We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”
Review of Alotta Gelato - CLOSED

Alotta Gelato
Price range: $1 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: New Mexico's oldest gelato shop, serving home made gelato (Italian ice cream) and fresh-baked desserts. Featured in Fodor's, Frommer's, Moon Guides, and Travel section of the NY Times! Located in Silver City's historic Arts & Cultural District, Alotta Gelato is open 7 days a week from Noon to 9:00 PM (Sun-Thu), or Noon to 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat). Both indoor and outdoor seating is available, and we can pack your purchase 'to go.' Ask about our dairy-free, gluten-free, and sugar-free flavors. Find us on Facebook!
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We always try to find Gelato in every city we visit, Alotta Gelato was some of the best we've had. The Orange/Pineapple was very fresh and tasty.We will be back.

Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thanks folks, both for coming by and for the review. Orange Pineapple is especially popular in the spring and summer months, though we have it all year 'round-- so when you come back, it'll be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had some fabulous gelato there. My favorite is cherries jubilee with chocolate. No frills, but clean with great food.

Thank GretchenNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thanks very much for the words of praise. Cherries Jubilee is one of my favorites, too. What makes it special is the imported semi-sweet 'Amarena' cherries we use. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had the "Bounty". Chocolate and Coconut, great combination! Very tasty! A must stop and enjoy while in Silver City!

Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thanks! We're glad you liked us. One of the things that makes our Bounty coconut & chocolate flavor so good is that there is some hazelnut added to provide some crunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were surprised to find authentic gelato in such a small town. The people are friendly. The ambience is a bit confusing, however, or I would have given it 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thanks for coming by. Don't be surprised that authentic gelato is available in our small town-- we have been in business longer than any other gelato shop in the state of New Mexico!

I'm confused about your comment saying that our ambiance is confusing. Our ambiance is quite straightforward...for Silver City, anyway. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A nice little gelato shop in a small town. What I like is that there are generally 2 different flavors of sugar-free gelato that I can choose from. My preference is the sugar-free chocolate, but they haven't had it available on my last couple of visits. The folks are friendly and helpful and the serving is a nice size. If you are ok with sugar, you'll have a lot more options to choose from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank znewmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your review. We think it's very important to have some sugar-free choices because our town has a significant diabetic population-- we want to serve them, too. If you don't see any sugar-free chocolate, be sure to ask us about it-- we rotate our three sugar-free flavors, but we often have some available in our storage freezer and would be happy to bring it out for you. (Now that our display case has been repaired after nearly three months of pain, we're ramping up production and should soon have a full complement of flavors available.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alotta Gelato also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 
Silver City, NM
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing