We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes you realize your job is easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chino Mine Vista Point

Chino Mine Vista Point
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Makes you realize your job is easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Huge hole in the ground. Not something to stare at for hours but definitely something to be seen. I just imagine falling into that hole. SMH that would be one of the scariest things in the world. Interesting... simply interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank luna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trade-off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This site offers a spectacular view of an operational open pit copper mine which would be of interest to some people. I realize that the jobs involved in mining such as this are vital to the economy of the area. When I see this, however, I can't help but see how destructive an open pit mine is to the land and water supply.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One big hole in the ground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stopped at the look-out in the early evening and the colors were spectacular. This is probably the largest hole in the ground that I have ever seen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tintaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you have never seen a very large open pit copper mine it is worth viewing. You should also consider the Morinci Copper Mine if you are going just across the border into Arizona

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Heavy Equipment look like toys from a distance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is about as close as you can get; we stood and watched the heavy equipment go up and down the winding road, these trucks are huge and they look like toys in the far distance. It is amazing to read about the mining on the information boards that are on Chino Mine Vista Point. If you have any interest in mining, Caterpillar tractors or just interested...don't miss this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sischk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Mine Vista Point also viewed

 

Been to Chino Mine Vista Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing