We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

After reading the reviews of this motel on TripAdvisor, I'd written it off. We booked ourselves into the Motel 6 -- it was shocking (muddy dirt parking lot, cemented-in swimming pool, creepy bedspreads) -- so decided to keep on looking. Looked at an $89 room at the Comfort Inn, which was nicely appointed and clean but with stairs only, no elevator. Then we thought, what the heck, we'll look at the Econolodge next door before deciding, despite the bad reviews. Boy, were we glad we did. Josh, the night desk clerk, was very cordial, pleasant, welcoming and hospitable. He did a great job. He showed us exactly the type of room we were looking for -- quiet, two beds, third floor, overlooking the quiet back hillside away from the highway -- all for only $70/night. And we were able to get to it with the motel's elevator! We took it. The room was beautifully appointed for a budget motel, with rich, warm earth tones and luxurious-looking fabrics. The beds were very clean and comfortable. The bathtub and shower curtain were more like what you'd find at the $120/night Holiday Inn Express down the road. The lighting was perfect. There was a TV, fridge, microwave, large desk with a nice desk chair and a big reclining leather easy chair for watching TV (we were too tired to do so). The AC ran cold and quiet. The only negative was the room's toilet plumbing made a bit of a low "honking" sound after the flush. We were very pleased with this hotel, which Josh told us had been completely remodeled top to bottom earlier this year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Califraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    69
    23
    4
    12
See reviews for
43
59
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here by chance on our drive home from Tucson to Michigan. We wanted to see Silver City. Very happy with the choice, and we saved some money here.

The room clerk who took our reservations followed our requests to a T.
The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was fine, but a bit crowded. We will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acorn1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

We wanted to stay at a B&B between XMAS and New Years to enjoy the Gila wilderness. There was no availability, however. We decided to stay at the Econo Lodge based on the photos. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room on the second floor was nice and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The staff was friendly. We had two small dogs with us. For a chain hotel, it was quite enjoyable.

The internet service worked fine for us.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank RoscoePinscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

THE WORSE HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN THE WORLD.
The absolutly misslead there advertising, the claim to have internet, it must be from the flintstones because there was none, we even spoke with the owner of the hotel with a total lack of customer service, they work in manana time, the manager is horrible, every single staff member in the hotel has lack of customer service, starting from the owner to the staff, it was a nightmare. I will reccommend go to wal-mart, by a blanket and sleep in your car or enjoy City of Rocks, you will have better experience, while you are there pick up some pop tarts because there hot breakfast is something i wouldnt feed my worst enemy .

WHAT WE LIKE THE BEST: LEAVING THE HOTEL
Dislike: making the reservation

  • Liked — Leaving the hotel
  • Disliked — making the reservation
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
This hotel had just starting a complete rennovation at this time. The rennovations of all guest rooms and public area is now complete. We have started a complimentary HOT breakfast also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We travel to Silver City at least once a year and would always stay at the Econo Lodge because we had good experiences there. On a recent trip we changed our plans to arrive a day early. Needless to say, the hotel booked a duplicate reservation for the night we were originally going to arrive. We did not know this until we received our credit card bill a month later with a "no show" room charge for a night that we spent at the hotel. At first I was not too worried. Mistakes happen. Then I tried to talk to the hotel staff and explain the situation. All I got was the run around. I called for three days asking to speak with the manager. She was too busy to speak with me or return my call. I was very upset by the way I was treated. I ended up disputing the charge through my credit card. Econo Lodge has lost my entire future business over an $85 charge.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank KJR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

We recently spent the night at the Econolodge in Silver City, NM. It was possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life. We were traveling with our daughter and her son. She works on the internet and her wireless card is out. When we called to book the rooms she specifically asked if there was ethernet lines in all the rooms and was told yes. We were told we would get two rooms ground floor, next door to each other and with ethernet. We got ground floor. They were neither helpful or sympathetic to her problem.

When we walked into our room, there was a plunger sitting on a filthy piece of plastic by the toilet. The problem was much bigger than a plunger could solve and we had to go our daughter's room every time we needed the toilet. Judging by the plastic this had gone on for some time.

The rooms and beds were very uncomfortable.

My husband and I are both members of AAA. We were given the discount on only one room even though we paid for both. It was the most expensive place we stayed on our week long trip.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — no flush toilet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblinbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

Motels in Silver City are limited. You have a few local ones and then a couple of chain motels. We've had two stays at the Econo Lodge. Both experiences haave been great! Staff is wonderful, helpful and know the area. Rooms are modern all come with microwave & refergerator. They are clean and well kept. Beds are comfortable, with nice pillows!!. They have a continental breakfast in the morning...Don't miss the waffles!!,
Rates are reasonable..If you find yourself in Silver City for 1 nite or multiple nites...this is the place to stay!!

  • Liked — Staff & room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
1.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
0.3 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1120 Highway 180 East, Silver City, NM 88061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled interior corridor hotel with all of the modern amenities. Free HOT breakfast, Indoor heated pool and spa with an adjacent fountain courtyard, guest laundry, fitness center, business center, Free High Speed Internet. 3 Stories interior corridor hotel with an elevator. All rooms have 40-inch LED TVs with 7 HBO channels, refrigerator, microwave, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, and Free High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Silver City
Econolodge Silver City
Silver City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing