We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm so Impressed with this beautiful historical treasure!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Many Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Many Glacier Lodge
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I'm so Impressed with this beautiful historical treasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The setting alone on swiftcurrent lake is something to behold! Its very much like being thrown back in time. Our room was refurbished with stickley furniture and a stone chase in the corner. The window overlooked the lake and I kind of felt they ;might have shot the movie the shining there! Our bathroom was very spacious and had a wonderful clawfoot tub. Great after hiking to iceberg lake which was the best hike of our trip. We had a romantic dinner in the restored dining room and were impressed with the talented violinist who played during dinner. I would definately recommend the entire experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Breathtaking views, lots of wildlife sightings including grizzly bears, black bears, mountain goats, moose, etc. Get a refurbished lake view room with a balcony. They are beautifully renovated with claw foot tubs, gorgeous furnishings which are era appropriate, single serve coffee & tea machine, etc.. With my husband's spotting scope, we saw a momma moose with baby across the Swift Current Lake right in front of our balcony room. Spectacular and a chance of a lifetime! Lake view table in the dining room with great food, wonderful waiters. Life doesn't get any better than that. Interlachen Lounge can get drinks from the bar and then great seating area with views of lake and hillside where we spotted the moose, several grizzly bears eating huckleberries and lots of mountain goats. The bellman wears lederhosen and the entire lodge has a great German feel. We also had cheese fondue before dinner! I would highly recommend this hotel. Only down side is the parking lot but a minor inconvenience given the other positives. From Many Glacier hotel book the 8:30am Grinnel Glacier Boat Trip which includes the Ranger led hike to the Glacier.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished lakefront room with a balcony. We were on third floor which was perfect. Wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VacationerGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The view was amazing from our room, especially in the morning when the mountains were reflected in the lake.

The room was small, but clean and everything worked, so no complaints. The shower was also small, but usable.

Our refurbished room meant we had an elevator and a small fan in the room. Plumbing and electrical were undoubtedly updated.

We truly enjoyed the lobby and deck. Some seats face the beautiful view. Others are gathered around the large fireplace, where the people watching is excellent.

We ate in the main dining room, the casual restaurant (Interlaken Lounge) and got coffee and snacks at Heidi's. I even found the gift shop to be reasonably priced.

The parking is the biggest headache - and would be terrible for someone with a disability. It is up a steep hill from the hotel, necessitating a long walk whenever you need your car. I would strongly recommend a golf cart service by the bellmen to drive people up to the parking lot.

Oh, and the wildlife viewing, bears and moose, is amazing around Many Glacier. We didn't manage to get a balcony room - it would have been fun to search for bears sitting on the balcony.
Reserve early (we reserved 15 months ahead and still did not get a balcony or the bed types we would have preferred.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

As many people have pointed out, the accommodations are basic at best. I stayed in a room with twin beds and a small shower, but some rooms do have the claw foot tub. There is internet in a few of the lobbies, but it is spotty at best. The parking lot is also a bit of a hike from the lodge (all uphill)

The setting was fantastic. The rooms with a view have nice balconies that look out onto the lake. Even though there was no AC, it was cool enough at night that leaving the windows open did make it manageable. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The food was also surprisingly good, with interesting specials each night. Glacier still has ranger programs in the evenings, unlike some of the other parks.

Room Tip: For the best views, select a room with a balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkShoeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you're looking for a swanky, upscale hotel this is not the place for you. If you are looking for beautiful scenery and a relaxed atmosphere this is absolutely the place for you. The setting is beyond comparison. The rooms - tiny, stuffy, old, uncomfortable. No A/C, no TV, tiny bathroom with a shower smaller than you'd find on a cruise ship, no sink in the bathroom (it was in the room), no counterspace. You won't want to spend any more time than absolutely necessary in the room - and if you do spend alot of time in the room, you've completely missed the point of staying a the Many Glacier Hotel. The lobby is gorgeous, the restaurant was good, the back balcony is inspiring, but to really get the best out of your stay, be sure to get out and walk around. The trail around the lake is very nice. A walk down to the waterfall and along the creek, especially early in the morning, is a must. If walking isn't your thing, at least spend a late afternoon sitting outside and soaking up the ample scenery. Otherwise, you've wasted your money. (One note of caution - just because a room is facing the lake doesn't mean you'll have a balcony off the room. If you really want a balcony, be prepared to pay for it. My lakefront room had a 2x3 foot window - that's all the "view" I had. I might as well have been looking out over the parking lot.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for the view, but it was nice to stay in a piece of history. Just be aware of there is no internet, cell service, tv, or radio .Also no air conditioning, usually you could just open the windows but the temp was in the 90's when we were there. The beds were ok but only full size.
Views are beautiful, book early and try to get a refurbished with a lakeside balcony. If lakeside is booked ask again when you check in, if they had a cancellation they will upgrade your room.
Get down to the restaurants early and they get crowded.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I loved our two nights at this hotel and could have stayed another night easily. We booked our room in the renovated section of the hotel where there is an elevator. There also is very good bellhop service and I never had a problem when I needed help with luggage--they were completely polite and competent and responsive Do not book on the first floor because there is alot of foot traffic and discussion of pictures on the walls outside the rooms. The hotel offers a stunning view of the lake and the glaciers amidst the beautiful mountains. There are hiking trails, fishing trips, horseback riding, history lectures, birding opportunities and wildlife viewing, to name a few possibilities for your leisure. I enjoyed learning about the exploration of the area and how the hotel was built. I particularly like learning about the native tribes who were robbed of their land. The room is adequate, the bed was good and the bathroom was fine. We slept well and enjoyed the light outside until 11pm. The food in the dining room is very good and the ambiance is excellent. We read books in the great room next to the roaring fire as tourists and guests milled around. Very comfortable and a unique experience. I hope we go back one day!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank idyllwildgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
12.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Many Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many Glacier Lodge

Property: Many Glacier Lodge
Address: Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Many Glacier Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing