We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the west side of the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apgar Village Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apgar Village Lodge
Save
You added Apgar Village Lodge to your Saves list
Box 398, West Glacier, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location on the west side of the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the cabins at Apgar and they were just perfect for us. Our cabin had a full service kitchen and it was wonderful to cook bacon & eggs and have a fresh cup of coffee on a crisp Glacier morning. Each cabin has a picnic table and our cabin had a small enclosed front porch with table & chairs to sit at and relax. The check in experience was not all that good. The lady that waited on us was very unfriendly and seemed irritated when asked simple questions. The location was wonderful..you could walk to the lake and the view was wonderful. If you are a person who need new and updated these may not be for you as they are older and renovated. We loved them and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roseatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
zen in nowhere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location of the lodges is just fantastic. You are inside the park, and right on the lake. Though the rooms aren't directly on the lake (for that there's the other lodge next door). It's been reasonably kept, and are quaint - in line with what to expect as these aren't open all year around. We stayed only for a couple of nights and found it quite OK. The restaurant next door is very convenient, be it for dinner or an early breakfast. The only downside on the stay was that the Wifi didn't work - they promised it but wasn't fixed. That really wasn't a reason to complain as on this holiday we wanted to be off phones/ internet in any case. All in all, it is good value for money - but do book early as places tend to get filled up and we saw quite a few walk-ins who were refused as they only have a few rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trottheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at cabin 52 the first two nights in Glacier and really enjoyed it. Very convenient to the lake, river and stores. Nice and quite at night. Being on east coast time it was great to wake up before everyone and watch the sunrise over Lake McDonald. A truly special and wonderful place and so glad it's protected. Bring your kids here instead of Disney!!! As noted before, it is basic but you really shouldn't spend too much time in your room with the scenery that's around.

Room Tip: Cabin 52 was very near the river which was great for our 7 yo son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The motel has great location, minutes from McDonald lake, and very close to West Glacier park entrance. Rooms are not very big and the furniture is basic, but everything was kept clean. It is a motel, so don't expect too much, but you will have cosy and clean room and will be surrounded by gorgeous scenery. Personnel is very friendly. Also on a plus side, there are several places where you can buy food, including some decent restaurants (Apgar, West Glacier and area around Lake McDonald Loge), which is much better compared to some other parts of the Park. However, there is no wifi, no cell phone reception (AT&T), and no TV, but that is the case in the whole Park. We really enjoyed our stay at Apgar, especially sunrises and sunsets at beautiful Lake McDonald. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaZ011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The room was cozy and clean and charming, the motel is minutes from the lake and from the restaurant. My only complaint is that there was no wifi in the rooms, it's only accessible from the office, which seems like a needless omission. It's inconvenient because there's no phone service in the park, though I did get a few bars every now and then.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
399 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were four women needing a place to stay while on a hiking trip in Glacier and Apgar Village Lodge filled the bill so to speak. We had stayed here last year in another cabin. This time we had cabin no. 20 which was very spacious with a kitchen and sitting area, as well as a loft area with two very comfortable queen size beds. The main floor also had a large bedroom which contained three double beds, on of which was a bit lumpy and perhaps needed to be changed. We also had two bathrooms - one with a shower which as previous contributors mentioned is a bit small, but manageable....and a half bath as well. It's a great setting amidst tall trees and steps away from the shores of Lake Macdonald. The staff are fairly pleasant as well. I would stay here again. This large unit would be very suitable for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

No frills cabin, close to Lake McDonald. The bathroom is small and the shower even smaller. However, the hot water always lasted for two people to shower. The front desk people where friendly and accommodating. No cell phone coverage and you can get wifi on the front deck at the office. Not a lot of room for clothing, so you really can't unpack your suitcase. Great location inside the park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SvenAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 7 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Glacier National Park Cabins & Lodging
9.2 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
24.1 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apgar Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apgar Village Lodge

Address: Box 398, West Glacier, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cabins and motel located in Apgar of the foot of the lake McDonald. Open May through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apgar Village Hotel West Glacier
Apgar Village Motel
Apgar Village Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing