We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you kidding!”

Gilbert's Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Vincennes
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mulberry, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Are you kidding!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went here to eat after my daughter's graduation we were told it would be a 30 minute wait took over an hour to be seated! Our service was bad as the servers had no clue who got what.there was 11 of us but they spent another hour getting our food out to us. Food was under cooked and I didnt get my till I told them to cancel my order, when it did come it was wrong! Being upset I went to the car only to see most of the crew outside smoking not cooking or serving! SO STAY AWAY!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 57chevytruckguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice facility; average food, service and menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Pleasant, new, and well appointed facility. The menu is only average for its variety with nothing unique or interesting; the orders were slow in arriving; the prices are too high for the portions and quality offered; e.g. 1/2 lb hamburgers that are really 1/4 lb. There is little to compel us to return as opposed to the competition.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This restaurant is new to Vincennes but it had better get alot better or it will not last. My husband and I went there for lunch. We both had Barley Soup which was very good but not hot and it was cold quickly. My husband had the Ky. Hot Brown. I don't think the cook had ever had one from the Brown Hotel. This one had lunch meat turkey and was not browned under the broiler! It had a swiss cheese sauce that ws very strong. Not bad but not good either. I had Fish and Chips. Fish was hot and crispy but the Waffle fries were cold! We were there about 11AM so I wonder when they were cooked! I think I will wait to go back until some learns how to cook.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann5819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I went on opening day for lunch. They have a lunch menu and a separate dinner menu. It looks nice inside. The booth seat isn't completely secure, and the booth tables are way to close to the seats. Our waitress was very nice and did her job very well. The calamari was good. The grilled cheese was good, but wasn't as melty as I would have liked. The French fries were blan with no taste. My boyfriend had some bacon steakburger he said was alright. He liked the waffle fries (I got regular). Not many dessert options (3). I hope they get better over time because we were pretty disappointed. The manager walked around and asked how everything was. We said "good" because we didn't want to be rude. It is pricey...the calamari alone was $10. The menus were just one piece of paper. The napkins were fancy black cloth ones which were nice. I mean, we will go back and try it for supper eventually. Like I said, I hope it gets tastier.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanccakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to Gilbert's Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing