We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cozy cabins with rural charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Save
You added West Glacier Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy cabins with rural charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

West Glacier Motel is very clean and very friendly. If you are the sort of person/group who is looking for the sort of place that looks like a hotel chain, you need to keep searching. But, if you want to support the type of lodging the fits with the rural charm of the area, this is a great place for you. There was a small kitchenette in the cabin. There were two beds. We liked our stay there. We especially loved the fire pit in the middle of the small field.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieLouChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    33
    16
    14
See reviews for
33
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Clean, pleasant, good beds, restaurant nearby, good value. OK, so the decor is a little dated, but clean and good beds rank high for us. Main motel is near Rte. 2 so we asked for a quiet room and innkeeper suggested "up on the hill". Well, the hill overlooked the river, had picnic tables, and other residents very friendly. Made for a fun time. Great value for the location..even gae a discount to restaurant next door with good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, In
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I felt like I was back in time, when I would go on vacation with my parents. Before the flat screens, wifi and air! We actually loved it when we were done. We sat outside in the evenings and talked to our "neighbors". In the area is a little restaurant, which had great food, a cute bar full in the evening of the local raft guides. There is also a gift shop, store and post office. A great base if you can't get into the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Neat and clean with newer shower stalls and sinks, etc. but tiny. Walls too thin, as I heard next door people talking while I was trying to sleep. Next door to good, simple restaurant and grocery. READ the guidelines when you check in or you may get charged for not following them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancywiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place does have a convenient location if you are unable to secure a room at Apgar Village or Lake McDonald Lodge inside Glacier Nat'l. Park, since it's just 2 miles away. It's definitely no-frills--which is quite typical of rooms you will find inside the park. Rooms are small, clean, beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are extremely small and the shower is not great. No towel racks, which makes no sense to me. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two. The restaurant across the street is excellent with generous portions and a 10% discount if you are staying at this motel. Stayed at one of the cabins here several years ago, and they are much nicer than the motel.

Room Tip: Skip the motel and choose a cabin instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We spent four nights at cabin #29 it was exellent, views were great, the mountians the river down below, all while sitting by a cozy firepit. Great restartant just a few hundred feet away, we ended up making most of our meal at the cabin every thing you would need is there, the kids loved the fresh choc. chip cookies when they woke up. I hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael00w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed in the actual hotel part, not the cabins and found it to be a complete DIVE. The walls were paper thin, the window had to be held open with a stick from outside. The bed was ROCK hard and I could actually feel the springs poke into my side. I have stayed in similar quality hotels, but expect to pay a lot less money. This definitely rustic, and not in that cozy nice kind of way, but in the not changing ANYTHING since 1952 kind of way. That bed had to be that old. The only redeeming quality was a fun bar next door that we stayed most of the night at to avoid being in our dark depressing dirty room. We canceled our second night and drove into Whitefish Montana and stayed in a really nice bed and breakfast for only ten dollars more a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idomgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
0.0 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#1 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing