We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shevek & Co - CLOSED

Shevek & Co
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Casual Haute Cuisine." A blend of International Traditional Mediterranean & Mediterranean Fusion Cuisines. Adherents to the Slow Food Movement- all dishes are made from scratch to order. Largest Wine Cellar and Microbrew & Import Beer list in SWNM. Italian Espresso. We buy local, organic, sustainable & humanely raised produce and meats with no hormones or antibiotics. All dishes come in 3 sizes to create the dining experience you desire. Enjoy the full Seasonal Menu in our dining room or have a selection of tapas in our Wine/Beer/Espresso Bar. Members of the SW New Mexico Green Chamber of Commerce.Find us & Chef Shevek on Facebook, ChefShevek on Twitter or read Shevek's blog & get recipes at blogspot as thekissmethodgourmetCooking class schedule- taught at the restaurant- and the list of our canned foods are available through thekissmethodgourmet
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We drove down to Silver City from ABQ for Mother's Day weekend. Shevek's was our first evening meal in town. It was absolutely delicious. Everything. The wine, the food. It was a perfect food experience. We ordered 8 items and it was just right for the two of us. Well, then we saw the dessert menu. As we couldn't decide, we ordered three of them. All were terrific. We are people who truly love to eat excellent food. Unfortuntely, we sometimes eat like wolves -- the pacing of the service at Shevek's was a pleasure. The chef (Shevek) brought out the food himself and we got the opportunity to learn more about him. Our waiter had a dry sense of humor and a lot of knowledge about the food and the wine. We enjoyed both of them very much. The bill ended up being less than anticipated. Who knew Silver City would hold such a treasure? I would move to Silver City for this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    29
    13
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Some of the locals frowned when we told them we had reservations at Shevek, but we decided to follow through and are we glad we did. If you want a fast meal go to Sonic. If you want a true dining experience go to Shevek! The slow pace allows you to really savor each tapas you've ordered before the next arrives. The wine list is long and very reasonably priced. Be sure to save room for a desert as they are prepared with as much attention as everything else on the menu. The servers are attentive and very willing to answer any question plus make great suggestions. My wife's comment "If we live in Silver we'd have to eat here once a month" says it all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun With Tapas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Shared several tapas with a dinner companion (business associate) on Monday nite ( May 12, 2014). Monday is a tough night because that is normally the one night that restaurants closes in cities and small towns. Luckily, Shevek & Co. is open on Monday nights. Loved the nicoise salad and the salmon tapas. Yummy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected for a small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food presentation & taste was excellent. Nice wine selections and staff was attentive. It is slow moving - so, plan this on a night when you're NOT in a hurry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D0nnaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed to say the least”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Dined there Friday May 2nd after making a reservation on line two weeks in advance. We were drawn by "Tapas" concept and interesting sounding menu. We knew we were in for a longer dinner and had no problem with that. First off the service left quite a bit to be desired. There were 2 waitersvand one in training (who basically filled our water and rushed to bus our table). Our waiter a younger gentleman seemed to have his mind somewhere else and had to fome back to table many times to recheck our order, this was the case with the tables next to us as well. It was somewhat comical as he brought the wrong wines out at least 3 times in a row. The problem with running multiple small courses out to diners is that your wait staff has to be on the ball and clearly this one needed some work.
Food
Started with shrimp wrapped in phyllo which was ok but almost devoid of actual shrimp.
Next the pate which was so overwhelmed by mushroom flavoring you could not taste the liver. Had egg Provencal which was drowned in sin much wine that it diluted the tast of egg.Next the ravioli of the day which was the highlight of the meal (appeared to be house made pasta) .Next came a filet of sole which was simply Ok. We were excited for the next course a goat tangine over couscous. Problem was the "broth" tasted of seafood and not of goat. The meat may have been about 1 to 2 ounces and flavor was lacking. Finished with a rather unusal dish of Venison Medallions served over orzo. To call the tiny slivers medallions was somewhat laughable, the worst part againn was the dish has a broth like sauce that was just watery and not tasty.
On the plus side they have a great wine and beer selection which made the dinner tolerable.
As a small business owner I understand the difficulties of getting good employees so I can forgive them for that. In regards to the food, we tried a large variety of items and frankly 8t was just not that good. There are quite a few other places in town where the dining experience was much different.

Helpful?
3 Thank lonelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shevek & Co also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing