We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so hot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Fort Mitchell, KY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is just an old-time motel with a few upgrades and no rustic charm. It's clean, and the bed was excellent. But cheap amenities and hardly any reading light knocked the score down.

However: It's right next door to the best restaurant in the territory at the Belton Chalet. We had two memorable meals there, loved the wine list and on-tap choices along with the food and would make a detour to dine again.

Bottom line: Plan ahead, stay at McDonald Lake Lodge and dine at Belton Chalet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    25
    23
    16
See reviews for
29
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

First: resort = motel. Once you go into it with that mindset, you may be pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms and it was nice and clean. I was really pleasantly surprised how comfortable it was. Nice in-room Dish TV, well-maintained, and quiet. No train noise for us, unless you opened the door. Very convenient to GNP. One minor point is that there's no wifi and virtually no 3G wireless access in the room we stayed in but we weren't there to surf the net anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raindog308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

OK, so it's not The Four Seasons; it's not Motel Hell either. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. No A/C? Ever been to Glacier at night? Restaurant and store in its front yard, GNP right across the street along with my mode of getting/leaving-Amtrak. Would stay again (and hope to next year).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomparff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is no "resort"! It is an old motel - two rows of log buildings not near the recpetion building (pictured). It has the charm of a log building, but that is all the charm it has. It is very basic but was clean. Only 2 double beds and a very tiny ensuite. No coffee/tea facilities, no wifi, no air-con - about mid range in price. They have light on the outsie of the rooms, biut no way you canturn them off. They do not have blockout curtains either, so hope you can sleep well in a well light room!

As one other reviewer said - it is right across from the railway! So true - you will hear every train that goes passed! The rooms are not well insulated, so you also hear every motorbike that goes passed! In summer, no air con and close proximity to the railway meant having windows open for fresh air was not an option. We were in the lower two of the buildings - so closer to noise and maybe these are the more basic rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the building further away from the railway, and check if you have air-con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Son and I spent 2 nights here. Very convenient to Glacier National Park. Rooms are clean, beds reasonably comfortasble--worked out well for us as we want as room that is functional--essentially a place to sleep and store our junk--at a place like Glacier we have no desire to laze away the day in a motel room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TjDzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My parents and I just stayed here in mid June. We came in on the train and the fact that the hotel was right across the road was great. The room was clean and simple, warm and just what we needed. This place is simple, so if you want bells and whistles you should stay somewhere else. If you are going for a comfortable home base with no frills this is perfect. The woman who runs the hotel is extremely kind and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My Fiance and I stayed here in mid June and it was near perfect. Upon arriving the inn keepers were very friendly and more than willing to allow us to check in early due to our early arrival. Upon entering our room I was very please to find an updated nice and simple room. I checked out the bathroom and no sign off bad housekeeping, something that I have experience before. The bedding (when peeled back) was clean and didn't smell musty or in need of a cleaning, we were also pleasantly surprised to find that the bed had six fluffy pillows. The bed wasn't too comfortable but the pillows made up for it. Didn't have any issues with the train noise, but that may be because I grew up with it and our room was one of the ones that it a little higher than some others (behind the little store). Our A/C worked great and wasn't too loud so that was a plus as well. We actually ended up leaving our park pass on a tour bus so when we informed the innkeepers of this, they quickly jumped on the phone with the park staff and arranged for us to return to the park for an additional visit without having to pay again. Since we had arrived by Amtrak (which is literally right across the street) we had to check out before our train was to arrive, so the innkeepers were (again) nice enough to safely store our bags until we were ready to jump on the train. Overall, this place was prefect for us, as our overall stay was pleasant and it was within walking distance to several places to eat and shop. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you're worried about train noise, ask about the rooms up higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatnissE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
38.1 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing