We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn At Apgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Inn At Apgar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The view from this hotel is beautiful; however, be prepared for very small rooms. We had a room with twin beds and my husband, who is claustrophic, had a very hard time. The room was clean and had everything you need but just be prepared for the size. Dinner at Eddie's was so so but breakfast was great. While the walls are thin everyone seemed to turn-in by 10:00 pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Village Inn At Apgar, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.
We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    111
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
94
135
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Portal, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a great place to stay for the view. Our room was on the second floor and faced the lake. What a view. Couldn't ask for a more beautiful view anytime of the day or night. Great place to just relax and take in the view. The water is so clear you can see the beautiful blue and red rock native to the area.

Room Tip: Great place to stay at Apagar for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifebucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent three nights here at the beginning of a week-long trip to Glacier National Park. The setting is stunning, right on the edge of Lake McDonald, water lapping at the small beach . You can walk to shops, grocery store, visitor's center. Apgar is small and charming, with everything you need.

We had a room with a kitchenette, which was great for making breakfast and for essentially providing us with a separate room with a table. It's really all about the view here, and it's absolutely the best place to stay in Apgar or West Glacier, which is only a few miles away.

The walls are thin, and people do sit out in front of their rooms on Adirondack chairs provided and chat. Generally they disappear around 10 pm, so it's quiet enough. Families stay there, and the kids love the little beach, so there's that kind of commotion going on. Well-meaning staff, very clean property. Book WAY ahead. This place is very popular and with good reason. You can buy tickets for Red Jammer tours in the office, and the Jammers stop by and pick you up for various tours. Lake McDonald Lodge is a short drive away, and you can take boat tours of the lake from there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette; I believe all of them are on the ground floor (there are 2 storey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptravelBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was out first stop on a six week road trip of Northwest America! What a way to start. The room was clean, good size, we had the addage of a kitchen which was great as I cooked our meal and we could sit outside our room overlooking the lake. Beautiful place to start our trip and would highly recommend. The Village itself was small but with sufficient shops etc for your needs. It was a very quiet place without all the rowdiness of "holidaymakers".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

On west Glacier this a place to saty..
View on Lake Mc Donald gives to morning, evening a particular taste...
It's quiet as everyone respects the quiet policy(10pm to 7am).
Large room, good bathrooms.

Room Tip: A room at 2nd floor is quieter than 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The Inn could use an update ... but the location can't be beat! It's located right on the west shore of Lake McDonald with beautiful views of the lake from your room or the balcony walkway outside the room (upstairs rooms). The upstairs room is configured as two bedrooms or a living room and bedroom, with desk area and closet area, and bathroom. There is plenty of parking next to the Inn. The little village of Apgar has all the needed essentials within short walking distance ... and not crowded like the Lake McDonald Village area, which can get quite congested and parking an issue.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous view. We loved to sit outside especially in the early morning when the fish would jump and water fowl would dive after the insects. Hummingbirds visited the hanging baskets. The mountains were a wonderful backdrop to it all. Yes, the rooms are small but I don't know why anyone would waste their time in the room. Chairs and a small table are provided for each room to sit outside.The staff was very nice. We spent nearly a week and dealt with several different people at the front desk and our maid. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a in-room coffee pot which was helpful since we were from a different time zone and tended to get up earlier than the restaurants opened. The Village Inn is the best memory of our 2 week trip to Glacier. Very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if steps are an issue, request the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Property: Village Inn At Apgar
Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn At Apgar 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Village Inn At Apgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing