We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Highland Resort
Nearby Hotels
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glacier Outdoor Center(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$347
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Northern Resort(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belton Chalet(West Glacier)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mini Golden Inns Motel(Hungry Horse)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Travel Inn(Columbia Falls)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Guides Lodge(West Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Five Resort(West Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Great Bear Inn(West Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Inn At Apgar(West Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
31
39
29
24
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
39
29
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stationroom was cleanpieshuckleberry piefriendly folkshotel officeknotty pinedecent valuedirectly across the streetwould stay here againpark entranceoff the highwaysatellite tvlight sleeperlake mcdonaldglaciergnp
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 141 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

OK, that's it in a nutshell, except to note that the 19 inch TV is high up on a wall where you can't see it very well. Clean, yes, VERY basic accommodations. No problem for half the price.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
7  Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We just finished a 2 week roadtrip through western Montana with several days at Glacier National Park. At the time I made the reservation all I could get was the Glacier Highland Resort. I took it because it was close to the western entrance.

Not much to look at. We stayed in a room on the second floor that we reached via a rickety wooden stairway. The room had 2 double beds laid out foot to foot since the room was pretty long. The bathroom was clean an there were extra towels laid out on a table.

We noticed that the room was stuffy, turned out to not have A/C. But so what we were at Glacier so we opened the window. Well that was fine until the train across the street came through. It turns out that the historical building across the street is the Belton train station that people use to come to Glacier.

The train really killed it for me. For the price I paid I do not think I got the value expected.

Room Tip: If trains bother you stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bmw32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip to GNP. The rooms were spacious and clean as well as recently remodeled. They were very comfortable. No air conditioning but ceiling fan and opened window at night required a blanket to stay warm. Restaurant has great food and friendly staff. I would stay here again and it is very convenient to West Glacier Amtrak station. We simply stepped off the train and crossed the street to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We expected rustic but not clanging trains and highway traffic all night. There is no air conditioning and it was hot so we had to leave the windows open. There was a noisy fan that did help with noise so if you had to stay there count on that. Nothing is nice and there is no concern for guests comfort. Try to avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

All of West Glacier is close by a busy highway and a busy railway. That can't be helped. But for $112 a night for a very basic room--no AC, no clock, no chairs, ice across the road--at least there should be good ventilation. Our room on the hot west side of the building did have 2 screens and a couple of fans. We ran those until 5 a.m. to cool the room, letting in lots of road and rail noise (one fan's cord was too short to place it directly in the window). No effort had been made by staff to pull the blinds down or open windows during the day to slow the heat gain. This was moderate August weather for NW Montana--can't imagine staying there on a really hot day. The couple we traveled with had 2 windows, but their screen was missing on one. The highway was so loud that we could barely hear the TV, so we shut that down after a short time. A strong sleeping pill, a pillow over my head, and a cool shower to cut the heat allowed me to get some sleep. The room did seem to be clean, and our mattresses had egg crate foam to make them OK to sleep on.
The same company owns the gas station and restaurant across the street, along with the bright lights that shine into the room. Food there was fine, and we'd eat there again. However, next time we'll be sure to book a room or cabin elsewhere. We spent 4 nights on the edge of Glacier. The night here was the most expensive and the only unpleasant one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank RedDog323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews