We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Silver City)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gila Mountain Inn(Silver City)
$75
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Hotel(Silver City)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Mountain Lodge(Silver City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Manor Motel(Silver City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
60
101
38
11
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
101
38
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold westcontinental breakfastbuffalo barold buildingold world charmno elevatorcookie cuttersecond floorhard boiled eggschain hotelssmall roomenjoyed my staybig ditchking suitemodern hotelthe breakfast areaheart of downtown
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 227 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

From the time we walk in the door we're transported back 100 years - except we have all the amenities of 2014. Bear in mind that this building dates from the glory days of Silver City - insulation is thin by modern standards, and all rooms are on the second floor, which does not have elevator access. What it does have is a beautiful sitting area to sit, relax, have a drink or snack, play games, meet new people - and have breakfast in the morning. Some rooms do not have AC, but do have ceiling fans, so that would be worth asking about in hot weather. There are restaurants in easy walking distance, and the Palace serves a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. just ask. 2 room suites are available for about 15 bucks more, and they all have AC. Corner rooms might be noisy on Fri/Sat nights.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spyderman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stayed here several times. Old downtown hotel, easy to walk everywhere. Good eats near. Nice folks. Rooms a old and a little worn down, but very comfortable. And, to comply with this idiotic requirement here are more characters not worth reading

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel numerous times when on vacation in the area, most recently this past January. Silver City itself is such an eclectic town with a long history of the wild west! The Palace Hotel keeps the tradition of the history of the area.. You feel like you have gone back in time yet virtually all the modern comforts are there!
The lobby and the rooms are appointed in cool old fashion style.. keeping with the historic theme.
Because it is a genuine old downtown hotel you do need to go up to the second floor to your room on stairs...no elevator.  That really shouldn't be a problem for most visitors as there is a landing half way up.
The management has a clear understanding of the area and was very helpful in my learning more about Silver City.
This hotel might not be for everyone who insists on pure luxury with room service, big screen TV's and the various other features you might expect at a Hilton or Hyatt or Holiday Inn.. but of course the price isn't up there either.. My personal opinion is I will take this flavor facility over the more conventional any day!!
I highly recommend it for the person who is looking for a unique, comfortable, historic atmosphere in a convenient downtown setting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLHARRISFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, there are some simple things they could do to these small rooms to make them more user friendly - like a towel rack near the sink for hand towels, a folding luggage rack for your suitcase as there is nothing but the floor to sit it on. If TV is important to you, beware this is the smallest TV I have ever seen in a motel room - about a 12" portable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is pretty low budget. Wifi only in the common areas. A lot of early morning street noise if you are on that side of the building.

Room Tip: The bar was closed down while we were there in May 2014, but it is scheduled to re-open and then having a room away from the bar would be desirable. Also, we were on the street side and there was a lot of street noise early in the morning so no sleeping in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traildreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your concerns and comments. We strive to listen to our guest's recommendations in order to make our rooms and suites more comfortable. This year we are replacing our televisions with flat screen tv's with more than 100 cable channels offered. While we do not have a hot buffet breakfast, we do have hard cooked eggs, bagels, muffins, english muffins, breads, Eggos, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice and of course, coffee and tea. WiFi is available in most rooms and our upstairs and lower lobby and meeting room. While the downtown noise is occasionally an issue we do enforce 'quiet hours of 10 p.m. to 7 a.m.' inside our hotel.

We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Palace Hotel is a genuine slice of Old West Americana with plenty of classic rooms of differing sizes and amenities. It's right off Bullard Street, which is the new Main Street since Main Street washed away in a flood a hundred or so years ago. So it's walking distance to shops, galleries and food, and stumbling distance from pubs and music venues. But, being on a side street, it's still quiet enough to get some good sleep. There are original, tall wood doors with ventilation windows at the top, wood floors, and a few old bathtubs. There is a cool skylight over the breakfast area which opens the place up a bit. The downstairs lobby is charming and beautifully furnished. There is an attached gift shop and an "Ailman Room" off the lobby which can be used for meetings or receptions. It's clean and the beds are comfortable but it's an old hotel so don't expect silence. Breakfast is very simple but there's plenty of great food nearby if it doesn't satisfy. One of the most cost-effective and charming options in Silver City. FAR better than the run down chain hotels in the area, and much more historic.

Room Tip: I had one of the smaller rooms with a fridge/microwave and it was plenty spacious for just me. Some of the larger rooms are corner suites.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews