We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Old American Charm”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casual Old American Charm”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Having stayed at the Place Hotel in early December, I hoped my next time there in January would be just as pleaseant. I was not disapointed. The hotel is restored from the late 1800's but has not lost that Early American charm that helped shape our country. The casual step back in time is relaxing and the staff and owners are the type of folks that make eye contact and smile while talking with you. Rates are modest, coffee is great and the rooms are in sized as needed and they are clean and "comfy". I hope to return in March or April and the Palace Hotel is where I will stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich_braverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    37
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
100
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchum, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at The Palace, and it was just as comfortable and clean as the first time I stayed there. The location is great, and the staff is friendly and helpful. I had an emergency, and the owner went over and above the call of duty to help me. The rooms each have their own charm, and their clean and cozy!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattjbogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The ambiance and location were great, but the lack of air conditioning and the noise from the band down the street led to no sleep. The breakfast was adequate. We were glad to leave and it will be remember as one of those places you can't believe you paid for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Palace. The room was small and relatively spartan but the location and amibiance of the place were great and made it worth the small inconveniences such as the street noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

this was my second time at this hotel having loved it so much the first time, definitely different from the bog standard ubiquitous motels and that is its main charm! Feels like stepping back in time. Agree lack of ac may be a problem but the owners do point this out when accepting reservations. Ac would detract from the hotel's authenticity in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiStockport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Palace Hotel is a good choice for the price. We stayed here the first week in August and paid $68 for a room with 2 double beds, and $79 for a "suite" with two bedrooms and a separate living room. The location is great - right in the middle of downtown within walking distance to bars, coffee shops, and restaurants. The price is definitely right for what you get. The hotel is "historic", which means it is old and in need of some care. NOTE: THIS HOTEL HAS NO AIR CONDITIONING. The rooms were clean. The "large" one bedroom was a bit cramped. There were 2 double beds and a small bathroom. There was an obvious lack of counter space around the sink, which sits outside of the bathroom (see photo). There was a ceiling fan and a floor swamp cooler. The window to the outside opened to let a bit of fresh air in; however, you could hear a lot of noise from the street, since the hotel is in downtown. The swamp cooler provided in the room did not do very much. It provided a little bit of cooler air, but it was not nearly enough, and it made the room smell funny. The hotel provides free continental breakfast, which includes all the expected stuff: milk, OJ, coffee, tea, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, and some fruit. Overall, for the price, this is an OK choice. I'm sure that in fall and spring this place is probably wonderful, since the most obvious drawback to it was the lack of air conditioning now during summer time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, CO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Very clean, very helpful and friendly staff. A little noisy but wonderful room. Quite a bargain at the price. If you want to wake up and think about which Holiday Inn Express you are at - don't bother with this unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahtami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Silver City
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#7 of 9 in Silver City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing