We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Even At Gunpoint” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Drifter Motel & Restaurant

Drifter Motel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifter Motel & Restaurant
Save
You added Drifter Motel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Even At Gunpoint”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Do yourself a favor. Skip this place!! The beds were horrible. As if sheets/blankets were not changed for several days. On arrival, rude staff. On entry of room, moldy cigarette smell. Bathroom was a disaster. Looked like a pack of dogs left hair in the sink & shower. The bed was even worse. Found red hair, blonde hair and black hair on and in the pillow case. The top of the bed had more strands of hair. Went to staff, asked if there was a cleaner room. No luck. Was told we couldn't change rooms or get a refund. I called my CC company and made a dispute and won. We left and stayed elsewhere. I rate "zero"stars.

Room Tip: Don't pick this place is a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lee,

We thank you for your review! The Drifter Motel just experienced a change in ownership, and as of yesterday have registered the business to tripadvisor and are in the process of responding to all the reviews/questions.

We're proud to say that all the concerns you've mentioned have already been fixed! We currently have renovated rooms with new carpeting and furnishing(more being done as we speak), with brand new sheets/blankets, beds, pillows/pillowcase, tv, refrigerators, microwaves and more! We also have designated smoking/nonsmoking rooms so there won't (hopefully) be the issue of the lingering smoke smell.

We take employee criticism very seriously, and are making sure that guests are satisfied and met with friendly and welcoming staff. We're sorry about your negative experience with the old Drifter Motel, but we hope you can give the new and improving Drifter Motel another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ended up here because everything else in town was booked (or way overpriced) during the Blues Festival. The A/C did not work in the entire motel. Later I overhead another guest say the A/C did not work during the festival the previous year either. Coincidence or a money saver for the owners when people are desperate for motel rooms? At least it was inexpensive, although we were not given a discount for the lack of A/C. (After one night we were able to get a room at the Holiday Inn, which was worth every penny).

The rooms are dated but the bed and bathroom were clean enough. The upholstered furniture was filthy! We had a non-smoking room but it stank of smoke and had an ashtray. The breakfast was good at the restaurant but the service was slow because some of the staff didn't show up.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank riverspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

The Drifter Motel has experienced a change of ownership, and we're responding to all the reviews on tripadvisor (apologies for the 3 year late response!).

We're proud to say that we're doing complete renovations of the rooms, and installing many additional services. We've changed the carpeting, installed new beds, sheets, TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, and more misc. amenities. We've installed a new high speed Wi-Fi system that spreads to our entire property, and have washers/dryers pending!

We were aware of many of the rooms having non-functioning A/C, which is a huge issue (especially during the heat!). We've repaired them all (to our knowledge), and will definitely make accommodations for ones that don't work.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Silver City and give the new (and improving) Drifter Motel a shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver City hotels

Budel,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked my stay via internet from The Netherlands were we live. Seemed like a good choice.
After we checked in ( and payed of course) the woman at the desk say "we have a little problem. Our airconditioner broke down but the rooms are cool enough".
My foot !! It was hot in the room.! And there came an awfull smell (of moth-balls ??) out of the ventilation. After that, we discovered that the pool was closed. Of course, there was not even water in it !!! The claimed restaurant is only a breakfast restaurant. Of the two chairs in the room one was a wreck. The toilet has to be flushed twice before your things were gone. The matrasses were covered with PVC folie ( can you imaging this in a hot room ?).
But one thing was alright. It was clean.
So if you want 100% for your money. DON'T STAY THERE !!!!!!! There are plenty of good other motels in the city !
My wife and I are very disapointed.
Pieter and Ingeborg from Holland ( Europe)

Room Tip: look for an other motel !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Pieter,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review at the Drifter Motel! We apologize for such a late response, we've just recently acquired the motel and registered the business to tripadvisor. We are doing everything we can to rectify people's problems/issues.

We've finished major renovations/repairs and are in the process of doing more. We've fixed all of the air conditioners (all of them to our knowledge), and have completely remodeled several rooms (and counting), with new carpeting, beds/sheets, refrigerators, TVs, microwaves, hair dryers, and more! We've also installed new high speed Wi-Fi and have coin washers/dryers pending.

Unfortunately the pool is so damaged and out of maintenance that it's not feasible to repair and offer as a service. We plan to remove it for additional parking space, and will definitely not advertise the pool as a service we offer. We hope that you can give the new (and improving) Drifter Motel another shot the next time you visit Silver City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Motel was outdated, wore out and tinny rooms. Restaurant is great, lounge was friendly and a big dance floor. Just avoid the overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank utobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us at the Drifter Motel!

We've just recently acquired ownership of the motel, and are going through many steps to completely renovating the motel and responding to reviews (even though it's been many years!). We've added many brand new amenities, such as the bed/bed sheets, TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, bathroom necessities, and more! We've installed brand new high speed Wi-Fi that covers the entire motel, offer free breakfast to daily guests, and have dryer/washer services pending. Unfortunately the lounge has been closed for awhile, but if the demand is high enough we have some ideas of re-opening it in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, and we hope that you can give the new (and improving) Drifter Motel another chance the next time you visit Silver City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Didn't stay at the hotel, as it didn't have any internet access. But did do breakfast at the restaurant. It's a very "locals" place, which was good. Place was very busy, so busy we used the counter. Wait staff very quick on their feet, coffee offered very quicly and order taken with same rapidity. Food is very basic eggs,pancakes, simple omlets, nothing exotic. Servings plentiful and coffee flowing. For what I ordered it was very good. Restaurants only downfall is cleanliness. If your a "clean freak" you might want to rethink walking thru the door. Just keep in mind your in a small town "out west".

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

The Drifter Motel has transferred ownership as of last month and is under new management. We are currently responding to all the reviews (sorry for the 7 year response delay). We've renovated major portions of the motel, many of which are still going on, and we've also added many services to our motel. You'll be happy to hear that we just installed a brand new high speed Wi-Fi system that spreads to the entire motel, and offer free breakfast to daily guests. We've also renovated parts of the restaurant, as well as many of our motel rooms with new carpets, walls, beds/bed sheets, TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and more!

We're excited to be making so many changes to our motel, so that we can give our guests the best experience that we have to offer. Thank you for your review, and we hope the next time you visit Silver City you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

looks like a slum. everything is frayed surprised to find it was clean .mattress was firm. at $38 i had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank L-the-fiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Larry,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at the Drifter Motel! The motel has just recently undergone a change of ownership, and we're responding to all the reviews the motel has received (even the ones a decade ago!).

We're happy to announce that there has been major remodeling done to the motel, with many more in-progress/planned. This ranges from new floors, TVs, refrigerators, toilets, beds/bed sheets and microwaves, to services such as Wi-Fi and free complimentary breakfast.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our motel, and we hope you visit the new (and improving) Drifter Motel the next time you visit Silver City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2005

I needed a shower after I left The Drifter. The place looked filthy and chairs were dirty, see my pix. We got out of there ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank megtravelsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, Manager at Drifter Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us at the Drifter Motel!

The Drifter Motel has recently gone through a change in ownership, and we've just officially registered the business onto tripadvisor as of yesterday morning. We're in the process of responding to all the reviews (11 years isn't too late of a response is it?).

We were appalled seeing the picture that you posted, and you can be very confident that situation will never happen again. We're in the process of completely remodeling the rooms with new TVs, microwaves, beds/bed sheets, floors, walls, toilets, etc. We've also added free high speed Wi-Fi services across the entire Motel along with free breakfast to daily guests. We're posting up the pictures of the remodeled rooms, and will be posting up many more pictures in the near future.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you give us another try with the new (and improving) Drifter Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver City
Comfort Inn Silver City
#3 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#7 of 9 in Silver City
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifter Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifter Motel & Restaurant

Property: Drifter Motel & Restaurant
Address: 711 Silver Heights Blvd, Silver City, NM 88061
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Hotel Class:1 star — Drifter Motel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drifter Motel was just recently purchased by new owners, and is in a huge remodeling process! We have installed brand new internet services, and are in the process of upgrading them because we feel it's not fast enough. We've included free breakfast, and implemented suite rooms which include amenities like microwaves, refrigerators, coffee machines, hair dryers, etc. We've also added brand new TVs to the suite rooms, and remodeled all the room furnishing. We're currently in the process of building a new website for our business. We're excited to give a brand new experience to all our guests, and make them experience the best stay we have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drifter Motel, Restaurant And Lounge Hotel Silver City
Drifter Motel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing