We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice already, completion of remodeling will make it excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice already, completion of remodeling will make it excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This gem of a hotel is undergoing remodeling but the owners are doing the economically smart thing -- booking finished rooms in the meantime.

The Room: Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We never heard any remodeling noise or noise from other visitors. That could be because it one of those solid old hotels with thick walls. We booked a corner room, which is a little larger than some of the rooms. It had a closet, an additional small storage area with doors to put suitcases out of the way, two comfortable chairs, a floor lamp, a table lamp on the one bedside table, a ceiling light, and a tv (which we hardly used). There is no counter space in the bathroom but this is easily overcome by hanging cosmetic/toiletry bags on the wall hooks.

Temperature: The windows are screened and can be opened (I love that in a hotel)! I found the summer night breeze comfortable for sleeping, but my husband needed to use the large table fan in the room to sleep. If you are attached to refrigerated air at night, you might be uncomfortable. But if you like fresh night air like I do, you will love it. Throw the windows open and enjoy. To me, one of the drawbacks of refrigerated air is the noise. Even if you can open a window in a hotel, you usually will hear air conditioner noise. Not at the Murray. There's very little street noise too. What a treat that is. The small window in the bathroom also opens. If you go in the spring or fall, there should be no problem with the night temperature. And there are room and bathroom heaters for winter visits. By the way, there is refrigerated air in the hotel lobby.

Housekeeping: Excellent. We always leave a tip. For the first time ever, anywhere, the housekeeper left a note saying "thankyou." I always appreciate a thank you.

Front desk: Extremely helpful. The lady on duty when we arrived gave us a map and many helpful details on restaurants within walking distance. All the front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

Location: Perfect for our trip because we could walk everywhere we were going.

Parking: No problem. You can park on the street free, usually right in front.

Price: Higher than some but worth it for the amenities and location.

Breakfast: You get a coupon for a nearby bakeshop that is excellent. The coupon is generous and covered most of our breakfast expense. There is excellent coffee in the hotel lobby all day.

Summary: I loved it and will go back.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little larger but farther from the elevator/stairs. The northwest side is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank langhorn160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Langhorn160,

Thank you so much for taking the time and provide your feedback on our hotel. We love to hear that guest enjoyed their stay. Please feel free to stop in and stay with us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    90
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
107
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Murray Hotel exemplifies how money can be spent on the wrong things. Expensive high tech doors (ours didn't work), fancy retro tile work, etc., but no basics: no A/C (our room was very hot and uncomfortable, with no venting; like a box), no telephones, and (in some rooms) no TV's. On the positive side, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The $5 breakfast voucher was OK if not exactly generous. If you go in the cool months, this hotel may be OK, though it is still over-priced ($109) for what you get. Our stay was made worse by the buzz sawing (hotel construction) outside our window at 7 a.m., but presumably that does not happen to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomsrating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you for your providing your feedback on our hotel. We at the hotel feel that the owners have done a wonderful job so far in their efforts to renovate the hotel, such as our secure door locks. Yes the batteries do get low and cause a slight problem every now and then, but it is a very quick fix. Our floor tiles are original dating back to 1938. We are currently working on our cooling system and hope to have that completed by Spring 2015. Due to space issues some of our rooms do not have tvs, but thanks to the invention of flat screens that will be remedied soon. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds. As far as the construction noise ( not the hotels), We would under no circumstance subject our sleeping or any guest to construction. The noise was coming from a rude roofing company that was redoing the roof on the building next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I had to go to Silver City for a wedding in mid-July. The highs during this time of the year are in the 90's and it rains frequently so the humidity is high for the desert. My husband and I chose the Murray for two nights because it was the number one ranked hotel in Silver City on TripAdvisor.

When we got into the room my first thought was "Wow it is hot, let's turn on the air conditioning." My husband and I looked around and found only a heater and a large fan. I went down to ask about the air conditioning, surely, we had missed it. We were told history of building and that the cooling system is the one originally installed in the 1930's when the hotel was established. This is interesting because many other aspects of the hotel were updated since the 1930's. There were movement detecting light switches in the bathrooms, an antibacterial remote for the T.V., and WiFi, for example which were also not around in the 1930's. I would rather have air conditioning than WiFi and an automatic light switch!

The cooling system is supposed to work by putting a fan in the window at night and pulling cool air in from outside to cool your room. We did this, but we had to leave the fan on the entire night (which was very loud) and disruptive to sleep. The room did cool down some, but both of us were still sweating even without blankets. Through we were there in the hottest part of the year, it would have still been bothersome to use this system in a cooler part of the year because you have to leave the window and blinds open which invites light and sounds that are also disruptive. I think this hotel would be lovely in the winter time, but it is horrible in the summertime.

After our night in heat, light, and loudness from the fan, my husband and I did not sleep a wink. So we had to find another option for our second night in Silver City. I spoke with the manager and I have to say the customer service was outstanding. He listened to our issues and even arranged out night at another hotel in town since many of the hotels were full. He discounted our rate for the night we stayed.

There are a lot of pro's about this hotel too. It is very nice aesthetically. We loved the decor and thought that it was inviting and interesting. The bathroom, while small, was still functional and very nicely decorated. The history is nice. There are many places to visit downtown within walking distance. But, all of these things don't make a difference if you can't sleep...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kangarookoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Katherine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that the heat was such and issue for you and your husband. Our cooling system is scheduled to be installed by the end of July. We are working to correct this issue and do hope you decide to stay with us again, maybe in the cooler months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Staff was attentive and helpful. Room was great, period art-deco interior, great detail, nice interior with recessed chandelier in middle of room, great tile work in bathroom, "old fashioned" pedestal sink. Good location downtown. Coffee in the lobby & no phone in room, but not a problem. Older model TV. Nice desk to work in room next to window on top floor. Overall hotel is still a work in progress, but mainly just some minor details left to finish. Neat place. Like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We do have a little ways to go before we are completely done with our updates. We hope you decide to come back and stay with us once our updates are complete. Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Murray is everything that you have read--beautifully restored, historic, and well presented, from the street entrance to the rooms. However, you have not read that it has an updated air conditioning system. Upon arrival in Silver City, the temps were in the 90's. When we checked in and made it to our room, I was astounded to see a window fan and a very warm room. Thinking that we had accidentally been given this room by mistake (surely there was a maintenance issue????), I went downstairs to inquire. After a flowery, well-prepared explanation about "passive cooling", I came to understand that the hotel was restored to its original condition: 1930's air conditioning!!!
Please do visit, enjoy the lobby (it does have a/c), see the hard work and attention to detail and get a room elsewhere. Possibly in the October - April season this would have been a great choice. Silver City is in southern New Mexico, a desert! It is hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drrtsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Drrtsw,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We at the Murray Hotel feel that our charm and convenience out set the fact that we do not have a/c. However we are in the high desert which means it does get warm during the day, but cools off quickly in the evening. We do hope to add ceiling fans and a passive cooling system in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has been lovingly renovated. The new owners have kept the art deco period through out the hotel all while giving the customer the nice little touches we desire today. Debbie, who checked us in, was so knowledgeable about the hotel and the history of the town, she made the hotel come alive for us. She helped us to have a wonderful walk in downtown Silver City. Everyone was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Sherri,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Debbie is our resident historian on Silver City and the hotel and it was nice to hear she was so helpful to you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a hotel that perennially has potential but hasn't gotten there yet. I would characterize this as what I imagine a Soviet Era four-star hotel would be like. I arrived and was checked in promptly. The hotel was almost empty, I got to park for free on the sidewalk at the front door. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning. This wasn't a problem when I stayed in June. Silver City is at a high altitude, so it's generally cooler. It could however get hot there, which would impact my ability to sleep. Rooms were quiet and clean. The furniture is old and probably used, but in good condition. Some of the rooms are clunky in layout. The television was an old Sony something that did look like a remnant of the Soviet Union. This is still better though than some of the chain hotels in town, which are dumps. You can usually find a room here, even with late booking. I would't hesitate to stay here when traveling alone, and outside of summer when you can count on air conditioning not being a factor. For a couples stay I would try one of the B&B's, but the word's out on those and they book early.

My room didn't have an iron or ironing board, had to ask for it twice, but did get it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Steve for sharing your opinion of our hotel. We are still a work in progress. There are future pans to add in a cooling system and update our televisions. Hope to you see you again once we have completed our updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver City
Comfort Inn Silver City
#3 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#7 of 9 in Silver City
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 200 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful historic hotel in Silver City, the Murray Hotel is a fine example of Art Deco Streamline Moderne style. Located in the heart of downtown, close to galleries, unique shops, and fabulous restaurants;; all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing