We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Palace”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I rate my stay at the Palace as a most special experience. How many places lend to old west nostalgia but offer all the creature comforts and ammenities of our modern world today? The Palace does!! The location is right downtown Silver City NM. The great thing about this is you have every artisan and shop just within comfortable walking distance not to mention all the wonderful eateries. The Palace is the "real thing!" Don't pass up this step back into time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 215 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I had planned to camp in the Gila Wilderness in January 2013. We are hardy winter campers (we're from northern MI) and when prepared, welcome cold and wind and snow. However, we were caught unaware and unprepared while visiting NM- a freak record-breaking cold front came in just about the same time as us, so we were left "out in the cold," literally. Luckily we found the Palace Hotel- we called at the last minute (driving to Silver City from Tucson), and they had several rooms available, at prices tent-campers could afford. Gloria let us see three rooms before deciding on a "small" or "medium" room. I don't know what size rooms the reviewers complaining about size stayed in, but our "small" room was plenty roomy and comfortable. It also happened to be across from the bar, but it was a weekday in winter (and about -3 degrees F!) so no parties or bar noise. It was a tad cold, so we snagged an electric space heater we'd noticed in one of the rooms we had not chosen, once we'd checked in and settled in (door was unlocked). I'm not sure if rooms were supposed to have space heaters, and ours just did not, or if we got lucky and found the only one :). The shower was wonderful- no light in the stall (funny! had too leave the curtain halfway open to see), but excellent water pressure. Continental breakfast=continental breakfast. Eh. Weak coffee, BUT the hotel is upstairs from Javalina, a great cafe with VERY good coffee and friendly, smart staff. I loved the historic, quirky feel and decor- to second what another reviewer said, if you actually like Econolodges, Comfort inns, that sort of predictability, maybe The Palace isn't your cup of tea, but for anyone looking for a small bit of affordable local color in an EXCELLENT location, The Palace is great!

Room Tip: Ask to see one or more rooms before checking in- esp. if you're undecided on size. Seems like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Palace Hotel is perfectly situated right in the middle of what's happening in Silver City. It is within close walking distance to great restaurants, unique specialty shops, galleries, and some of the most interesting "thrift-consignment" stores you'll ever encounter. Built in the late 1880's, the hotel retains it's original footprint and decor. No, it hasn't been designer-upgraded, but it is clean and convenient. The stairs are creaky (no elevator), the rooms are small and over-crowded.

Our room was described as a "large room," but it was NOT at all. Every corner was filled with an upholstered chair, antique dresser with TV on top, refrig with microwave on top. One side of the bed had a small table with a lamp, but not the other side. There was nowhere to put our luggage as there was no closet. Instead, there was a metal clothes rack over the refrig & lamp table with ONE hanger! There was no coffee maker in the room, but coffee was available at 6:30 a.m. on the second-floor landing where breakfast was served. The mattress was comfortable and there were sufficient pillows.

The bathroom was clean, spacious and well-lit, but it had no counter space to spread out your "stuff." There was a sufficient amount of linens in the bathroom, but no bathmat. There was no hair dryer provided, but luckily I had brought a small travel dryer along.

Breakfast on the broad landing was really kind of charming. We shared a table with a very interesting couple -- everyone was friendly. The continental breakfast was adequate: instant oatmeal, dry cereals, milk, orange juice, Activia yogurt, boiled eggs, breads, canned fruit coctail, but no fresh fruit.

Matthew,who took my reservation and was on duty when we checked in, was a most pleasant young man and seemed capable of attending to our needs. When I asked for a confirmation number for my reservation, he said, "We don't do things that way --- we're still a pencil and paper kind of place." Indeed.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a suite so you have more space. Print a 10% discount coupon from their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadrunnersNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one night in a king bed room. It is the most darling hotel! It is very clean and has lots of charm & character. Our room was only $65!!! Unheard of these days! It is in downtown historic Silver City and is walking distance from great shopping, restaurants (Curious Kumquat is ranked #39 out of 100 for 2012 in Saveur Magazine!) and cool bars with live music. They also serve a FREE continental breakfast from 7-9 everyday. You do not get bells & whistles with this place but you do get hospitality, a yummy comfy bed, hot showers and a nice little breakfast. We will stay there again whenever we are in town.

Room Tip: Choose a 2 room suite it is only $82!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katekack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The place is recommended in Lonely planet, and it is well worth it's reputation. The whole mainstreet area is picturesque, and the hotel has all the charm and unsophisticated warmth of a place time has preserved.
I took a small room, and there is not much space (hardly no table for a laptop), but it's clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast on the same floor. Very nice. Good value

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here a couple of years back. Neat old building but the rooms are pretty darn small. The one I was in required you to navigate around the bed, then the sink to get to the bathroom. You also get some street noise from the Buffalo Bar on weekends. Not bad, but there are better choices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I love old places and this one certainly qualifies. A lot of history with this hotel. Only drawback was the lack of a/c, which is a major drawback during the summer. I stayed there last June when the temps set records for Silver. I was forewarned about the a/c, so only had myself to blame. Only other folks that seemed to be staying there were firefighters who had been fighting the forest fires around the area.(guess they must be used to the heat)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elrobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#7 of 9 in Silver City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Location: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing