We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired of the everyday hustle & bustle?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgetown Cabins Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgetown Cabins Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Silver City B&B and Inns
Deming
1 review
“Tired of the everyday hustle & bustle?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Are you in need of a quiet, peaceful weekend? Henry & I had the opportunity to get exactly that! A couple of weeks ago we got together with our daughter and some friends and we went to the Georgetown Cabins. What an experience! We did not want to come home! The scenery, God's creation, is beautiful. Makes you see, not just look, but SEE the beauty of nature! The cabins are sooooo nice; clean, quiet, peaceful. Everything you need is already there. All you need to take is your food and drink. I mean it. Everything else is there. We cooked breakfast on the grill. Not on the stove like usual. Outside, on the grill, which is already there. In the morning Henry & I went outside to see the sunrise. He lit the fire pit and we sat there and talked and drank coffee with the fire going. Can you picture it? I cannot tell you the serenity you can have there. We are still thanking God for the opportunity. What a blessing! The owners, the Eichoffs, are the nicest people you would ever want to meet. They are down to earth people. Generous and considerate. I can't say enough about the Georgetown Cabins. We will, God willing, go back. I encourage you to go too. You won't be sorry. It's a couple's getaway. One you won't soon forget. Our sincere thanks to the Eichoff's!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrSeus, Owner at Georgetown Cabins Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks you guys for your kind words. We hope you have the opportunity to return for many visits and hope that all are as pleasant as the one you describe. Susie and Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I had talked about visiting Silver City and she left it to me to pick a place to stay. She had mentioned something about finding a quiet cabin get away and that is what I found with the Georgetown Cabins. There is a 5 mile dirt road to get back to the site, but any vehicle can make it easily. Georgetown Cabins is a fairly new destination. Susie and Jon bought the property as un-touched forest land and had the cabin area built up new. It is on the side of a mountain that over looks the 150 year old former Georgetown mining town location. The town was cleared some years ago and the outlines of some of the foundations are all that remain. It is a great hiking area with a lot of old relics still around. The cabin area itself (5 - 6 cabins all spread out) is really something. Susie and Jon had it all built to their specification and then added their own touches. This is not a 'work-in-progress' that still needs things done. This is a well planned and executed get away destination. The cabins are clean and new with top shelf appointments and features. Quality kitchen items, linens, bath towels...the grill at each cabin (I think they all have one) is a 'built-in' gas grill in its own out door grill island that, at least at this time, had very little use on it. The lawn furniture that is throughout the complex is the nice tubular style with mesh seats, adjustable backs and matching ottomans. Everything is of the type and quality that you would buy for your own home/retreat. Sometimes when you stay at hotels, cabins, resorts; the first thing you do is look around and see what the ick factors and compromises are. You don't get that here, it's just perfect the way it is. The one mention might be to have the interior walls go all the way up to the ceiling, but I had to pick at one nit...:)

Our stay was outstanding. We met with Susie when we got there and she gave us all the info and how to/where to. Charming lady. And then that was it. We were left alone to the cool air breezes and wonderful views. No kids allowed, no partiers, just peace and quiet. There was another couple in another cabin, but other than a wave when their car passed us while we were hiking, you wouldn't have known anyone else was there.

The wife likes the hot tubs when we travel and Jon had mentioned, when we talked on the phone, about the new 'solar' hot tub they have. I envisioned a sun heated water bag feeding into a #5 wash tub...:) But like everything else at the site, the hot tub is an unbelievable amenity. A very large, covered gazebo, with a giant brand new hot tub. It is covered by a elegant roll back cover and is just wonderful!

For most of our stay, we sat out on our cabin side yard, watched weather come and go, sipped wine, grilled steaks...it could not have been nicer. The stress of the 'real world' instantly melted away (though I did sneak a peak at email via the excellent wifi connection...:)

I could go on and on, but you get the idea....:) Kudos and thanks Susie and Jon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flash-bcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrSeus, Owner at Georgetown Cabins Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the tremendous review. We are so glad you had a peaceful and relaxing time. We hope that you will come back to enjoy it in the future! Susie and Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is our second year to stay in the Georgetown Cabins and it won't be our last. We come down for a Cowboy Action Shooting match in the area and love the tranqulity and luxury of the cabins. Plus Susie and Jon always greet us with some homemade wine and this time also some terrific home made bread. All of the cabins are beautifully decorated and have beautiful views. Still haven't tried the hot tub - need to do that next time. We have referred others to the Georgetown Cabins as THE place to stay in the Mimbres Valley and/or Silver City area. Susie and Jon know how to do it right! Barbara and Don Ormand (Tex, SASS #4 and Cat Ballou, SASS #55), Tijeras, NM

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great. We have stayed in the Judge Lucas and the McGregor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I cannot say enough nice things about the owners, Jon and Susie. They could not have been nicer or more welcoming. We stayed in the Brannin Cabin. It was wonderful and extremely private, and the views were overwhelmingly beautiful. Everything about their resort was pristine.

Jon and Susie were extremely helpful when sharing their knowledge of the area. They provided us with maps and tons of helpful information. We could not have wanted for more.

Room Tip: The Brannin Cabin is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived on Friday afternoon to celebrate my birthday for the weekend. The cabins were very easy to get to and well worth the short drive from Deming, NM. The cabin we stayed in was emmaculate, warm, and inviting. All we needed was clothes and food; everything else is provided. They even had homemade bread and wine as a sweet bonus! We utilized all the amenities, such as the gas powered grill right outside our cabin, private lawn furniture to enjoy the spectacular views, and the flat screen tv to listen to old country music. Although there was so much to see out doors, we took the opportunity to stay in and relax. The cabins come well stocked with so many wonderful magazines and books to learn about all the surroundings and the history of the area. It was such a fantastic experience, we are already planning a weekend with three other couples. We encourage everyone we speak to, to take advantage of such a glorious place in the mountains. I could write a book about the host's, Susie and John, but for times sake I will just say this: We are BLESSED to know them. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carquestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Georgetown Cabins resort the first week of July 2013. We were greeted by Susie during an afternoon downpour, which didn't last too long. Susie was very outgoing and answered all of our questions. She gave us a loaf of fantastic homemade bread, and a bottle of homemade wine, both of which we enjoyed as the rain stopped and the sun came out. The one thing that I couldn't get over, coming from the city, was the absolute quiet of the area. It was as quiet as if I were standing in a closet. Only the occasional wind could be heard blowing through the trees. Amazing. The cabin appeared to be new. The fit and finish was first rate. The cabin was spotlessly clean, and well outfitted with towels, soap, extra blankets, and cooking utensils; everything you would need for the visit. We had an excellent view of where the town of Georgetown was located. We hiked around the area and found small pieces of glass and pottery. We will definitely come back again! I would recommend this spot to anyone who appreciates the history of the area or is a big fan of the outdoors. This is the best of both worlds because you are truly 'away from it all' but get to stay in a very comfortable cabin at the same time. No need to pitch a tent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Brannin' cabin. It was the highest cabin on the hill, with a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_M31377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

She says:

Part of the fun of a cabin vacation for me is the cooking, so the kitchen facilities are important. I enjoy cooking more elaborate meals that I normally do not have time to do at home. The kitchen is compact, well designed and has all the basics, but I suggest you bring any special equipment you require from home. The view is magnificent (even from the kitchen) and inspires creative cooking. Full length glass doors throughout open onto spectacular views, and when wide open, offer a seductive breeze. Needless to say, between the breezes and the comfy reclining chairs, it is difficult not to nap your way through the vacation. The bed linens are soft and plush, the bathroom well appointed with blow dryer, toiletries, great lighting and plenty of hot water. The layout of the cabin design is so well thought out that the cabin actually lives like a space twice the size. There are outlets about every four or five feet, so plugging in any personal electronics is never a problem. The host and hostess make themselves available to answer any questions and needs. You will be in good hands when staying with Susie and Jon who are warm, helpful, respectful of privacy and discrete. They have the "teddy bear" touch...just right. They feel like instant family and are genuinely concerned for the well-being of their guests. If you ever need a special place to restore and recharge your body, mind, and spirit, or a place where you can almost pluck the stars from the sky, this is it.

He says:

We have stayed at Georgetown Cabins twice, and I can honestly say that Susie and Jon are like family. They care about your experience without being intrusive. Immediately after our arrival for a weeks stay, Susie brought over some of Jon's freshly baked bread, some local wine from the Mimbres River region, and some Criollo beef (which we used to make some tasty burgers) from their ranch. The entire property is totally off the grid with power supplied via solar energy. But that doesn't mean you are without amenities: there is satellite TV, DVD, internet connection available, as well as ample books, magazines. The property is about 18 miles from Silver City, and is situated near the site of the old Georgetown silver mining town. This town, which thrived from about 1880 until 1888 until the price of silver fell, experienced a population increase during that period from less than 100 to nearly1200 persons. The Georgetown Cemetery, which is located a little over a mile away, is still in use and lists the names of many of those early inhabitants. I thoroughly enjoyed hiking around the old town site and examining some of the foundations of those early buildings. Incidentally, this town had a business district, schools, churches, jail, saloons, post office, as well as other dubious establishments. So, if you enjoy hiking, exploring past history, clear starry nights, fantastic views, peace and quiet, with an occasional glimpse of wildlife, then I think you will treasure your experience at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
15.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
15.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
14.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver City
Comfort Inn Silver City
#5 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Cabins Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Cabins Resort

Property: Georgetown Cabins Resort
Address: 104 Georgetown Rd, Silver City, NM 88062
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature! Our new, cozy mountain getaway cabins are surrounded by the Gila Forest with forever views of the Black Range of the Gila. Each cabin is private, upscale, and designed for couples. Enjoy glorious sunrises, lazy mornings, soak in our solar soaking tub with Dead Sea Mineral Salts, relax under moonlit nights with the one you love, hike right out your door, tour the scenic area, explore our history, go fishing, rock hounding, stargazing, enjoy a glass of wine at the local winery, and get a chance to check out Silver City and the Magical Mimbres Valley!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing