We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Alotta Gelato - CLOSED

Alotta Gelato
Price range: $1 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: New Mexico's oldest gelato shop, serving home made gelato (Italian ice cream) and fresh-baked desserts. Featured in Fodor's, Frommer's, Moon Guides, and Travel section of the NY Times! Located in Silver City's historic Arts & Cultural District, Alotta Gelato is open 7 days a week from Noon to 9:00 PM (Sun-Thu), or Noon to 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat). Both indoor and outdoor seating is available, and we can pack your purchase 'to go.' Ask about our dairy-free, gluten-free, and sugar-free flavors. Find us on Facebook!
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonderful gelato in a wonderful little town. We had a variety of flavors, all excellent. Especially good were the sour cherry and the chocolate coconut.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchHellman, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for writing! I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed Silver City; there a lot of us who chose specifically to live here, and it's always nice to hear from someone who feels the same way-- but watch out: many of us started out as visitors, and kept coming back until we finally moved here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    20
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“cold and smooth”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This stuff is dangerous!!!! Good thing I dont live here. A little pricey but a good selection. The butter pecan had a lot of nuts

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior78382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellH152, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Just because Silver City is a small, remote town, some visitors think that the cost of goods and services here will be less than in big cities; that's not true-- it often costs us more to ship items here, and the cost of gas is usually higher as well. Keep in mind that we make our gelato right in the store-- that's got to be worth a few cents. Also, if you compare our prices to our nearest competitors (three hours away in Tucson!), we are much cheaper and have larger servings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped there are first night in Silver City and returned every day thereafter. The gelato is amazing! And the owner is a gem! She even gave us some excellent travel advice. This place is a must if you are visiting Silver City!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellH152, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for writing! I'm glad you enjoyed our gelato as well as my wife and co-owner Starr. If a New Yorker likes our stuff, we know that we're doing alright!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treat!!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Mitch and Star always have great gelato waiting. It's a fun place, colorful, lots of brochures of area places, or just a place to play a game and chat with local people as you enjoy the best gelato in southern New Mexico. Never a dissapointment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen88061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellH152, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks-- we appreciate the review! One note: we're not just serving the best gelato in southern New Mexico-- we're pretty much the ONLY place in southern NM that both makes and sells gelato...and we've been at it nine years this month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I were in Silver City for four days. We stopped here every day. Wonderful gelato. Great owner who went out of her way to help us with trip suggestions so that we could make the most of our visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank partrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitchellH152, Owner at Alotta Gelato, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks so much! Come back soon! In the meantime, we'll work on developing Clam Chowdah gelato!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alotta Gelato also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing