We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful off road setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glacier Guides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glacier Guides Lodge. It is nestled away from the road in a quiet, woodsy setting. The rooms were neat and clean. The beds were wonderful and so comfortable. Just what we needed after hiking and enjoying the sights. Hosts were helpful and pleasant. A healthy breakfast is included. Wi-fi was free, but you sometimes had to look for a hot spot. We would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor and you get a nice patio to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our family of five stayed two nights at the Glacier Guides guest house. We were thrilled to have the space to stretch out, a full kitchen for cooking and comfortable beds for a good sleep after two long days of hiking. It is only one and a half miles form the West Glacier park entrance and would be a perfect space for a large group with up to four double beds and two single beds.

Thank anninchehalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed at the Glacier Guides Lodge the nights before and after I went on a 5 day hiking/camping trip with the Glacier Guides/Montana Raft. It was a perfect starting point and super convenient for entering the park. The hotel is still relatively new and has tons of charm. I appreciated the comfy beds, the great hot shower, and the complementary breakfast (and free wi-fi!). Apparently everyone else loves this place because there is A/C and TVs - while we didn't need the A/C even in August, the Satellite TV was welcome. The eco-friendly features throughout the hotel were also greatly appreciated.

While there is no on-site restaurant, the restaurant at the Belton Chalet is just a short walk away and was delicious.

I've heard that it can be hard to book this during busy season so make sure to plan ahead!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This place is the best. It’s just a lovely place to stay. Being in West Glacier and right at the west edge of Glacier National Park, it’s in a great location. Even though busy Hwy 2 is a block or so down the hill, and the train tracks are across from that, there were many times when we sat outside of our room and just marveled at how incredibly quiet and peaceful it was.

Our room was room 6, which is on the 2nd floor at the end. It had plenty of room for the 2 of us and looked like it was kept very clean. We took advantage of the mini-fridge to store our hiking water bottles and cans of pop. Wifi worked well in our room and on the balcony/walkway outside of our room. We also used the computer and printer in the guest lounge to print our boarding passes. We really enjoyed the little table and chairs on the walkway. We used them one day while eating our lunch and the rest of the time to relax after hiking.

Jennifer and Don are both just awesome. Don was working the office the day we checked in and was nice enough to carry our suitcases upstairs for us - much appreciated! Jennifer was there the rest of our week and was so helpful. When you’re making plans for your day, make sure to check with whoever’s working that day; Jennifer had really good recommendations for things to do around the park. She also kept a close eye on the weather, which is really needed in this part of the country. Also, I had questions prior to our visit and I found the staff to be very prompt to answer my emails.

The morning breakfast has interesting breads to toast, yogurts, string cheese, fruit, and a great selection of granolas. Gluten-free options were also available. For dinner, they have suggestions for places in the area and they also have a big book of menus for you to browse. (My suggestion: take their suggestions!)

For lunches, we purchased trail lunches from them. You order them the day before - be sure to find out the deadline for ordering them so that they’re ready for you the next morning. The lunches were wonderful. Each bagged lunch had a deli sandwich – Jennifer will ask which meat/cheese combination you want. We were there while tomatoes were in season, so the sliced tomatoes that came with the sandwiches tasted home grown. Yum. (The tomatoes were in a little separate baggie so that the sandwich itself wouldn’t get soggy.) The lunch also included little bag of raw veggies, chips, fruit, a can of sparkling juice, and a bag of very good gorp. A feast!

West Glacier is an easy walk from the hotel. In town, we took advantage of a gas station / convenience store, the grocery store, and the coin laundry.

The next time we're visiting the west side of the park, we're definitely staying at Glacier Guides Lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank nc1MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I would rate this a 4.5 and would definitely stay here again because the room is very up to date for the area. The breakfast is good and wholesome and the staff (Don in our case) was super. The reasons I did not give them a 5 include our room did not have black-out drapes or shades. We draped the coverlet over the windows to compensate. It also annoyed me that in the weeks before our arrival they sent 3 emails to me saying I needed to call them. Only the one that reminded me when the full payment was due was needed. Another email said I needed to call if I wanted two beds which is not needed because they all have two beds now and the third email asked me to sign a release which is only needed if you are taking a trip with them and not for just staying at the lodge. I hope they will at least update the emails they send out and the black-out drapes or shades would be a very nice addition.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Second time at the lodge. Stayed the last night of week-long GNP camping trip. No complaints! Staff was courteous, rooms were clean, wi fi worked and food was good. Great place to relax before driving home.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SmittyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in room 8 which is an upstairs room as we requested. The welcome when we arrived was lovely. We liked the fact there was always hot drinks and snacks available
The breakfast was good with a healthy choice of cereals yoghurt fruit and breads. Jennifer was very helpful with tips on walks. She even lent us some bear spray which saved us a bit of cash too. At another hotel we stayed at they charged $20 rent for this. Jennifer even explained how to use it and all complimentary.
There is lots of seating available outside. The location is really close to the West entrance of Glacier NP and also you could walk to the few local restaurants if you wished
The room itself was spacious and clean. We would give 4.5 stars if we could and the reason it is not 5 is because we found the beds somewhat hard and uncomfortable. The walls also a appeared thin as we could hear others talking clearly. Despite that we would stay again for all the positives mentioned and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debbie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
18 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
22.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: $178 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a full day of adventure in and around Glacier National Park, return to the cozy, quiet, peaceful Glacier Guides Lodge. Built by Glacier Guides and Montana Raft, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly). Each private room has a full bath, 2 queen beds, AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service, and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy trails ... see you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing