We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but noisy room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice but noisy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed here one night in a large room that was handicap-accessible. There was a lot of space with a large bath but we don't know if all rooms are like this. it looked newly refurbished and had a very comfortable, firm bed and was the least expensive room of our week long trip. It was the a good value particularly compared to the prices we paid for lodging on the east side of the park.
It had a television but no air conditioning. While I suspect this may not usually be a problem, the highs were in the 90s during our stay and the room was very warm. We had a room fan which helped a lot but we had to keep the window open to pull in the cool night air (otherwise we would have just been blowing around the hot air. This meant that we got all the highway noise and all the train noise which made for disrupted sleep. We did close the window the next morning and it would have been very quiet with the window shut. If the weather had been more cooperative, we would have had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    25
    23
    16
See reviews for
29
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

Joe and his staff couldn't be nicer...the rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice view of mountains...loved staying across of AMTRAK depot...fun watching people come and go. The food in restaurant was always good. Small town atmosphere...friendly people...will stay here everytime I come to West Glacier!
Very convenient when you travel by train...just walk across the street. Hate to give such a good recommendation...don't want too many people to know about this gem!

Linda Carfagnini
Grayslake, IL

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank L.Carfagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

New motel units scraped into a hill above the highway and railroad. Good value for a night's sleep.

Helpful?
4 Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 days exploring GNP and thoroughly enjoyed returning to our motel room at night. The hot tub was the perfect temperature after a mid-autumn bicycle trip. The food at the restaurant tasted great and the service was pretty good. The trains throughout the night can be a litle loud, but there is something quite nice hearing a train whistle in the dark of night......

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2005

We stayed here in Sept of 2004. The "resort" is basically a gas station, a restaurant, and 3 seperate motel buildings one of which is right on hiwy 2. The "resort" is also located across from some railroad tracks. Rest assured that you WILL hear trains. You will hear trains at midnight. You will hear trains at 2 in the morning. You will hear trains at 4 in the morning. The first couple of times, during daylight hours, it's kind of neat. It is not neat at 5 AM. The restaurant food is OK but it is basically short order Denny's type of fare. They are short staffed (at least during our stay) and had only one server on. While the very young gal tried her best there was no way she could take care of the whole restaurant and the service reflected that.The rooms, aside from the noise, did I mention there is LOTS of noise? are nice enough, but they are definetely what you might expect in rural Montana. They were very clean however. Their prices seem somewhat suspicious. We talked to the people in the room next to us and they payed considerably less than what we payed. We had reservations, they did not. All in all our stay was not pleasant. The rooms were not worth the money. The restaurant was mediocre at best. The staff was not what you might expect at a "resort." The place is a noisy roadside motel at best, certainly not worth the title of "resort."

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2004

I've been all over Asia and Europe. Stayed in some of the finest hotels. This was my third trip to the Glacier Highland in ten years and I'm astonished by the continual improvements the owners make. The food has always been excellent. Great addition with the bear carvings. Great hot tub. Rooms have always been clean and comfy. Great customer service. Beds don't have any "valleys". Nothing beats the fresh air of GNP over Hong Kong or Seoul. Thanks and keep up the great work. Incredible baked goods. Oh, and GNP was great too.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2004

My husband and I visited Glacier National Park the second week in September 2003. We spent our first night at the Glacier Highland Resort. The rooms were dirty, poorly lit and extremely noisy due to the traffic and the tarins running by the resort every hour. I wish that the clerk had advised me of this situation prior to making reservations. Even though the food was good at the restaurant, it could not make up for a very sleepless night. My suggestion is to stay at the Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge in Whitefish and commute. We did this for three days and felt the peace of mind was well worth the added driving distance

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
38.1 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing