We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky, overpriced, quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Vincennes
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vincennes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tried two rooms, picked the least smoky one. Yuck. Welcome to Indiana. Way overpriced. Room was appointed well and clean. Had to ask for enough towels, and there was a wall device that prevented any lights or electricity unless the key is kept in it. What? Had to walk back to the office to ask, why no lights? Asked why he didn't tell me about this up front. Just said "some rooms don't have it--saves energy." Okay. Vincennes is kind of creepy...though I usually love midwestern river towns.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank bgandl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Red Roof Inn Vincennes, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear gandl,

Thank You for completing regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We hope to see you soon and when you depart next time, we hope you leave happy.

If i can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 812-882-2100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

nice large rooms clean rooms would stay there anytime i am in vincennes indiana. the pool was clean and up to date.the quiet of the eara was good for us we got there on sat and was happy to find a clean hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Red Roof Inn Vincennes, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Sorry, I am running little late to Thank you.Thank you very much for your feedback and we will try to continue on our goal to keep all our guest satisfied. We hope your next stay will be as comfortable and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. First, the night time cleaning maid (I was on night shift) did not make the bed properly, only laid the comforter over the bed. Often shorted me towels. Second, there is no washer or dryer on the premises for customer to use. Third, if you send or receive a fax, they charge you one dollar per page. I have never in all my travels been charged for sending a fax until I got here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are desprate for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Good for a one nighter if you are desparate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgarcia700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for completeting the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your long term expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. As we do charge a dollar fee per sheet for outgoing faxes we do not charge any fee for incoming faxes. If you were charged at anytime for an incoming fax by error please contact us for refund.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 812-882-2100.

Sincerely,



Harry Patel
BEST WESTERN The Inn of Old Vincennes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place was awesome. They went out of their way to move our rooms closer to the pool for the kids. The rooms were big and awesome. They were always friendly when we called up to the front desk. We will be staying again in the future when ever we come back to Vincennes, Indiana. I got the chance to meet the owner and it turns out he even knew a lot of the family that I was there to see. Keep of the good work Harry!

Room Tip: If you want by the pool then request the building by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

As business routinely brings me to Vincennes monthly, motel options are a bit limited. Also, they are ALL over the board, pricewise and quality wise. I depend on Best Western here. They are very friendly, accommodating and provide a great stay! Large rooms, clean and refurbished w/ large TV, wireless and great breaksfast all get me off to a great start of the day. Owner, Harry, and his team are very interested in taking care of customer needs!! Great value of the price. Definitely recommend staying here as you travel.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The rooms are large, clean with value pricing. The staff is very friendly, the owner is a great guy, breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Owner at Red Roof Inn Vincennes, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you for your fair survey regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Inn of Old Vincennes. People like you make us better and strive to do better for our guests. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we tried to check in at this motel we were told they had a room for one ( there were two of us). I mentioned that I had a confirmed reservation for two double beds for two people, but it didn't matter. Later, I found out there were a number of railroad workers in town and it became obvious that our two day stay wasn't as important as longer term rentals for them. Most disappointing was a lack of concern about not honoring the reservation. We went down the street and stayed at the Marriott Town Place Suites ( an excellent place!). I could not recommend this Best Western to anyone.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Vincennes, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

I am so sorry to hear that this happened to you. This not common practice for our hotel. Please give us a second chance as we would like to make this up to you. If you have any questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely Harry Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vincennes
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Vincennes
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 8 in Vincennes
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vincennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington
20.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington, Indiana
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 3 in Princeton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Vincennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Vincennes

Address: 1800 S Old Decker Rd, Vincennes, IN 47591-6125 (Formerly Best Vincennes Inn)
Location: United States > Indiana > Vincennes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vincennes
Price Range: $75 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Vincennes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complimentary hot breakfast which includes hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, 3 cereals, 2 juices, waffles, pastries, muffins, toast, bagels, yogurt, and fresh fruit is available each morning. The Red Roof Inn Vincennes is conveniently located near U.S. Highways 41 and 50 and State Road 441 and close to many historical sites in Vincennes, one of the oldest cities in the Midwest. So, enjoy your stay and leave the room accommodations to us. Whether in the area or on pleasure, the Red Roof Inn Vincennes should be your haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Vincennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vincennes
Vincennes Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing