We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Lovely But Hotel Is Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

How do you give five stars for the staff and 3 for the hotel itself? I averaged these and came up with four stars ... We stayed six nights over the new year 2011-12.

The staff were terrific: They found us a wonderful corner room with fantastic views of the bridge (thank you, Donna). They mailed packages for us (thanks, Bernadette). Room service and restaurant staff both were gracious. The concierge was lively and fun and full of great suggestions. We were most impressed by staff throughout the hotel.

The hotel itself was lacking: 1) The Internet worked horribly; we rarely were able to connect at all and were asked several times during each day to pay (again) to connect. (The hotel removed all extra charges, fortunately.) Most of the time we went to a local Starbucks to get online. 2) The TV had bad reception; a service person came to our room twice but the problem was apparently not fixable. And two movies we ordered (and became engrossed in) stopped before they were over! (Again, charges were removed when we complained.) 3) The tap water tasted awful. I love New York City tap water but the water from the tap in this Brooklyn hotel was undrinkable.

Brooklyn needs more good reasonably priced hotels. If this Marriott would up its game it could be the best Brooklyn has to offer.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor facing the bridges offer more space and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, and were pleased with our stay. The room is huge especially for NYC. Location is great with close proximity to manhattan via taxi. Should you decide to subway, the station is not very far. Room and linens were clean however some of the furniture and the curtains had some wear and tear. Overall, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzurri06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We loved this hotel!

Loved it! We decided to stay here as a treat on New Year's Day-- the service was terrific and friendly. We typically stay in Manhattan, but we thought we would try this-- and the convenience to the Train, the ability to park and drive in/out without extra cost/day was an amazing bonus we never get in NYC. Not sure if we had a better deal b/c of the holiday, but the room was surprisingly affordable for NYC.

The room was beautiful and we were on the 25th floor and had a lovely, though imperfect view of the city.

Room Tip: We loved room 2501!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triptaker244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I loved this hotel!!! The overall stay was pleasant!!! Great location!! I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaztgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This property is in very close proximity to the Brooklyn Bridge with superb subway transportation to anywhere in Manhattan. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable with excellent beds. The service was excellent, including Lenny in the concierge lounge, he deserves a medal of honor! He has been at this property since it's original opening 29 years ago and treats each guest with personal service as if they were in a private home despite the huge volume of people during the Christmas break. This is very much appreciated for weary travelers who often receive little or no service at big brand hotels. The parking was convenient and reasonable at $28/day. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 18th floor for best views, the concierge lounge also has excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtofLife163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We recently stayed @ The Marriott Brooklyn Bridge over the Christmas break. I don't enjoy reading extremely long reviews about hotels, so I will keep this brief and to the point.

The hotel overall was very nice. The staff was courteous, very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms weren't anything to write home to Grandma about, but they were CLEAN and the bed was comfortable.

One of the nice perks about this hotel is that the Blue Line (A,C) drops you off at the JaySt. stop and you come up right behind the hotel!! This was perfect for us...we could take the subway literally anywhere in Manhattan and could be back at our hotel within 30minutes.

We didn't order room service or eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that part of the hotel.

It was nice to see security checking for hotel keys when we came back late every night. A lot of places don't do this anymore....again a nice touch.

We would stay here again no question. Nice hotel just off the Brooklyn Bridge, easy access to anywhere you need to get in Manhattan. Prices a lot less than Manhattan

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sufusimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights attending my son's wedding in Manhattan, The hotel is very well located, close to three subway stations, so getting into Manhattan is quick and easy, and the location offers a retreat after the hustle and bustle of the centre. It is also close to many good restaurants and the Brooklyn Promenade. Although it has 660 rooms and seemed always busy, the staff were pleasant and helpful. We had a room on the 4th floor near the gym and indoor pool, and the room was laege, well equipped, clean and quiet

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 73 in Brooklyn
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 73 in Brooklyn
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.7 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#6 of 73 in Brooklyn
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#13 of 73 in Brooklyn
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge

Address: 333 Adams Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#6 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: $192 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge is the ideal choice among Brooklyn, New York hotels for business or leisure travel. We offer luxurious and recently renovated accommodations in downtown Brooklyn boasting a relaxed but modern atmosphere with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New York At The Brooklyn Bridge Hotel Brooklyn
New York City Marriott
Marriott Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing