We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, quiet accommodations. Great location and host. Meet Max.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glacier Guides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Off the main road just enough to be quiet and relaxing, this inn is reasonably priced for the location, modern and comfortable. The rooms have high ceilings and over-sized windows, and there's trees and wildlife all around. There's wifi access and satellite tv. Breakfast with the very international clientele mix, and the manager Josh assisting all with coffee and planning. The same company that owns the lodge also runs a river guide and rental service, plan a rafting trip. Beautiful, relaxing, great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliane144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Glacier Guides Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife & I experienced a most memorable vacation with G.G. Lodge. First time to Glacier Park, Josh was an excellent host & very helpful in providing points of interest, never too busy to answer questions and with genuine interest. Rooms, beds/bedding, were very much welcomed after a long day in the park.
Also had the pleasure to experience a two day raft trip down the Middle Fork with G.G. Again, a top notch experience, guides (Mark & Mike) were most accomodating providing a wealth of knowledge about the park both past & present. Both were very proffesional and personable, great guides with excellent cooking skills ... cast iron pot Lasagna.
Tony & Becky

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The glacier guides lodge is an excellent base camp for exploring glacier national park. I have never felt strongly enough about a place to write a review, but I could not keep this place secret with the great combination of host, location, etc. Josh, is an excellent host. He takes the time each morning to help you map out your day as you enjoy the free continental breakfast. The lodge itself is new and built with the environment in mind. I noticed that one reviewer didn't like the stained concrete floors, but I found them refreshing, especially when you think about how nasty hotel carpeting could be potentially. The bedding is top shelf and the minifridge is a nice touch that may seem trivial until you need it. The price may not be for everyone, but I think it is fair given that it is just steps from the west entrance to the park. The only con is that the wifi/internet absolutely crawls, which I understand is due to the lodge location, and not the lodge itself. This is probably not a problem for most on vacation, but something to look out for if you potentially have to get some work done. Overall, I highly recommend the Glacier Guides Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua_Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I was so glad that the construction of the lodge was completed on time for our trip. The lodge is beautifully done. I stayed 3 separate nights and my sister stayed in another room so between us we saw 5 different rooms. Each room had two queen beds. The bedding was very nice. The rooms were brand new and nice touches such as tile floor in the entry and all natural wood thoughout. The Innkeeper, Josh, and the housekeeper, Loretta, were very welcoming. My only regret was that our itinerary was so packed that we had little time to hang out. Breakfast was included and the food was varied and for the most part healthy and sufficient to send people off for a day of vigorous activity. The "unhealthy" part was the sweet goodies that Josh baked fresh every morning (or so he said). It was hard to know when Josh was being straight or joshing you. After a few days you catch on. In the middle of our time at West Glacier we came back to the lodge for an overnight and this time the reservation was made by Montana Raft. They had mistakenly reserved only 1 room for the 3 of us and the rest of the rooms were booked. After a little discussion, Josh volunteered to move out of his room and sleep in town for the night. He and Loretta quickly went to work to make it ready for a guest who had not yet checked in allowing us to go straight to the showers in the available rooms. This was really appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara41278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our room was a little cold and somewhat noisy, with concrete floors, vanity and hand-made furnishings, but the linens were nice, the location was serene and the lodge itself was small and comfortable. A simple breakfast with excellent advice from the resident inn keepers made it especially enjoyable. I enjoyed this start to our vacation, but would have a hard time justifying the price in the future considering nearby alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyFance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This newly opened lodge is an excellent additon to the fairly limited accommodation options in West Glacier. Our room was spacious with a great bathroom, high quality linens and a flat screen TV. The decor is contemporary rustic, using local furniture where possible. A great breakfast was included with local bakery items and freshly cut fruit. Josh, the manager was exceptionanly helpful - he even dried our wet hiking socks! The is a perfect base for touring the Glacier region and was a welcome treat after the back country campsites of the park! We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwatson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for two nights with five people including a 16 month old. Each night we walked on their quiet drive to the Belton Chalet restaurant for a great meal. The lodge is in a tiny private valley with huckleberries and beautiful green and maroon rock outcrops. The staff was very friendly and the manager was teaching some young boys how to fly fish in the parking lot until dark. All of our rooms were exceptionally clean and the broad porches were great for visiting with each other and other guests. The breakfast has good organic food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delacelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
311 reviews
17.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
256 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: $170 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a full day of adventure in and around Glacier National Park, return to the cozy, quiet, peaceful Glacier Guides Lodge. Built by Glacier Guides and Montana Raft, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly). Each private room has a full bath, 2 queen beds, AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service, and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing