We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Glacier Restaurant

West Glacier Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in West Glacier
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We welcome you to Glacier National Parks West Entrance as we have welcomed visitors for over sixty years. The restaurant and other West Glacier Mercantile buildings were constructed in 1938 at the junction of the Going to the Sun Road and US Highway 2. We are open mid May thru mid September, serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Our food is all home made, desserts are amazing and staff is exceptional. We are able to accommodate your group whatever the size. We are fully licensed so you may enjoy a cocktail with your meal and we do take out or sack lunches if you prefer to eat "on the fly". Stop in and check out our ice cream cones or huckleberry cream pie!
West Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food was fantastic. Huge Huge portions! Go to this restaurant for a wonderful dinner! This place even has a ice cream bar that serves 13 flavors. Family Friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjcasey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    191
    96
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

For stars might be high but it's weighted given the lack of options in the area. Had great scratch made biscuits and gravy, homemade pancakes, bacon and coffee for two for under twenty bucks. The service was quick and attentive. Exactly what you want before a busy day hiking. It seemed like it was run by a bunch of local old ladies instead of seasonal teenage help liked most other options around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you had a good breakfast and yes, my servers and cooks are quick! I do have a lot of seasonal teenage help but also a lot of us local old ladies! It's a good mix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home-Cooked Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The cooks at this historic eatery prepare meals from scratch. The different soups made each day are a particularly good. For wholesome fresh food, enter here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jetset58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good vacation breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The homemade biscuits and gravy were good, and that is coming from someone with a mother that makes the best. It was not lavish but a tourist breakfast location with gift shop. Decent portions for the price. Two standard breakfasts and coffee for two ran $24.00. Great choice if you are in the west park for the day. They also offer sack lunches for picnics later.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeWen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here a couple of times while staying in West Glacier. Once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both meals were pretty good, no complaints. What surprised me most was the reasonable cost for a restaurant in an area like that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Manager at West Glacier Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for stopping in and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Glacier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to West Glacier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing