We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at this hotel because of the awards from Choice Hotels to this property. They did not disappoint us. We brought our cats with us and they were very accommodating. Cool balcony that overlooked the city and a cool fountain in the center of the property made this hotel different. Great breakfast, even served hot sauce! :) The staff was super helpful and nice on every shift (we stayed for 4 nights). Will stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank miskers1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for giving us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed pet friendly with designated rooms for pets. This way we are able to cater to people who might be allergic to pets. We have designated rooms that the pets are welcome to stay in. Thank you for the great compliments on our breakfast. We serve a hot breakfast everyday and out breakfast staff takes great pride in our breakfast with a few personal touches. We hope to see you again when you are in the Silver City area. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I know that Econo Lodge Hotel's have been around awhile, yet this one is extremely well taken care of and offers everything that you need in a hotel. The staff was very friendly, our room was nice and clean, very nice gym and nice pool. We enjoyed the continental breakfast - good coffee!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for the feedback and compliments. Our goal is to make every guest experience as best as possible at our hotel. I just want to clarify that we offer a full HOT breakfast at our hotel and not just a continental breakfast. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here on two different occasions this summer for business. The building does not look like much from the outside but the rooms are great and so is the breakfast. The hotel has adequate parking but the hallways are a little loud and unkempt but with the air conditioning on you don't even notice. I had associates stay at a different hotel in the area and that one had bed bugs, I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the middle of the hallway to avoid the noise from people walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBJ278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us on mutliple occasions. Thank you for the compliments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This Econo Lodge is in the top 3% of all Econo Lodges- and they deserve it. I have only stayed at one better than this- ever. The property is clean, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is head-and-shoulders above most other properties of this type- it is more typical of what you would find at a Comfort Inn or similar level property. We were there 5 nights, and the room and surrounding environment were quiet. Room was clean, housekeeping was responsive to our needs, A/C worked well, shower pressure was very good, and the TV had a LOT of channels to choose from- it was a nice medium sized flat screen, which you don't see in a lot of these types of properties. Our room rate was right around $100.00/night- quite a bit higher than most Econo Lodges, but we stayed based on other reviews here and had a nice stay.

With that said, the towels were the paper thin ones typical of lower end hotels- we needed two to get completely dry after a shower- mattress was typical of lower end properties- not too firm, a bit saggy, but adequate, and the amenities were your typical low end soaps, shampoo and lotion.

So why a rating of '3' ? Simple- it is no better than the average 3 star hotel. It doesn't warrant a rating any higher or lower based upon what it is- which is a really nice Econo Lodge. Would we stay here again? Mattress quality is pretty important to us- we usually stay at Radissons, Comfort Inns, Hampton Inn, etc- and those mattresses tend to be much better and way more supportive. We would stay here again at a room rate concurrent with what this hotel offers- but not at what we paid. Next time we are in Silver City we will probably step up to the next level of hotels if these guys keep thinking that they warrant charging rates you typically see at better quality chains. So, I would recommend it if it was at 60-70 dollars a night, but I can't recommend it at 100 dollars a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. We like to thank you for the great compliments. We also like to address some of the concerns you mention in the review. Our towels are bought from a certificed vendor of choice hotels international. Our towels have specific tags on them that designate them as made specifically for econo lodge as designated by choice hotels. We do not have an option of purchasing different towels. That would violate our brand standards. Our towels are great quality towels as measured by choice hotels. Our mattresses are only 5 years old. They are pillow top mattresses. Mattress is a type of product that is a personal preference of people. We have received many compliments on our mattresses in the past. Our mattress is the same quality as you would find in other mid scale hotels. They are upgraded from that standard as a pillow top mattress. Our soap, shampoo, and lotion are designed specifially for Econo Lodge by Choice hotels international. That is also a brand standard item that is created by choice hotels to maintain consistency across brand. We do not cut corners in anything at our hotel. Our goal is to create a great consistent guest experience at out hotel for all of our guests. Thank you again for the valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel July 14 for three nights while visiting family in the area. The desk staff were efficient and friendly enough. The breakfast staff was very friendly, but the breakfast was just okay. The juice was watered down. The breakfast food was not that good, although there was a waffle maker. The carpeting in the halls was old and dirty. And the storage rooms, laundry room and janitor's room have the doors kept open on the first floor, so you can't help but see them as you walk by. On one day of our stay, our bathroom was not cleaned at all and the room door was propped open when we returned. Apparently the cleaning staff forgot to close it when they left. On the plus side, they do have a nice enough indoor pool. We will look for another place to stay if we return to Silver City.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your stay.Thank you for the compliments on our staff performance. Our staff take great pride in making sure all of our guest experience at our hotel is the best possible. Our juice come from a machine that operates from a cartridge system. We do not dilute it becuase the machine operates it completely. All we do is replace the cartridge when it is empty. This machine is approved by our franchise and is the closest thing we can get to fresh juice. Our breakfast items are also purchased from an approved vendor. Our menu is set according to our brand standards. Our hallway carpet is only a few years old. We have a deep clean schedule for the hallway just like we have one for our rooms. THe door to our house laundry room and breakfast prep room is kept open during use due to high traffic thru those doors. We are trying to avoid the constant opening and closing of those doors which creates unnecessary noise for our guest. So we keep the service door open during service hours only. Those areas are kept clean at all times. We apologize the house keeping staff left the door open. That is not common practice and we will address that mistake with our housekeeping staff. Once again thank you for the feedback so we can constantly improve our service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on our way through Silver City. Staff was very friendly at check in. We could not get the TV to work so I called down to the office and someone was up within minutes to fix the problem. Rooms are clean and spacious. In the morning have a nice continental breakfast in there dinning area. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our goal is to exceed customer service expectations for all of our guests. We will share this review with all of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Because of summer vacations and the fire in the area it was difficult to find rooms. The front desk staff did everything they could to book me a room for two weeks and then extend it another week. Appreciate establishments who work with their customers. Good breakfast and the rooms are like new and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandVAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for the postive feedback. This is the first public review for our new GM Zach Holcomb. Zach excels in customer service and that is why we chose him to be our GM. That is evident from this review. Our goal at the Econo Lodge of Silver City, NM is to try to exceed all customer expectations and provide the best customer service possible. Zach has the background and knowledge as a GM to help us attain those goals. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
1.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
0.3 mi away
Drifter Motel & Restaurant
Drifter Motel & Restaurant
#6 of 9 in Silver City
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1120 Highway 180 E, Silver City, NM 88061-7877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range: $80 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled interior corridor hotel with all of the modern amenities. Free HOT breakfast, Indoor heated pool and spa with an adjacent fountain courtyard, guest laundry, fitness center, business center, Free High Speed Internet. 3 Stories interior corridor hotel with an elevator. All rooms have 40-inch LED TVs with 7 HBO channels, refrigerator, microwave, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, and Free High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Silver City
Econolodge Silver City
Silver City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing