We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rob Connolly is a chef with not only extraordinary skill but imagination who loves his work.”
Review of Curious Kumquat - CLOSED

Curious Kumquat
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: James Beard nominated eclectic restaurant featuring fast, fresh and affordable lunches, and modernist foraged tasting dinners.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nothing to dislike ~ I've had 3 dinners in recent years at "The Quat" and impressed every time with my selections. Always some new and exciting taste sensations. I had duck breast with Thai red curry on this visit.

Date of visit: April 2013
2  Thank isoscelesNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 277 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the best meal I have had in years, anywhere in the country! The restaurant is in an undistinguished looking former house, but do not let the physical setting discourage you. The Tasting Menu was wonderful, full of imaginative entrees mixed with locally foraged and/or raised food. The choices and combinations were truly unique and uniformly exquisite! The chef clearly enjoys food and cooking, which is not evident in most restaurants' offerings. An added bonus is an excellent wine and beer list. The servers were knowledgeable and efficient so the service was quite good. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlbuquerqueD_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had quite a lot of fun dining at this restaurant! We were also in a great mood because we were celebrating, and the Curious Kumquat staff was a fun group to do it with!
Go to this restaurant if you are ready to try new and interesting food. Apparently the chef is really into growing/ raising his own food ingredients, and he sure is into creating new recipes. There were quite a lot of interesting things on the menu with conglomerations from various food groups. Main dishes included Lamb, duck, venison, rabbit, Pea fitters, smoked root salad etc etc. in that particular evening and there was a so called “tasting menu”, which allowed you to taste several of the chef’s creations. I am probably not doing these dishes justice by naming them simply by these terms. It was all exotically prepared and you just had to ask the chef or the waitress, Leah for details! Leah is real fun! Actually they were all very jovial and we simply loved trying new food and being a bit crazy there.
Oh yes, there is quite a wine menu! I think it would be great to go with a big group so that you can try several different wines. There was also a great variety of beers. The drinks are not cheap. Nor is the food! If you do go with a group (or even just two) you will have to make a reservation because it is a very small restaurant with a limited number of tables.
I think if you are in Silver City you have to go to try the Curious Kumquat. And, don’t forget to kiss the Chef and the waitresses!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our lunch was excellent. We each ordered a different style of turkey sandwich. All of the ingredients are freshly prepared right there. Roasted turkey on a freshly baked roll with local greens and homemade sauce, simple and delicious. Casual atmosphere with outstanding food.
Large selection of beers and wines, Freshly ground coffee. The freshly baked brownie was a real treat. Clean flavors, professionally prepared and casual comfort. Great choice.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

No where else can you get a 5 star meal while wearing shorts and flip flops, which from what I understand is what the chef was going for. We felt so comfortable there and our server was adorable. We went for the tasters menue and then chose our entrees. I had the curried duck breast and my husband had the elk shanks. It was absolutely wonderful. We must have talked about that meal for 3 days after our visit. We are only in Silver City for a few more days but have already decided a repeat visit to the Curious Kumquat is in order.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TT-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curious Kumquat also viewed

 
Silver City, NM
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing