We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious down home cooking & prices ;)”
Review of The Jalisco Cafe

The Jalisco Cafe
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unpretentious down home cooking & prices ;)”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After looking at the list of Silver City's top restaurants, this one looked the most like good home cooking without the frills, pretentiousness, and the ridiculous HIGH prices of "boutique" restaurants (is that what they're called?). Wanting just a simple meal without having to take out a loan for it, I walked myself over to Jalisco's. Nice breezy walk down Bullard Street downtown! I ordered the Tostada Plate, which seemed overwhelming when it was served but was actually nice-sized. The guacamole was definitely hot, too hot for me bc I'm a lightweight. The service was excellent and the ambiance was even better. The price was good and I'd def recommend Jalisco's over anyplace else that ranks above this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank futureprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    143
    46
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silver City's Best Mexican Restaurant.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've eaten here many times over the years. My favorite dishes are; the red Chile Combo plate, and The Green Chile Bowl. The rice is the my favorite in all of New Mexico. A little pricey, @ $9.00 for Red Enchilada Plate, not including drinks. You must try the sopapillas!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SparklyPixieDust01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before about a year ago and it is good as it was a year ago. The guacamole was prepared fresh and had a nice kick with the jalapeño mixed within. Another exceptional item were the enchiladas with the green sauce. Warning, the heat of the sauces can vary day-to-day. You may want to sample before placing your order.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falconman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old Mex in New Mex”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've eaten here several times for lunch and dinner-food is consistently good. Usually has a line waiting to get in for dinner service (not sure if they take reservations). Food is more Mexican style (rather than tex-mex) and well done. They are accommodating requests- sauce on the side, etc. Wait staff and kitchen service is variable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilot V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took a detour from our trip from I-10 to silver city for gilla cliff dwellings and went to this place for our dinner. We had to wait for few mins to be greeted. After having seated on our table, we were served with very fresh chips & spicy salsa...the raspberry ice-tea was very nice ..food also tasted great. We had a nice dinner. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jalisco Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Jalisco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing