We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First day of work for 10 foreign students”

Eddie's Cafe & Gifts
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in West Glacier
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“First day of work for 10 foreign students”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a mid morning breakfast of easy over medium eggs, sausage and an English muffin on June 28 . We were greeted by a lovely young woman who told us it was her first day of work and that she was in the USA on a student exchange for 3 months. Our order wasn't taken for 25 minutes and it wasn't served for another 25 minutes. When we asked when our meal would be ready, the server, who wAs not the original greeter, said "soon". When we complained about the wait, as they were not busy, supervisors were sent over. The first, a male, apologized for the wait, and didn't tell us who he was or what was up . At least the lady who came over later said there was a world wide National Park exchange program and that they had 10new employees starting that day and that a med student was cooking our eggs that morning . I suggested that they be upfront about the situation, so customers can be more understanding about the wait.

They seem to be the only restaurant in the Village of Apgar.....it was OK, nothing special. The next day we had ice cream....those students had that business more organized, although the list didn't match the offerings. Would I eat there again....No....not because of the wait and the new students learning the job.....but the culture of how one is treated and only get attention if you complain! That is an owner/management issue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    143
    105
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Montana Burger!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good service, nice-sized portions, a little spendy, but everything is in the park. A tasty lunch stop. Desserts are great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cshel718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bring back Donna”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Back in the day, Eddies was THE place to take your guests to breakfast. For the past 3 or 4 years it has steadily gone down hill. The service is horrible the food is horrible and despite many requests to the owner no changes have been made. I guess since they are the only act in town no one seems to care. We summer in Glacier every year and have many guests. We used to go at least once a week for breakfast. Last Thursday we tried it one more time. Although our waitress was very perky, our order sat on the pass through for 20 minutes! Needless to say, everyone had a cold over cooked breakfast. I will not make this mistake again and I suggest if you want to have an edible breakfast you go to the HIGHLAND or West Glacier Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thatwillbesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

After a cold rainy night we wake up to the smell of breakfast and walk over to the cafe. We were greeted by the most wonderful and friendly service staff. The biscuits and sausage gravy are fantastic!HOMEMADE!!!!
All scratch made food is almost unheard of in the parks. The special today was Wagu and Portobello meatlaof wrapped in bacon woth horeradish mashed pots creamy corn casserole fried onions and a sweet onion bbq....WOW.
Blown away. We were not dissappointed. ...btw...we finishedvit off with a huckleberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream....yeah that good:)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaanneSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Only restaurant option in Apgar Village”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

You have only two food choices in West Glacier, MT: Ordinary café food or fine dining. For fine dining, go to Belton Chalet or Russell's Fireside Room at Lake McDonald Lodge. Everything else here is typical coffee shop fare. Eddie's is dependably decent, but doesn't rise above other similar offerings in West Glacier. I ordered their Pulled Pork Nachos plate and a Moose Drool ale. I found the nachos very average and wouldn't order it again. The Moose Drool is slightly sweet and very lightly hopped. Service very good. A pitcher of ice water and a carafe of good coffee was placed on the table. If you are staying in Apgar Village, the only better option for lunch is at Lake McDonald Lodge, about 10 miles away. Nearby Belton Chalet, I believe, doesn't serve lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eddie's Cafe & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing