We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the way to fabulous”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On the way to fabulous”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This beautiful Art Deco hotel has been undergoing a complete renovation, and it Is getting there. It will be greatly improved by the planned addition of a restaurant and lounge, and the completion of countless details. The staff is friendly and helpful, ready with recommendations of restaurants and nearby attractions. Lacking the restaurant, we were provided with a voucher for breakfast at Millie's, a lovely little cafe around the corner. The room was large and comfortable with a really great bed, but the television was old school with a volume control that ranged from loud to deafening. We particularly appreciated the bathroom's original tile and bathtub, though the room was small and lacked a vanity or shelving of any kind. I look forward to a return trip when they have completed the renovations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
125
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Yes, it was January, but it was like we were the only travelers in the hotel! Quiet and gracious. The staff was charming and helpful and seemed to really enjoy telling folks about the town and the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and quiet! Parking was not a problem, since there is ample free street parking. We received a breakfast voucher for a bakery around the corner, since the hotel doesn't have a restaurant yet (coming, along with a patio dining area toward the end of 2014). We were the first customers to use the voucher, since the bakery had just started partnering with the hotel, so it would be unfair to be too critical. Food was decent and the voucher covered 90% of the bill!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Caring staff, major renovation investment, great classic feel. A welcome change from the sleep factories... Great complimentary breakfast at the local eatery. Expect it to become THE place to stay in Silver City.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pberlioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Silver City without a plan and decided on the Art Deco style Murray Hotel. It has retained the best of its original design while upgrading all of its infrastructure to contemporary standards. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and we felt right at home. We recommend the Murray as a fine hotel for anyone seeking local flavor and top shelf amenities.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrownCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wow. A treasure in Silver City, NM that is modern yet retains many aspects of its glory days. The simple furnishings and very comfortable bed were unexpected. The views of the center of the town could be a photographers dream as the light from dawn to dusk changed. The quiet atmosphere and the hot coffee in the lobby areas added to our pleasure. I'd highly recommend the Murray Hotel.

Room Tip: the corner third floor room we had was quiet at night and sunny and warm in the daytime. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Lifelong nm. Residents we visited silver city for the first time earlier this year. Great town kinda like Santa Fe 30yrs ago except better. Super friendly atmosphere. We vacillated on picking a hotel but ultimately selected the Murray . The owners are working it hard to succeed. Having invested a lot in this Art Deco gem. On checking in we were advised no air conditioning during a very hot spell. We were given a fan. & the teaser that for each degree over 88 we got a buck off the room rate. It wasn't free , but close. The rooms are nice the staff super friendly. Perfect , no. But you have to give them credit for trying really hard in the middle of no where. We would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel is newly renovated and staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for exploring the historic downtown with art galleries, shops and restaurants. There are plans to add a bar & restaurant on the 2nd floor. We'll definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The king room at the end of the second floor has windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 200 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful historic hotel in Silver City, the Murray Hotel is a fine example of Art Deco Streamline Moderne style. Located in the heart of downtown, close to galleries, unique shops, and fabulous restaurants;; all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing