We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, new rooms with great service and good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Guides Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Guides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Clean, new rooms with great service and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

The Good

- New, attractive lodge with more than just the basics for visiting the park.
- Clean, new rooms and common areas.
- Friendly, helpful service from the owner and others. Made us feel very at home.
- Good location near the West Gate of the park.
- Reasonable pricing, given the area.
- Creative buffet breakfast options included.
- Staff was even well-versed at answering questions about potential smells from new paint or carpet, given that it was a brand-new facility. Answers: They used environmentally friendly materials to reduce these problems in the first place, and it wasn't an issue in our room. They did honestly indicate that certain rooms with hard floors did have a smell for a while.
- Nice Mac in the common area for internet access.

The Not-As-Good

- Internet connectivity from the Mac was pretty bad, but consistent with other facilities in this neck of the woods.
- The location has no special views, although it is pleasantly surrounded by trees.
- The location is fairly difficult to locate, especially at night; when we visited, there was little to no lighting for the entry drive.
- Prices in this area are generally high for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
193
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

I ended up spending 5 nights here when I got sick on a GG backpacking trip. Yup, only the most humiliating experience possible! While I slept the first day and a half, overall, staying at the Lodge was a great experience. And you know you're one of the first guests when you're there when they hire the housekeeping staff! Josh, the manager, was also brand new and proved to be a lifesaver. He really helped me make the most of my time alone, as I waited for my husband to finish the trip. He and Max kept me company. The guy even bought me soup! He's what you want when you check into a hotel. Awesome. The property is lovely, with all the rooms slightly different but all tasteful and comfortable. TV and wifi aren't important to me, particularly when I'm on vacation, but they are available. The price is higher than some other places, but overall it's a great place. Tell Josh and Max hi!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mizkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWOhio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

The lodge and its atmosphere were a superb addition to my trip. I landed here as the result of changed plans an inclement weather, but extended my stay because of the friendly, knowledgeable staff and coincidentally the friendships started with other guests. Josh, Max, Roscoe and team are dedicated and fluent with the region. I didn't use the guide services but am considering that as an option to expand my growing interest in fly fishing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWOhioPlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Off the main road just enough to be quiet and relaxing, this inn is reasonably priced for the location, modern and comfortable. The rooms have high ceilings and over-sized windows, and there's trees and wildlife all around. There's wifi access and satellite tv. Breakfast with the very international clientele mix, and the manager Josh assisting all with coffee and planning. The same company that owns the lodge also runs a river guide and rental service, plan a rafting trip. Beautiful, relaxing, great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliane144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford,mi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife & I experienced a most memorable vacation with G.G. Lodge. First time to Glacier Park, Josh was an excellent host & very helpful in providing points of interest, never too busy to answer questions and with genuine interest. Rooms, beds/bedding, were very much welcomed after a long day in the park.
Also had the pleasure to experience a two day raft trip down the Middle Fork with G.G. Again, a top notch experience, guides (Mark & Mike) were most accomodating providing a wealth of knowledge about the park both past & present. Both were very proffesional and personable, great guides with excellent cooking skills ... cast iron pot Lasagna.
Tony & Becky

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The glacier guides lodge is an excellent base camp for exploring glacier national park. I have never felt strongly enough about a place to write a review, but I could not keep this place secret with the great combination of host, location, etc. Josh, is an excellent host. He takes the time each morning to help you map out your day as you enjoy the free continental breakfast. The lodge itself is new and built with the environment in mind. I noticed that one reviewer didn't like the stained concrete floors, but I found them refreshing, especially when you think about how nasty hotel carpeting could be potentially. The bedding is top shelf and the minifridge is a nice touch that may seem trivial until you need it. The price may not be for everyone, but I think it is fair given that it is just steps from the west entrance to the park. The only con is that the wifi/internet absolutely crawls, which I understand is due to the lodge location, and not the lodge itself. This is probably not a problem for most on vacation, but something to look out for if you potentially have to get some work done. Overall, I highly recommend the Glacier Guides Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua_Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I was so glad that the construction of the lodge was completed on time for our trip. The lodge is beautifully done. I stayed 3 separate nights and my sister stayed in another room so between us we saw 5 different rooms. Each room had two queen beds. The bedding was very nice. The rooms were brand new and nice touches such as tile floor in the entry and all natural wood thoughout. The Innkeeper, Josh, and the housekeeper, Loretta, were very welcoming. My only regret was that our itinerary was so packed that we had little time to hang out. Breakfast was included and the food was varied and for the most part healthy and sufficient to send people off for a day of vigorous activity. The "unhealthy" part was the sweet goodies that Josh baked fresh every morning (or so he said). It was hard to know when Josh was being straight or joshing you. After a few days you catch on. In the middle of our time at West Glacier we came back to the lodge for an overnight and this time the reservation was made by Montana Raft. They had mistakenly reserved only 1 room for the 3 of us and the rest of the rooms were booked. After a little discussion, Josh volunteered to move out of his room and sleep in town for the night. He and Loretta quickly went to work to make it ready for a guest who had not yet checked in allowing us to go straight to the showers in the available rooms. This was really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara41278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Property: Glacier Guides Lodge
Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Montana Raft Company and Glacier Guides, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly); each private room has a full bath, 2 queen bed(s), AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy Trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing