We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Glacier Motel and Cabins: A Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Save
You added West Glacier Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“West Glacier Motel and Cabins: A Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent four nights at the West Glacier Motel and Cabins in August, 2013. My wife and I booked a cabin on the bluff overlooking the Middle Fork of the Flathead River. The cabins themselves don't have a view of the river, but there is a 'common' area with fire pit, picnic tables, bar-b-ques, and outdoor chairs that sits right on the bluff looking down at the river. Our cabin was good sized with a kitchen area (with basic kitchen necessities including a sink and refrigerator w/ freezer and basic pots/pans/dishes/utensils), dining table, small closet, two queen beds and a small but functional bathroom. There was a picnic table outside our front door as there were at all the cabins. It was clean and well kept. There was a base-board electric heater that worked well one night when it got pretty chilly. I don't know if it had air conditioning, but also don't know if it would ever be needed. We enjoyed it immensely. If you want room service and/or a soda machine down the hall....stay somewhere else. If you want the quiet, serenity and beauty of a cabin in the woods with running water, shower and kitchen...stay here. Great for couples, small groups or families.

Room Tip: Don't know anything about the motel rooms, but the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickster-n-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    33
    16
    14
See reviews for
33
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My two teen-age grandchildren and I stayed in the two-bedroom cabin for three nights to attend a nearby wedding. We found the accommodations very comfortable, clean and roomy. The kids were actually "disconnected" with the exception of their phones, but they enjoyed the experience. We could walk to West Glacier Village (maybe .5 miles), and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The kitchen is fully equipped and roomy. It served as an excellent base for hiking in Glacier Park and was really very nice! Close to everything.

The attendant, Sue, was incredible. Needing an iron to iron our wedding clothes, she allowed us to borrow her personal iron for the weekend, which was really going above and beyond. We really appreciated it.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the West Glacier Cabins, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank your for a great vacation experience!

Room Tip: This cabin had three full-size beds, one in one room and two in another, and no couch in the living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a great motel at a very reasonable price- rooms are comfortable and clean, the lady at the front desk was very friendly, and it's a great location near restaurants, stores, and the park. It's not luxury, but the beds were very comfortable, showers were hot, and it had more amenities than I expected- ice available, kleenex & shampoo in the rooms, fan, etc. (Also cell phone service worked fine.) We stayed "on the bluff" which is a short drive up the hill from the office and it seemed much more quiet and secluded - also very pretty mountain views. I would definitely stay there again if I'm back in the area! Also you get 10% discount at the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Ask to be "on the bluff" - i.e. the rooms and/or cabins that are 1/4 mile drive up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay before traveling through GNP. This is a no frills hotel. It's one room and a bathroom with a shower so small I could barely move in it. But hey......it was clean, cheap and isn't "roughing it" what heading out west is all about?

I'd avoid rooms near the road and right across from the restaurant if you can, it was noisy. We could hear the old gal in the room next to us snoring all night.

I wouldn't want to spend a week there but it was fine for one night. It's in a great area right near the entrance to the park. The restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phylo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was definitely a no frills motel. Room was clean and comfortable, but no shampoos, no hair dryer, no kleenex, etc. It did have a flat screen TV, but no phone in the room and very poor reception on our cell phone. No real privacy as picture window looked out onto parking lot. It was close to the west entrance of Glacier NP, so location wasn't bad. The one plus was there was a very good diner right there, good breakfast, lunch, dinner and pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gma-pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very basic hotel room with no amenities, but it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was definitely small, and there was limited privacy from the adjacent rooms. I was fortunate to be there on a cool night, so the lack of A/C was not a problem. This is not place you hang out, but a place to crash for the night while enjoying the park. I rated it highly for the convenience and value relative to the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Genevieve
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

...and it definitely was. The room had no closet only a nail in the wall with a few hangers; no TV, fridge, microwave. The bath was so small that I had to keep contact lens stuff and makeup in the bedroom (?) since there was no shelf space -- also no towel racks. Stay here only if there are no other places to plop for the night. It was clean and staff was nice but I'd forgo it on another visit to Glacier Park.

Room Tip: am sure all the rooms are the same so it wouldn't matter in which you stayed. A great restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southerngalolemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 7 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#1 of 14 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing