We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good dinner; great pie; just a bit overpriced”

West Glacier Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in West Glacier
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We welcome you to Glacier National Parks West Entrance as we have welcomed visitors for over sixty years. The restaurant and other West Glacier Mercantile buildings were constructed in 1938 at the junction of the Going to the Sun Road and US Highway 2. We are open mid May thru mid September, serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Our food is all home made, desserts are amazing and staff is exceptional. We are able to accommodate your group whatever the size. We are fully licensed so you may enjoy a cocktail with your meal and we do take out or sack lunches if you prefer to eat "on the fly". Stop in and check out our ice cream cones or huckleberry cream pie!
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good dinner; great pie; just a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The food here was very, very good. It is a complete menu with traditional American "down home" fare plus other mexican and italian items too. Of course, the huckleberry pie a la mode for dessert was the best part of the meal! Just a little high priced for the casual fare and atmosphere--and the food wasn't "perfect" (except for the dessert). Overall, probably the best choice in West Glacier. Very friendly service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    191
    96
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only went here for breakfast, so I can only comment on that.
First day I had the blueberry pancakes and he had the omelet. Both of us were very satisfied at the end of that. The pancakes were fluffy and flavourful. There were plenty of blueberries and my only critique would be that there were very big. I should have ordered the one as it would have been just enough.
The eggs in the omelet were cooked perfectly. There were good amounts of the add-ins without it being more scrambler than omelet. The hashbrowns were very good too.
I loved the coffee!
The second morning we both had egg dishes and again they were cooked perfectly. No complaints!
The staff were very nice although a bit rushed. Sometimes it took a bit before you were brought the coffee. To clarify, there were plenty of empty tables while we were there. It seems to depend on who is serving you. One day we waited quite a while for coffee and our thank you's were responded with "ok". I don't expect everyone to say you're welcome every time, but at least try not to sound like a teenager. The next day, different server, coffee was brought very quickly and she responded to my couple of questions patiently. Very nice lady.
Big portions though, keep that in mind.
One other comment on how patient the hostess was. I was getting annoyed for her when several people brought in phones needing charging and she tried to accommodate. Good on you for remaining polite and smiling, I was ready to tell one lady to stop complaining about there not being enough plugs in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't know if it was we camped all week but I got the best breakfast sandwich EVER there on our way back out of the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Burgers were a little bland, but the sandwiches and soup were outstanding. Desert options abound. Large portions so couldn't try any desert. Nice place to eat would definitely go back for Huckleberry pie!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yyc44traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely share a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

These portions are huge! We shared the oriental veggie bowl with chicken and had enough left for lunch the next day. We also ordered a dinner Cobb salad the first night and were warned by the waitress that the size was large. Not believing we couldn't finish a salad, we ordered and then had half for lunch the next day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ProBBMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Glacier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing