We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic coffee”

Javalina Coffee House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wonderful outdoor patio here in the Southwest, partially covered as you enjoy your cup of coffee in any weather!
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice place to settle in and have a cup of coffee and a chat with friends. Service is a little slow but personal. An interesting collection of characters surrounds the place which adds to the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great coffee, vibe and service! Locals and Visitors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the owner Polly and her niece Joy! Very cool place with a very cool vibe!

This is my second year working the Tour of the Gila Bicycle Stage Race and my mornings at Javalina have become the ritual as have all the new friends made each year in Silver City!

Very large historic building with plenty of comfy chairs, sofas and tables with a lot of local decor.

Javalina is more than just an espresso / coffee shop, it's a place for friends and a place for visitors to feel like friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
834 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 900 helpful votes
“Very laid-back place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went there mostly because of the Internet access. So, I had to go there twice. It was indeed a very comfortable place where you can get a drink and sit there for hours reading or surfing the web. I saw a man there near the window on both days lying in an armchair without a care in the world, wearing the same clothes on both days, and I started wondering if this was a wax figure. Then I saw him move! He must come with the building!
If you need to use the Internet, it is better to first ask how much it costs. The first time I was there I got a coffee and the Internet access was free. On the following day, I got a bottle of water and the Internet cost $3 for 30 minutes! Of course it was not the same person behind the counter. But, I did not make a big deal out of it and paid. No one seemed to be checking if my 30 minute was out either!
The coffee was good and the atmosphere was very relaxed and I could catch up with your E-mail correspondence. What else is important when you are there for just one hour or so?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good coffee and great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's like a large, comfy, funky living room. The coffee is good, and the atmosphere is fun. Great place for a rest & refuel after a Gila hike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beccabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awesome coffee house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is what every local coffee house wants to be. Adorable old building with big windows and tall ceilings, dog friendly, good drinks, lots of comfy seating and sofas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javalina Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Javalina Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing