We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican Food in Silver City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jalisco Cafe

The Jalisco Cafe
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Silver City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past and the food and service is second to none. I usually grade this type of place on how the chips and salsa taste and go from there. The chips are always hot and fresh and the salsa has a spicy touch to it that makes a person want to have more. I usually get the combination plate with beef and the food is well prepared and tasty.

If you ever are in Silver City I would definitely stop by and try out The jalisco cafe, because if you like mexican foodas much as I do, you will not be disappointed....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomasu592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    140
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The chips were fresh & hot as was the tasty salsa. I had the Halibut tacos & thoroughly enjoyed them. Only draw back? No liquor, so no margaritas to go with the excellent Mexican food. Plenty of Negra Modelo though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fjwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“True New Mexico Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you're expecting lighter California seafood and cilantro based fare, this isn't it. If you're expecting Texas chili-with-beans and steak fare, this isn't it. But if you want a little piece of totally fattening, totally filling, totally delicious, true New Mexico high calorie, high carb, gluten included deliciousness, this is it. I haven't been to Jalisco's for 10 years and the moment I drove into Silver City, I drove straight to it without a map. It was just as I remembered. Real Hatch Green Chile. Savory Hatch Red Chile. Salsa hot enough to make you sweat. Lots of options and combinations and good Mexican beer will leave you full, fat and happy.

My all-time favorite is the green chile chicken enchilada plate with a fried egg on top, true New Mexico. Stay for the sopapillas, plain, dipped in a little honey....pure....heaven. Cheap enough. Plenty of parking and lots of seating space. Don't miss this treasure of Silver City. Excuse me..my mouth is watering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hot Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very nice place to eat while in Silver City. I ordered the combination burritos with green chili sauce. As other people have said it is hot no matter what you order, green (mild) or red (hot). The food was very good even though there was a very fair amount of heat with the green chiles, you couldn't stop eating it because it is a different kind of mellow burn. It's hard to decide what is hot or mild as each persons tastes vary. Guacamole was great. Smooth and creamy. A must eat at place while in Silver City.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
188 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and what a nice surprise this restaurant turned out to be....will definitely come back if we pass through again.

The restaurant itself is really cute and nicely decorated...bright with lots of windows. Seats a lot so pretty roomy restaurant. We were seated right away in the third dining room. The staff was incredibly gracious and the service was good and our server attentive.

The food was fantastic...ALL very fresh. The salsa was SPICY and delicious that came with the chips. My hubby ordered the three taco plate and i was really impressed to see they make their own shells. He really enjoyed his food... I ordered the chili relleno plate and it was wonderful and SPICY. I loved that they did not over batter the relleno so it tasted more authentic and Americanized. The rice and beans were delicious as well....not out of a can or box.

We did not have dessert (meal portions were hearty) but the table next to us ordered the sopapilla and they looked amazing!!!

Check this place out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jalisco Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Jalisco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing