We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Don't Really Care You are There”

Diane's Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
182 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“They Don't Really Care You are There”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Food quality over the years continues to decline. I used to totally love the green chili alfredo. It was the best meal anywhere...well that was five years ago. I go back less and less for many reasons. Mostly because I get the feeling several of the wait staff really care less that you there. They will wait on when they are ready and don't bother them when they are not ready to help you. I still eat there and will try again hoping that the one out ten times, I might get the old green chili chicken alfredo. Consistenany of quality flucuates too much and so many times the soups, that are supposed to be warm, are just so-so and the staff don't care. It is sad because I think the owner cares and is an incredibly great baker, but the employees have her fooled as to what they really are like when she or another man, who seems to be in charge, are around. The Parlor in the afternoon has great sandwhiches, really good, but it is not worth the attitude of the employees.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    117
    46
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FRUIT BASKET CAKE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We ordered a fruit basket cake to bring home and have ate off it every evening with coffee. Great bakery quality dessert. Definately not your grocery store bakery!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhondaJo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst 40 dollar meal of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Had the worst 40 dollar meal of my 40+ years dining experience. First the food. The mushroom gratin bore no resemblance to any gratin I have ever had or cooked. The chef needs to review the basic definition of the term "gratin." Placing mushrooms in a bowl of grease and sprinkling a few crumbs of cheese on the mushrooms does NOT constitute a "gratin." The Cesar salad dressing was essentially barely whipped egg whites, a sprinkling of cheese and a large sliver of anchovy tossed on top. As for the Thai Seafood Curry sauce. The vegetables consisted primarily of the root ends of the vegetables, not the main leaf of the vegetable and the leafy part of the vegetables that was included; well the prep cook needs to review his/her chiffonade technique. The vegetables were very thin (good so far) but where 10 inches in length, literally draping from one end of the plate to the other. The term curry sauce refers to a thickened stock such as a gravy, not the thin watery concoction that was served. The Red Stripe beer was a very musty old tasting beer, not the clean crisp palate clearing beer I am used to drinking.

Now, on to the service, after being seated and the order taken, I had to ask for a bread plate and silverware.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches at Diane's Deli & Bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hubby & I ate lunch here, very good sandwiches & the staff was very helpful & polite. Excellent bread, so good, in fact, we bought a loaf to take home--but we opted for a discounted "day old" loaf for $3-something as they wanted $6-something for a fresh loaf: what's that about? It's really good bread, but $6 plus a loaf?! Great cookies by the way & one comes w/your sandwich. Not a lot of seating options, a countertop w/barstools inside, a couple of tables outside. No restrooms onsite, but there's facilities a few doors down (and they were clean, but no hot water).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nvholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Four excellent dinners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We ate at Diane's 2 nights ago with my sister and her husband. Two of us ordered specials: mine was tender little slices of duck, accompanied by an interesting mix of sauteed greens and capers and white rice. My husband had lamb ribs with a mustard glaze that he was reluctant to share. The other meals ordered were off of the menu - prime rib dinner and vegetarian lasagna. The meals begin with a basket of their home-baked breads, and after tasting the green chile-cheese bread, we bought 2 loaves at their bakery a block away the next day. Service was unremarkable. Our waiter was a nice fellow who tried hard to please, but we also encountered indifferent and almost surly people at the front desk. Diane's should really look at improving this very important first impression of their restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenaissanceWoman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diane's Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Diane's Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing