We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family stayed at the Marriott at Brooklyn Bridge for four days in October. The reason for our trip was my brother's wedding. I selected the hotel in large part based on its location and other reviews I had read of Brooklyn hotels.

It is more expensive than most hotels I use, but because it was a special occasion, I was willing to spend a bit more. Also, I wanted my kids' first experience in NYC to be a positive one.

The hotel is in an excellent location. I felt very safe there, and went out several times late at night. It is an easy 5 minute walk to Montague street and the trendy Brooklyn Heights neighborhood, where there are lots of restaurants and bars.

The hotel was very quiet. We were on the 15th floor, and we could not hear the traffic below, or neighbors in other rooms.

I was expecting a tiny room, but was pleasantly surprised that it was not unusually small. It was nicely appointed. Our room had a view of the Manhattan Bridge, which was an upgrade. My sister's room was adjoining ours, and she had a better view of the Manhattan Bridge and also the statue of Liberty.

We used the concierge to book a bus tour and help us locate a church on Sunday. She was extremely helpful and provided a lot of local knowledge. However, be warned, the hotel charges a hefty fee for the concierge bookings, so you may want to make your own reservations.

We used cabs and hired cars near the lobby on several occasions. There was never a problem getting a car. We were always able to just walk down and jump in a car.

I used the gym once. The gym is very good compared with most hotels. There were lots of cardio machines, and when I was there I could have chosen any type of machine I wanted. I believe there were lots of weights & strength training machines, too, but I didn't have time to take advantage of those.

When we returned late on Friday and Saturday evening, there was a guard in the lobby who verified that we were hotel guests (by checking our key) before allowing us to take the elevator. Also, I saw a guard walking the hotel on the room floor and in the gym. The guard was always cordial, and this seems like a prudent measure.

My only (small) complaint was regarding consistency. The lobby bar acts as a cafe in the morning, serving coffee and pastries, but only on weekdays. On weekends, it is closed. However, the hotel restaurant had complementary coffee available, which I drank in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    569
    193
    63
    36
See reviews for
416
343
102
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was with 11 pupils and another member of teaching staff For a competition in New York. We ended up being stranded in New York after hurricane sandy meant are flight was cancelled. The hotel ensured we got rooms for all of us to stay in and helped us to rearrange all our travel arrangements. There is a bar area (with Starbucks coffee), a restaurant and a large lobby area with free wifi. There is also a swimming pool, spa and fitness suite. The hotel really looked after us for the extra week we were stuck in New York! Location wise it is very good, within easy walking distance to Brooklyn bridge, ground zero etc, it is also a short taxi ride to 5th avenue and time square. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops, as well as shops in the local area which made it easy to find things to do. I would definitely stay here again and can't praise he hotel staff enough for all their help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, it was a typical chain hotel experience. Desk staff were mechanical but pleasant and the room was clean and quiet. Nothing to rave about but can't complain about anything either.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BartFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Other than my GPS routing me down a dead end street (trouble finding the front entrance)...we had a great family stay here. The bellman helping us was very nice. Easy check in, rooms were spacious and comfortable. The gym/pool were awesome here and we used them. The room had a mini fridge and coffee maker. We did not eat at the hotel as i wasn't paying a ridiculous amount for a NY breakfast. Instead i walked just a few short steps from the hotel over to Panera Bread and brought back some bagels and cream cheese for the family. We did not have time to go to Manhattan but it seemed like it would be an easy hop from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Located just 1/2 a mile from the Brooklyn bridge
This hotel is everything the Marriott hotels are all about
Clean nice and perfect for business or pleasure .
Rooms are big and comfortable some have a view of the city
Mostly high floors . The location is near subways that u can get everywhere in the city easily .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Brooklyn so my wife could attend the Barbara Streisand concert at the new Barclay's Center. There are not a lot of good hotels to choose from and the Marriott also offered a great location- just a quick walk to the Brooklyn Bridge and Manhattan. That said, when we arrived after a long flight from San Francisco, the bar although "open" was really closed prior to its 12am closing time. New York maybe the city that never sleeps but that does not apply in Brooklyn. That fact, coupled with the snarly service - a blunt "we're closed" left a less than favorable impression.
The concierge also messed up our dinner reservations, although part of it was my fault, they still messed up and were of little help.
On the plus side besides location is the large size rooms, excellent health club/spa services and a professional staff, bar service aside. So I'd probably stay there again just by default, at least until Hilton opens something better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My visit at the Marriott was to attend a conference held there. The hotel was clean and the staff were courteous. My room was nice and clean with a king size bed with down comforter. The only drawback was no microwave. You are provided the usual amenities - coffeemaker, and fridge. I can't comment on the value since it was a room block with a conference rate. I was pleasantly pleased. They have a very nice business center which I used to print documents. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Brooklyn Bridge which my coworkers walked across. The hotel is centrally located near shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.4 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#6 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#18 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#16 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#1 of 68 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge

Property: New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Address: 333 Adams St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-3714
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is an ideal choice among Brooklyn, NY hotels for business or leisure travel. The hotel's luxurious accommodations boast a relaxed but modern atmosphere with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New York At The Brooklyn Bridge Hotel Brooklyn
New York City Marriott
Marriott Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing