We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about it was good.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Everything about it was good.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are on a 6 week cross country tour - bicycling. We start when it is still dark out & roll into our lodging midday to avoid the heat. So cost, convenience & amenities are all terribly important. This was a very good stop. Great exercise room. - including a scale - a laundry facility - and at a rate that we were happy with.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel near the pool is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    23
    4
    13
See reviews for
45
61
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

There are only a handful of hotels/motels in Silver City, and the Econo Lodge was a great value. It has recently been remodeled, was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly. The breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage, bisquits, waffles, fruits, and bakery items. I appreciated breakfast being served at 6 (until 10). Although on the main highway through town, it was quiet. I am a non-smoker, and I did not detect an odor as one reviewer mentioned. I, too, would have been put off by it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

They did a great job updating the rooms; ours was beautiful. The desk clerk, Meghan, was extremely helpful and very professional. The rate was a plus for everything we got. It has a small courtyard that was pleasant to sit in and enjoy the evening outside. Room and facility were clean and welcoming. There is only one motel that is close to the downtown area and it doesn't have air-conditioning so I was glad I picked The Econolodge! I couldn't have asked for anything more.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Later82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, NM
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On an overnight trip to Silver City, we were traveling with our dogs and decided to try the Econo Lodge as others rated it okay. We agree with the ratings that it is clean, quiet and inexpensive. We were especially pleased that they accommodated our pets without a huge fee (a big plus). The hotel, however, does have smoking rooms and the smell just seems to permeate the whole building (a big minus for me). Surprised they haven't gone to the "no smoking" facility yet. We had also reserved a room with a king bed, but all they had available for us a room with two queens (a minor irk). The only other down-side was there wasn't a good place to walk the dogs from the hotel. The roads were either along the highway, had no shoulder, or the adjacent neighborhoods were a little sketchy. All and all, it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in Silver City during the Tour of the Gila bike race. This was the second time I have stayed at the Econo Lodge. It was honestly a relief to be back at a predictable chain. The included breakfast is the standard boring pastries and cereal breakfast with a couple of hot options thrown in. I didn't have time for the hot food so I can't comment on it. The room had a microwave, a coffee maker, a fridge, a flat TV, and an iron. Many of which have become iffy at many hotels, so that was a perk. This isn't a fabulous destination hotel, but it's clean and quiet.

Room Tip: The elevator is a tad small and slow, so think twice about schlepping up to the third floor on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tygerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way to see the Gila Cliff Dwellings. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was awesome and included eggs & sausage. We thought this was definitely a great value for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akinspacetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Clean and newly remodeled. Included better than average hot breakfast and the staff was very friendly. Overall a great value!

Room Tip: Don't choose on ground floor by lobby. Breakfast starts at 6am and the noise level becomes very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleazapanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
1.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
0.2 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#7 of 9 in Silver City
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drifter Motel & Restaurant
Drifter Motel & Restaurant
#6 of 9 in Silver City
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1120 Highway 180 E, Silver City, NM 88061-7877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled interior corridor hotel with all of the modern amenities. Free HOT breakfast, Indoor heated pool and spa with an adjacent fountain courtyard, guest laundry, fitness center, business center, Free High Speed Internet. 3 Stories interior corridor hotel with an elevator. All rooms have 40-inch LED TVs with 7 HBO channels, refrigerator, microwave, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, and Free High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Silver City
Econolodge Silver City
Silver City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing