We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, peaceful location, great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Silver City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, peaceful location, great hospitality”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I visited the Bear Mountain Lodge with family in August and we all loved it! The rooms are nicely furnished and impeccable, the breakfasts are yummy,the location is beautiful and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed hiking the trails on the property--not be be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
156
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

August 12-15, 2012
This was our first visit to Silver City and our first bed & breakfast experience.
Terry Humble's Santa Rita Mine Tour was informative and entertaining. We visited several antique shops and local historic venues, but by far, BEAR MOUNTAIN LODGE was the highlight of of our trip.
Surrounded by 178 acres of nature preserve, the lodge is a short drive from downtown Silver City. The first thing we noticed was the Quiet. Aside from the chirping of birds, the only other sound was the occasional gust of wind. The air was fresh and sweet. We were glad we brought our binoculars as there were several varieties of birds to watch from our personal balcony. Hiking trails and horseback riding are available. The small parking area contained vehicles from Texas, Montana, Arizona & Colorado. Our room was nicely appointed and full of art. Our jacuzzi was a treat after a day of touring the city.
The lodge is also a gallery for several artists in the area. All mediums of art are displayed.
And the breakfasts... You can not get a better breakfast in a five star restaurant. All employees were extremely polite and eager to make sure we had a wonderful time.
Our first contact was Linda, who we later discovered is one of the owners. Aside from her administrative duties, she is a very talented artist with several of her own pieces displayed. She also is a marvelous breakfast cook!
As you might now understand, we found it very difficult to leave. You will LOVE staying here.

M & K Wilson,
Tucson, AZ

Room Tip: Take a balcony room on the second floor with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike7452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We highly recommend this beautiful lodge which has been well cared for and enhanced by its current owners for the past 3 years. The care and attention taken to make every guest's stay enjoyable was experienced by us as well as everyone else we spoke to and it is an ideal location to watch shooting stars zooming across the night sky. The room we stayed in was well furnished with a balcony, Cabeza de Vaca, room named after historic explorers which in this case was, Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca, Spanish explorer of the New World, believed to have explored Silver City when it was still part of Mexico. The display of wonderful arts and crafts by local artists including the owners' artwork is a must-see and a must-own to cherish! A healthy, full hot and delicious breakfast was included which consisted of waffles with a medley of fruit and nuts along with meaty and tasty sausage patties, choice of coffee or tea, juice and yoghurt and fruit laden granola. The views, the strolls, the horses nearby, the pond with wildlife including a "baritone" bull frog who serenaded us at night, and the endless counting of stars above, makes Bear Mountain Lodge, a nature lover's dream come true!

Room Tip: We recommend you bring some good walking shoes to enjoy the trails Bear Mountain Lodge offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

First time we stayed here we booked for two nights, but once we were here we had to stay another night. What a beautiful lodge--so relaxing. The entire staff is top-notch, friendly and professional. Fantastic gourmet breakfast. Wonderful artist gallery. Be sure to go outside at night to see the amazing display of stars--breath taking! For late June, the nights are mild and perfect for viewing the grounds or sitting on your patio enjoying a nice cool drink. A short distance away from Silver City, but perfectly located for a quick drive to historic downtown Silver City--absolutely fascinating-- or a day trip to the Gila National Forest and cliff dwellings. We are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: Leopold Room is great with jacuzzi tub. The gallery of artwork extends into many of the rooms and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17NancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just go there. And no, Silver City is not Santa Fe. So what? This lodge sets the standard for a great B&B because of the attention to detail, customer care, and comfortable space which are, collectively, second to none. Just walk the grounds, admire the art everywhere, enjoy a tasty breakfast, sit outside, and rest your eyes on the deer, hummingbirds, horses, and even the giant poodles. After our three-day visit, where we hiked a bit, visited the local museum, a few small shops, and drove the local hills and imagined the lives of our ancestors, we were actually eager to return to the lodge. Just to be, just to hang out. So much so, that we ordered dinner to-go from Jalisco's (a great place for red and green chili) in order to enjoy the lodge as much as possible. Thank you to a great staff who were engaging, responsive, knowledgeable, but not overbearing. We definitely look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Families with 2 or more kids might like the separate casitas, such as Wren's Nest or Myra's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracehue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Exceptional lodge near Silver City - beautiful lodge, huge rooms, wonderful natural setting with nice trails, quiet and serene, unique art throughout property, wonderful and huge breakfasts, knowledgable and friendly staff and owners. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Leopold has a very nice view from the room windows and from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabinowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Believe all the reviews. Lovely surroundings, beautiful rooms, and friendly service. Location feels like its on the edge of the wilderness but you are only 10 minute from nice Silver City resaurants.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
3.7 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
219 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
4.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Lodge
Address: 60 Bear Mountain Rd, Silver City, NM 88061-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing