We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historic, Authentic Old West with modern amenities. Can't be beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic, Authentic Old West with modern amenities. Can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel numerous times when on vacation in the area, most recently this past January. Silver City itself is such an eclectic town with a long history of the wild west! The Palace Hotel keeps the tradition of the history of the area.. You feel like you have gone back in time yet virtually all the modern comforts are there!
The lobby and the rooms are appointed in cool old fashion style.. keeping with the historic theme.
Because it is a genuine old downtown hotel you do need to go up to the second floor to your room on stairs...no elevator.  That really shouldn't be a problem for most visitors as there is a landing half way up.
The management has a clear understanding of the area and was very helpful in my learning more about Silver City.
This hotel might not be for everyone who insists on pure luxury with room service, big screen TV's and the various other features you might expect at a Hilton or Hyatt or Holiday Inn.. but of course the price isn't up there either.. My personal opinion is I will take this flavor facility over the more conventional any day!!
I highly recommend it for the person who is looking for a unique, comfortable, historic atmosphere in a convenient downtown setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLHARRISFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    73
    35
    6
    16
See reviews for
13
88
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, there are some simple things they could do to these small rooms to make them more user friendly - like a towel rack near the sink for hand towels, a folding luggage rack for your suitcase as there is nothing but the floor to sit it on. If TV is important to you, beware this is the smallest TV I have ever seen in a motel room - about a 12" portable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is pretty low budget. Wifi only in the common areas. A lot of early morning street noise if you are on that side of the building.

Room Tip: The bar was closed down while we were there in May 2014, but it is scheduled to re-open and then hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traildreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your concerns and comments. We strive to listen to our guest's recommendations in order to make our rooms and suites more comfortable. This year we are replacing our televisions with flat screen tv's with more than 100 cable channels offered. While we do not have a hot buffet breakfast, we do have hard cooked eggs, bagels, muffins, english muffins, breads, Eggos, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice and of course, coffee and tea. WiFi is available in most rooms and our upstairs and lower lobby and meeting room. While the downtown noise is occasionally an issue we do enforce 'quiet hours of 10 p.m. to 7 a.m.' inside our hotel.

We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Palace Hotel is a genuine slice of Old West Americana with plenty of classic rooms of differing sizes and amenities. It's right off Bullard Street, which is the new Main Street since Main Street washed away in a flood a hundred or so years ago. So it's walking distance to shops, galleries and food, and stumbling distance from pubs and music venues. But, being on a side street, it's still quiet enough to get some good sleep. There are original, tall wood doors with ventilation windows at the top, wood floors, and a few old bathtubs. There is a cool skylight over the breakfast area which opens the place up a bit. The downstairs lobby is charming and beautifully furnished. There is an attached gift shop and an "Ailman Room" off the lobby which can be used for meetings or receptions. It's clean and the beds are comfortable but it's an old hotel so don't expect silence. Breakfast is very simple but there's plenty of great food nearby if it doesn't satisfy. One of the most cost-effective and charming options in Silver City. FAR better than the run down chain hotels in the area, and much more historic.

Room Tip: I had one of the smaller rooms with a fridge/microwave and it was plenty spacious for just me. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
660 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been in this nice old hotel once before, but then the room was so small that we could hardly move around. This time we got a bigger room, which had a separate living room and a bed room with a large bed. The room was very comfortable. The bed was sturdy with a good mattress. There were a small fridge and a microwave in the room too. There was free WI-FI, which was nice. The hotel was in a central place in walking distance to all good restaurants and stores.

The lobby and the breakfast area were very nicely decorated giving an old traditional sense.

During day time it was rather loud although our room was not facing the main road. But the night was very quiet. The noises started again around 7.30 a.m. when people were having breakfast in the dining area, which was right outside the room. People going up and down the stairs also made enough noise.

Breakfast was included in the price and when we went there it was kind of busy and there was no place to sit. Besides, the breakfast seemed to be a lot of refined carbohydrates. So we decided to skip it and go out.

The owner checked us in and he was very nice and helpful.

I can see myself coming back here sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgeville
Level Contributor
218 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Palace Hotel is an "Old West" historic hotel, with the charm of a much earlier time.
The proprietors are friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. Breakfast is served upstairs outside the rooms, and trays of cookies and jelly beans greet the guests as they arrive upstairs.
If you are looking for a modern hotel of the chain variety with every possible amenity, this may not be the place for you. There is no pool or jacuzzi, and only limited Wifi. But if you want to experience a town more personally and directly, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A discount coupon of 10% is offered at the hotel's website, but the prices are already extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, wonderful location, and great rates! We will definitely stay there again. The only drawback was that the Wifi did not work in our room, but we were able to connect to it in the gathering room. We highly recommend The Palace Hotel in Silver City!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for the first time in January. It is a great location,in walking distance to alot of great shops,restaurants and museum. You felt like you were stepping into history and it was very nicely appointed. The breakfast offering was ok and we enjoyed visiting with other guests in the dining area. It was a real bargain too! We had reserved a room with a king bed but when we arrived asked if we could see the other available rooms, which they were happy to let us see. Each room has it's own unique appointments but we decided to keep the room they had for us.
Silver City old town is really a jewel!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor and I don't recall there being an elevator so it's probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMwoods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver City
Comfort Inn Silver City
#3 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#7 of 9 in Silver City
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing