We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at Bear Mountain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Silver City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fabulous Stay at Bear Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Bear Lodge is a lovely spot! Situated on it's own 180 acres yet just a few minutes from Silver City, you couldn't find yourself in a more perfect location. Our room was quiet and serene with beautiful views and a private outside seating area perfect for star gazing and watching the local deer graze. Inside, our room was extra comfortable and generously stocked with all you need. Breakfast was deliciously home cooked, ample, and served in a comfortable dining room where numerous pieces of art by local artists decorate the walls. Linda and the staff are extremely gracious, kind, and endlessly accommodating. Our experience at the lodge was marvelous!

Room Tip: The Gila room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank china737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
144
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived for a two night stop while on a road tour of the area. The hotel is lovely and secluded and rustic. Everywhere you look there are many pieces of art, some for sale, it is a bit like staying in a shop! The room was spotlessly clean and good size but, bizarrely, it was painted dark brown! The bed was small and uncomfortable with red sheets and heavy denim duvet. A bit like a 1970's teenagers bedroom
At breakfast you could help yourself to coffee and cookies but everything else was brought to you. There was no choice and we were brought a cooked omelette like object. We had told the staff that we did not eat meat and this had meat in it! They were most apologetic and in the end we asked for a take out breakfast as the service was very slow and we wanted to get going. Next morning, similar breakfast but veggie friendly. It was a cheesy, squash filled thick pancake like thing, I'm not sure that many of the other guests were eating it.
The local area and nearby town are very interesting and we would have loved to have given it more time.
The owners and staff were charming but we were underwhelmed. Sorry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonohill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I don't think my husband and I could have enjoyed our stay more (except had it been longer). The sunrise was breathtaking from our private balcony, the room tastefully decorated, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. I hope the opportunity arises to return to this lovely retreat. It highly deserves its number 1 rating.

Room Tip: If finances allow I would recommend the main lodge, but the other rooms are well worth the price and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nansymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Bear Mt. Lodge has great hiking trails which you can also run . Sunset Point is especially breathtaking . The breakfast every morn was yummy, fresh fruit,blueberry French toast, granola . Judy the chef will work with you if you need a change in the menu.Jeff the innkeeper was very friendly & welcoming. Close enough drive to town if you want to shop or eat out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have been coming here for many years and every visit is a pleasure with the same high standards maintained. We spent 3 days here and ate all our dinners here. The 3 course dinners are much better than any of the restaurants we have tried in town including the top rated ones. Always a choice with a vegetarian option and imaginative uses of spices and vegetables. The crab cakes are superb! Linda and her staff are so welcoming it is like staying with old friends. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We like the Mimbres room as we like to watch for the deer in the evening but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We knew we were going to stop in Silver City, we planned on one night and made a reservation at the Lodge. When we got there we immediately added a second night as we were blown away by it (it's a good website, but it still doesn't do this place justice). This is one of the best places we've ever stayed in and are glad we found it! We met Linda on check-in and she was just the nicest person to talk to and welcomed us both and our dog, Nellie. The Lodge is very beautiful, you have to walk around to take it all in. And there are many trails on the grounds (4 miles worth) that take you up on hills for some great views.

The room we had was very comfortable and charming. A bed, couch, chair and a large bathroom (with Jacuzzi, which we didn't use) and a nice side porch. Being a B&B you got a full breakfast, which was excellent and different each day. Make sure to try the home made cookies, they are wonderful!

Overall, we had a great time in Silver City and and especially at the Bear Mountain Lodge. We cannot recommend it enough and hope to be back someday soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at the Bear Mountain Lodge on a Monday in the middle of March and departed, sad to leave, five days later. Our time there was remarkably good, leading me to put the lodge and its staff at the top of my list of the best places we have stayed during our 60+ years.

The lodge itself is solidly and beautifully constructed, spacious in its bedrooms, its dining room, and its “great room” which has two fireplaces, each with its own comfortable array of settees and chairs. The solid construction means that, from our room, we never heard other guests, their clumping down the stairs, or their showers running.

Art, both fine and at times funky, adorns the walls and side-tables of the lodge’s great room and dining room. Much of it is for sale, especially in the very tasteful gift shop. If I had been so inclined, I could easily have spent an hour or more just looking at the photographs, paintings, pottery and sculpture; instead, I took more walks, watched more birds, edited my own photographs, and chatted with the lodge’s owners and with other guests.

The lodge is surrounded by many acres of semi-arid piñon pine and juniper forest through which the staff of the lodge maintain hiking and horse-riding trails; the acreage abuts the vast Gila National Forest. A small herd of mule deer passed through the grounds each day we were there, birds were plentiful and diverse, some attracted to seed feeders, and we heard coyotes every day, though we never saw one despite our best efforts.

The cost of a night at the lodge includes a sumptuous and delicious breakfast, rife with fresh fruits, bacon, sausages, eggs (often some novel combination of eggs and vegetables), yogurt, homemade granola incorporating bits of dried fruit, and other very well prepared dishes. The kitchen folks willingly respond to special needs (e.g., a dairy-free diet) with foods that match items on the main menu in flavor and presentation.

With a day’s notice, the dining room also serves dinner (ours was wonderful) and will provide a boxed lunch (we never requested this service). The more usual practice is to drive into Silver City (5 minutes) or up to Pinos Altos (15 minutes) to dine at one of the very good restaurants in these two towns; actually, Pinos Altos may only have one restaurant, the Buckhorn Saloon, but it had the best food and best atmosphere of any we tried in the two towns. Had we not wanted to sample more broadly, however, we would have been more than satisfied to have dinner at the lodge each evening.

All in all, the lodge offers great comfort, just-outside access to nature, excellent food, and unmatched service. It’s difficult to imagine a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Gila and Mimbres are on the ground floor and share a delightful patio; great for couples vacationing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBSuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver City
3.7 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
6.6 mi away
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
#1 of 1 in Pinos Altos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Lodge
Address: 60 Bear Mountain Ranch Road, Silver City, NM 88061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing