We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room - Friendy staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable room - Friendy staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The folks at this motel were extremely friendly & nice! Our room was comfortable (although neither of us are short people and it seemed to be made for shorter people). The ceilings are low and even the mirror is hung low in the wall ... we enjoyed our stay here after 2 nights of sleeping on the ground at the campground we were mostly interested in a nice hot shower and a soft bed. Given the location, it was actually very quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_K625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
34
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This clean, cozy, dated, little motel along the river in W. Glacier is the perfect overnighter on the rainy day we took shelter there. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom made us laugh, and crouch. If you are short in stature, this will amuse you. The toilet was about as high off the floor as those in the preschool restrooms in some schools, had to bend at the waist to use the sink, and crouch in the shower to come close to the shower head enough to wash hair. Wouldn't want to stay here more than one night. Also we heard strange native chanting in the middle of the night just outside of our room at the river end of the motel. When we looked outside, no one was there. Spooky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We first checked in the park at their sister property and could have paid much more. Just outside the entrance gate with a restaurant next door it served its purpose. Luckily we get up early, because our room (#19) was next to the office and the radio came on next door around 6:30 am. The walls are thin, so if you're a light sleeper, earplugs would be a help. It's off the main street so there isn't traffice noise to speak of. The room was very clean, the wall heater did the trick,the bed was comfortale and we had books to read so didn't really miss TV. Fall is a wonderful time to visit Glacier. Check before you go at any time to see if Logan Pass will be open - it closed the day after we left for construction. If you want a little extra adventure, take a picnic or your kayaks and make the drive to Bowman Lake - it's absolutely beautiful even though the road was a little rough.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms an cabins down the little lane - they looked like they would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the best hotels/motels I've stayed at. It was cozy, and cute!!! The hotel has a great view! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I'd LOVE to come back here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Such a contrast from St Mary's. Fabulous accommodation up the hill from the main road with a full kitchen and outside sitting area as well as inside. We sat outside eating/reading/writing until it was dark with the sound of the river way below. Helpful staff too. And very reasonably priced. Why stay in more expensive 'park' accommodation when you could be here so close to the western entrance to wonderful Glacier National Park?

Room Tip: Go for the cabins up the hill rather than down near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Think National Park Service cabin: small, very basic and functional -- no TV, no phone, tiny bathroom, no air conditioning. Our room here reminded us of a cabin we stayed in on the north rim of the Grand Canyon (not the lodge, the cabins). It is a good location right outside the gate to Glacier NP, and you pay for that, though this was the only lodging near the park under $100 a night. There's a restaurant, bar, small store and other conveniences within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This motel was our first stop on our trip through Montana, Wyoming and South Dakota. We arrived later in the day and were happy with the motel and its surroundings. Although the motel is very basic in what it offers in the rooms...no t.v. or A/C. The rooms are clean and that's the most important part to me. The bed was comfortable and served its purpose.

Very basic but pretty good place to get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing