in smoke when we arrived. The next morning, my husband and I awoke quite early - at sunrise. The mist had lifted, and the view was nothing short of pure magic. We made coffee (coffee and pot provided in room) and sat out on the deck watching the sunrise. An unforgettable moment in our Glacier trip!

It's been a while since this stay, but I seem to remember the service in the office was somewhat slow, but the room itself was simple but comfortable - it was actually two rooms, which was nice, allowing the kids to have their own space.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the Village Inn at Apgar during a recent trip to Glacier National Park. We had a second floor room and the view was amazing. The Inn is located right on Lake MacDonald and the location can't be beat. The staff was nice, the room large and clean. And since it was September the night was a little cold, but the in room heater was great. Lots of short hikes and places to explore right from the Inn. And don't miss a trip on a Red Bus/"Jammer", that was a highlight of the trip for us!
Village Inn is the place to stay in Apgar!

  • Liked — View was excellent
  • Disliked — Basic - no TV !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymoontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

After reading some of the reviews we were so happy that we booked at the Village Inn and were not disappointed. The view can't be beat and worth every penny. We stayed on the 2nd floor with the 2 bedrooms, and had adequate room for 6 of us. The bathroom was full sized and plenty big. The rooms are rustic but that is part of the charm. The rooms were very clean and all of the staff helpful and friendly.
This place is worth staying at and you can't believe how beautiful the view of the Lake is.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tanddGaithersburg_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We had initially wanted to stay at the Lake McDonald Lodge, but they didn't have rooms for consecutive nights and we didn't want to have to move around. So, we decided on the Village Inn at Apgar and I an very glad we did! The village of Apgar is cute and has several gift shops, a visitors center and a restaurant (Eddie's.) Back to the Inn-we loved it! The view is magnificient! We had two first floor rooms at the end of the complex. From our room we looked out at Lake McDonald and the mountains. They provide 2 chairs outside each room and we took full advantage of sitting outside and enjoying the view. Yes, visitors and guests of the Lodge at Apgar (cabins and motel on McDonald Creek) did come to the lake and skip rocks, look, chat, but it didn't bother us as we were skipping rocks, too, and also love to chat with others about what they've seen in the park.
The rooms were small, but certainly adequate. We had 2 twin beds and they were comfortable. One doesn't come to Glacier to spend time in the room anyway.
There is a place to rent canoes, motor boats, kayaks. We paddled a canoe around and enjoyed the different vantage point.
Eddie's had a good breakfast. The cinnamon roll french toast with Huckleberry yogurt is particularly yummy. Dinner was good as well.
We ate one night at Lake McDonald Lodge and it was very good. Lake McDonald Lodge is pretty but, to me, the view at Apgar is much better. I loved it and would highly recommend Village Inn at Apgar!

  • Liked — The wonderful view!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shibs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Glacier National Park provides some of the most beautiful scenery a person could ask for---and so does this motel. The rooms are very basic but having a crystal blue lake and mountain views right outside your door is pretty phenomenal. And that's the reason you're there. Some rooms have kitchens which would be nice if traveling with children. Expect a clean 70's motel in a breathtaking setting. Not so bad is it?

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank amcbeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed at the Apgar Village Inn in August on our last night of a 6-night stay in Glacier National Park. It was a convenient location for us, to ensure we weren't rushed to catch our morning flight out of Kalispell.

We booked the Village Inn through the park's concessionaire - you can find it on the web. We paid $115. It was a fine value for the money.

The Village Inn has a small office (which offers free coffee in the morning), with friendly staff. The motel has two levels. Those who have a 2-bedroom or larger room are on one side of the motel; those who seek a 1-bedroom are on the end. We had a 1-bedroom room. The room has no phone or TV (which was fine with us), and contained two twin beds. The bathroom had a bath with shower. There was a small bureau and one padded chair in the room. We got a hairdryer from the office staff.

The Village Inn is a basic, spartan, motel room with one notable exception: the fabulous views from each room. The rooms are all on Lake McDonald - at 10 miles, the largest lake in Glacier National Park. It was wonderful to see the sun set over the lake, and the sun rise the next morning. It appears to be the custom for folks to sit outside their rooms in the evening (plastic chairs are provided by the hotel) and watch the lake and the goings-on. We enjoyed this a great deal, and it was quite relaxing after a day of hiking. Kids played on the rocky beach, and kayaks and canoes were out on the lake (there are boat rentals just outside the Inn).

This area of the park is quite crowded with tourists. It also was, unfortunately, the only time on our trip that we smelled cigarette smoke. While the rooms were all non-smoking, there was a man who was ignoring the park's "no smoking" restriction (because of fire danger). That was the low point of the stay for me, but probably not something that staff at the Village Inn noticed.

The only game in town for food is Eddie's Cafe. We had lunch there one day - a turkey sandwich with chips ran about $8. It was fine.

We took a gorgeous but strenuous 3.5 hour hike up a mountain to Apgar Lookout. The hike was through a forest that is rejuvenating itself after the massive 2003 fires. It is quite beautiful - stands of burned trees surrounded by wildflowers, ferns, and new tree growth.

From the lookout, we could see all of Apgar, much of West Glacier, and Lake McDonald in its glory. All surrounded by the magesty of Glacier Park, of course. The hike was well worth the effort. If you choose to take this hike, be sure to wear a hat and have plenty of sunscreen and water - there is little shelter on this hike.

We also took an easy stroll from the Fish Creek Campground to Rocky Point - a 2 mile hike. It, too, was quite pretty. This was certainly the easiest hike we did - one that would be quite suitable for small children. I imagine this trail gets quite busy - we took it very early in the morning, and were happy to be the only hikers out. It culminates on Lake McDonald on a rocky point which has a fabulous view.

We were happy with the Village Inn for our one night. This is not where I would stay for a lengthy time, however - we stayed longer in Many Glacier (see review of Many Glacier Hotel) and at the Granite Chalet (see review). We wanted more hiking opportunities, less crowds/tourists, and more solitude for the bulk of our trip. But for what we wanted - decent accomodations near the west entrance, it was fine.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank tarapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
13.9 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Property: Village Inn At Apgar
Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn At Apgar 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Inn At Apgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing