We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Inn At Apgar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We again stayed here this July 23rd and 24th 2012. The staff was great and the rooms clean. The front desk hooked us up to the 2nd floor on the end by calling and asking a week earlier if that was possible. The room we had was small but other rooms that are bigger is also offered. This is the best view of the lake and mountains in Apgar, don't pass this place by :))

Room Tip: 2nd floor, 2nd unit from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebergLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently stayed at Village Inn At Apgar and loved it. The rooms are small but the location is wonderful! You're just steps from the waters edge and each room has a front porch with big comfortable adiarondack chairs and a view to die for!! I liked the fact that once you park at the hotel you could walk to resturants, stores, Rangers Info station, boat docks and picnic area. Really great place for families or couple. Don't forget your bathing suit and watershoes!

Room Tip: Families would probably prefer ground level and couples upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

the rooms are small, rustic and dated, but clean and the property is well maintained. the views are absolutely stunning! all rooms face lake mcdonald and it is a view that you will never tire of. it changes w/the weather - clouds, sun....it is positively amazing. there are 2 floors - we had the upper floor which we loved, but it probably doesn't matter which level you are on. there are adirondack chairs outside each room and when you're not touring/hiking/kayaking, etc. you will be happy to sit there. there is no phone or television in the room, and you will welcome that. there is a restaurant in the village - but beware, it closes early (i don't remember what time). there is also an ice cream stand with delicious ice cream.

i rated this inn 5 stars because of the stunning views. we have stayed in lake maggiore, lake como, yosemite....many, many stunning places - this view is on top with the best.

Room Tip: the people that work at the front desk are very knowledgeable in terms of the park, specifically, hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Village inn July 21-23 with 2 teen age boys. We had a second floor room with 2 bedrooms and sitting area. I would have liked one with a kitchen but they were unavailable when I booked it in Dec! So lesson learned book early. The view was unbelievable and the sun came up right over the mountains. We were still on Ohio time and up early every day! I was concerned it might be loud at night but everyone observed the quiet times. We enjoyed sitting on the deck talking with people about their adventures. We had breakfast on the deck. My younger son loved throwing rocks and splashing in the water. The rooms were old but clean. The beds were small and a bit soft. I was expecting it to be musty smelling inside but it was fine. We asked for fans for both bedrooms as they have very little ventalation. The water in the shower was sooo hot we could not get it cool enough but better than limited hot water. Parking was not a problem. We had cell phone service with Verizon. We walked to dinner and ice cream. No tv which was great with us. I loved the view!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently stayed one night in a two-room unit at the Village Inn at Apgar. You shouldn't go to Glacier to spend time inside but the room itself was clean and suitable for five adults and a two-year old. The real advantage to this property is that most, if not all, of the rooms face the lake and have a seating area right outside the door. The location and view couldn't be better (I also appreciated the lack of wifi inside the park).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The apgar village and the Village Inn have a great national park feel to them. Not a big area, it didn't seem crowded and had all the various requirements... gift shops, family restaurant, general store... The Village Inn sits right on Lake McDonald at the outflow end, right next to the outflow river. The water is incredibly clean and even in mid July was cold and refreshing. The views are down the length of this huge lake and very scenic and pretty. I was lucky enough to get a first floor room in the inn itself that had adirondack chairs outside then 10 feet of stones then the lake! See the photos. The housekeeping staff was exceptionally polite and cheerful. no tv, no phone, no refrigerators - quite basic but with beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Rather than a cabin, try the Main inn itself for waterfront and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our first night in Glacier National Park was spent in the Villlage Inn. I have to say that when we drove up I was expecting the worst. This historic Inn sits at the edge of Lake McDonald facing the mountains and the view is unmatched. The rooms are tiny and simply appointed, but remarkably CLEAN! There are chairs outside of each room where you can soak in the breathtaking scenery ( which you can also see from each room). This was a great starting point for us on our trip to Glacier National Park.

Room Tip: Second floor to avoid more foot traffic past your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCCDAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
18.2 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
14 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: $87 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn At Apgar 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn At Apgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing